We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Bravos

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Los Bravos
198 South Newton Street, Jasper, IN
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 50 Restaurants in Jasper
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Mexican !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Visited here recently while on business with a large group. We were sat promptly and drink ordered we taken. Resturant was very business but over all service was good. Food came relatively quickly for the large group and all was completel when delivered to the table. Salsa and cheese dip along with guacamole was great. I had chicken fajitas which is enough to share for 2. I would recommend if you like Mexican !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Petersburg, Indiana
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful place! Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stopped in here during a terrible thunderstorm. The staff immediately put us at ease and acted as if everything was going to be just fine. The food is authentic and great. The service was quick and friendly. The new building is an architectural beauty. You must try this if you are in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, Indiana
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Better Than in the Past”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I like Mexican food and several times a year when I travel south, I find it convenient to stop at this little restaurant in Jasper. This last time, in March, I found the food better than usual and better than some of the other little Mexican restaurants along Hwy 231 Indiana to Kentucky.

I was on my way home, it was getting dark on a Saturday night. I was really hungry because I hadn't eaten since breakfast. So I was going to splurge a little, eat somewhere a little pricier. Or maybe just new to me. The only place that appealed to me, however, was Appleby's. But it was crowded, and I drove on. The other places that might have tempted me had mostly empty parking lots that suggested to me that the food might not be good enough to attract many customers.

Because there was a good number of cars in the parking lot of Los Bravos, and I knew the food usually was pretty good. I stopped once again. And I discovered that it was better than any of the previous times I had eaten there.

If you travel between Spencer and Owensboro, Kentucky, and Appleby's is crowded or not your thing, stop in at Los Bravos for Mexican food. I can recommended the cheese enchilada platter with chips and tasty salsa.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Indiana
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Food is delicious. I work in Loogootee so I go about every week. Sometimes the wait staff can be a little slow to refill your drinks and understand what you need but it just takes a little patience :)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremore, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Very Noisy Overpriced Food & Drinks!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We ate here with two other couples on a Friday evening. The place was packed and the service was very slow. The food was ok, but for the price we expected better quality. $25 for a pitcher of Margaritta's? Get real. We have been to many mexican restaurants all over and we have never paid that much for a pitcher of "House" margaritas. El Patron just a few blocks away has much better food at lower prices and a pitcher there is only $14. I don't know why this place is packed as none in our group would return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Bravos also viewed

 

Been to Los Bravos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Bravos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.