We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Airport

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5220 West Southern Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46241   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #78 of 185 hotels in Indianapolis
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My experience with this hotel is mixed, as I have nothing bad to say about the hotel property itself. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff was friendly and the free parking was appreciated. Unfortunately, I was woken up at 9 AM due to a loud banging outside my window. The hotel property apparently had construction going on and it was happening *right* outside my window! I was furious since I could not get back to sleep. I understand that construction is sometimes necessary, but I don’t understand why I wasn’t placed in a different room in the hotel if construction was occurring on that side of the hotel. I complained to the hotel staff about this and they didn’t charge me for 1 night of my 2 night stay, so at least they made up for this unfortunate incident. A fine hotel to stay in as long as there’s no construction going on outside your window!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFISIndyApt, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Airport, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review! We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience! We hope to see you again soon!

M. Cathleen Hennessey
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    26
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
16
11
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

First the good: The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They tried to make our stay as nice as possible - going so far as to replace a noisy air conditioner in the room of one of our group. But no matter how hard they tried, they couldn't change the location or the state of the building.

The hotel is located in a rather sketchy area. It is an older hotel that has been only minimally updated. It was really hot when we were there, and the hallways are un-airconditioned and smelled of cigarette smoke. It had a tiny pool located in a room with windows that could not be opened. There was absolutely no place outside to sit, not even a bench.

The beds were creaky and not particularly comfortable. The only sink had no counter space. Fortunately the housekeeper did keep our room clean.

Breakfast was basically cold items or microwavable items. The one morning I had coffee, it was cold.

They had freshly baked cookies in the afternoon which were good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Airport, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words about cleanliness and friendliness regarding our staff here at the Fairfield Inn and Suites Indianapolis Airport. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy the location of our property as it is convenient to both downtown Indianapolis and the Indianapolis Airport.

The hotel is located in an industrial area conducive to local businesses and corporate offices. We apologize for the failure in our hallway air conditioning system during your stay. We have recently undergone $9000 dollars in air conditioning replacement and the hallways are refreshingly cool again. All Marriott properties in North America are smoke free, unfortunately during your stay someone was found smoking in their room. They were immediately asked to stop and charged the $250.00 smoking fee. As always in this case, the room and hallway areas were properly treated to remove any odor. It is truly upsetting to us when people break the rules and impact other guests negatively during their stay.

There is actually a bench at the entrance of the building where guests often wait for our complimentary airport shuttle or relax after a day of traveling. In addition there are picnic tables on our complex to enjoy outdoor eating or to gather with a group.

Fairfield Inn and Suites is very excited to roll out our new breakfast that will be implemented in 2013. Our breakfast room will be renovated to enable us to prepare hot foods in addition to the spread of items already available. Quality control is always on the top of our list and cold coffee is unacceptable. We sincerely hope that you will come back and try our property again. We truly enjoyed having the debate team here and wish you the best of luck in your future travels.

Sincerely,

M. Cathleen Hennessey
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Our group's needs grew as we got closer and this Fairfield was able to provide a total of five rooms. Three of our group were kids so the pool and the breakfast area worked out great. The staff dealt with the Indy 500 crush in a very professional and friendly way. Big thumbs up to everyone I encountered. The housekeeping staff is doing a good job too - the room was very clean. The hotel is showing its age in the bathroom and exterior but they seem to be doing the best they can with what they have to work with. The location makes it easy to get downtown, to the track and to the airport.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator and the stairwell doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Airport, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for the kind words about your visit to our property. Being clean and friendly is our number one goal and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate you spending Indy 500 weekend with us and cannot wait to see you and your family again.

Regards,

M. Cathleen Hennessey
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

Could not have been more satisfied. The customer service and cleanliness was outstanding. Will be booking here during our next stay in Indy.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Airport, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review of our property! Clean and friendly is how we operate and it seems that we hit a homerun with you!

Best,

M. Cathleen Hennessey
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed at this property one night on our way through Indiana. We arrived near midnight; front desk was smiling and waiting for us. We were upgraded from two doubles to a King suite. Room had a nice layout. We slept quick; enjoyed breakfast; and hit the road before 9.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

I had a glitch with my reservation through Expedia and the General Manager at the Farifield took the bull by the horns and really went out of her way to take care of it. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Typical no frills Fairfield located close to the Indianapolis Airport. I decided to stay here due to an early monrning flight. I was met with great service at the front desk and upgraded to a King Suite upon check in. The hotel is dated and needs a facelift. It is showing some age and wear. Otherwise, I cant fault the service or location.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Airport

Address: 5220 West Southern Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46241
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Airport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Airport offers a great location and free shuttle to make it the ideal place to stay while flying from the Indianapolis International Airport. This South West Indianapolis location is just ten minutes from IND Airport and Downtown Indianapolis. This hotel is just off I-465 and I-70 to provide easy access to Indy’s top destinations including Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Lucas Oil Stadium, Banker’s Life Fieldhouse, and White River State Park. Business travel is also made easy to companies like Eli Lilly, FedEx, and ExactTarget. Start your day off right at this Indy hotel, with a complimentary breakfast buffet. Guest rooms are 25% larger than standard hotel rooms, and feature free WiFi, Cable TV, and luxury bedding. Visit the Fairfield Inn Indianapolis Airport and enjoy one of the top Indianapolis Airport hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Indianapolis Airport Hotel Indianapolis
Fairfield Indianapolis
Indianapolis Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.