We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Market Street Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Market Street Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Market Street Inn to your Saves list
Market Street Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   330 West Market Street, Jeffersonville, IN 47130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oceanside, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Market Street Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just completed our journey from Pittsburgh to Oceanside, Ca. The nicest and most enjoyable place we stayed was the Inn on Market Street in Jeffersonville. Truly a wonderful place to stay and completely restored by a master craftsman. The scones and coffee were also outstanding...jrlofca.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
98
9
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were visiting Louisville on vacation and stayed at Market Street Inn for two nights. We had the Bridal suite because it had a King size bed. The room was large and beautifully decorated, The bathroom was also large with a nice tub that you could actually stretch out in with a fireplace and built in TV in the mirror facing the tub. Even though the bathroom was large, the shower was small and instead of two sinks, it would have been nice to have a vanity area where you could sit down and put on makeup or dry your hair. The inn was very clean. There was a nice sitting area on top of the roof. Breakfast was good and made to order but I always enjoy staying at B &B for their originality in breakfast menus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. We parked our RV at the inn and our family was able to join and stay in the inn's room. The host's are some of the nicest helpful people we ran into on the trip, we had many interesting conversations with them. . The B&B was an excellent located to see all the sites of Kentucky.The Inn was perfectly appointed, clean, functional and beautiful. When we return to the area this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband, son, and I stayed at the Market Street Inn for two nights over Labor Day weekend. The hosts were quite gracious and accommodating. We stayed in the River Breeze Suite which is on the back side of the Inn. It was easy to locate from I-65, and was very conveniently located to downtown Louisville attractions.

The Good:
Our suite was immaculately clean, spacious, and well-appointed. The sheets were clean and the mattress was comfortable. There was abundant drawer and armoire space for our clothes, shoes, etc. Though we never used it, it was nice to know that there was a fireplace available. The Jacuzzi tub worked well and it was nice to have ceiling fans overhead to keep the air fresh as I know some brick buildings -- especially those as old as the MSI -- can become stuffy in the summer heat and humidity. Spring water was provided in a small refrigerator in the hallway.

BONUS: There's a bidet in the bathroom, if you like that sort of fancy touch, which I do.

How It Could Be Improved:
1) Having lived in a historic home or two in my life, I know they can be difficult and costly to restore and maintain. An Inn that is 100+ years old must be even more so, given that it must be renovated in a way that includes fire exits, sprinkler systems, etc. That said, there were numerous water stains on the ceiling of our suite, and one in the bathroom that had apparently worked its way down under the glossy latex wall paint. None were actively dripping at the time, but they detracted from the otherwise lovely decor.

2) Invest in Keurig coffee machines, either small ones for each room, or larger commercial-sized ones to rest on each floor so that guests can have their pick of coffee, tea, cocoa, etc. (Chances are you'll have to have cocoa that is separate as all the brands that offer it in a k-cup include some sort of artificial sweetener in it -- gross. Not sure when this started happening with all cocoa makers but always check the label when you buy to avoid sucralose, aspartame, etc.)

3) Have a small refrigerator with water placed *in each room* instead of out in the hallway. Sometimes guests bring back leftovers from a nice meal and it would be wonderful to be able to store that in one's own room fridge for midnight snacking or what have you.

4) Provide a Do Not Disturb sign. Sometimes guests would like to sleep in and get breakfast (or lunch!) elsewhere later in the day without being disturbed by housekeeping, etc.

5) Either invest in real flowers and/or potted plants or go with some other decorative touch. Silk flowers with plastic stems just cheapen the look of your otherwise beautiful inn.

6) Save the big black ceramic horse's head on the front mantle for Derby Festival weeks. Outside of that time frame, especially for those of us who are more familiar with the movie _The Godfather_ than we are with the Kentucky Derby, a horse's bodyless head just looks a little... grim. [If you feel you must, must, must have a horse there, perhaps invest in a bronze sculpture of a full nose-to-tail rendering of a horse leaping over a fence or what have you? Just a thought.]

7) Make coffee (decaf. and regular) available for self service at breakfast just as the juice is. It will save you some nuisance and will delight the guests who may want more coffee but who don't wish to trouble you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were in Louisville for the Forecastle Festival and had planned on biking to the festival over the pedestrian bridge- sadly the bridge was not completed on the Indiana side yet, but we had no trouble riding over the car bridge, which had sidewalks. Steve was fantastic, letting us keep our bikes indoors in storage area out of the elements and safe.

The Market Street Inn was a wonderful retreat after biking and walking all day. Great showers, great quiet rooms and comfortable beds. Steve and Carol were very friendly. westayed in the Elegance and the room was very nice, with a large closet for a historic home

In the mornings we would come downstairs for breakfast, which was fantastic. The breakfast was made to order off of a menu they supplied with several choices. The portions were normal sized, but I would bet if you had a bigger appetite they would make more. It seems like in some other bed & breakfasts the meals are so huge I end up leaving so much food uneaten.

I found the story of the home interesting and Steve shared several photos of what it looked liked before they bought the home and refurbished it. ( really rebuilt as it had been gutted in a fire) I caould tell he really put his heart & soul into the work of bringing the home back after it had been left unoccupied for many years following a fire.

I only have one negative and it was to do with the bathroom in our room. We had a ice bucket and it tipped over in the middle of the night. When we tried to dry up the water with the bath mat towel the color came off the floor and onto the towel. I felt horrible about the towel and explained what had happened to the lady cleaning as we checked out. She indicated that this has happened before, but then a week or two later they questioned us about the stains and I felt like we were being accussed of damage, which wasn't our fault.

That said I would still stay there I would just make sure I dumped the ice bucket into the sink before going to bed to avoid risking an accident with the floor. It is a beautiful Inn which was very clean andd comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My partner and I stayed here while on holiday from Australia. We were visiting Louisville, but decided to stay just across the river in Jeffersonville. We are happy we did, as this was an excellent B&B, run by helpful, personable owners and staff. The breakfasts were excellent, the rooms spacious and well-maintained, and the afternoon tea and cakes a great touch. Owners were willing to go the extra mile to help - cannot speak highly enough of them. Sitting on the porch felt like our own little slice of americana.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horse Cave, Kentucky, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I decided to stay here for our anniversary. Our room was beautiful and extremely clean. The owners were very nice and helpful! The breakfast was amazing! Our stay at the B & B was so peaceful, which is what we were looking for. We will definitely go back soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Market Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Street Inn

Address: 330 West Market Street, Jeffersonville, IN 47130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Jeffersonville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Jeffersonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Market Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodations. Queen and King beds, sofas, jacuzzi tubs, remote control fireplaces, ceiling fans, cable TV, wifi, business friendly (fax, copier, early breakfast, newspaper, etc.) rooftop deck, front porch, off street parking, handicap accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Market Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.