We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courteous Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Indianapolis Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Indianapolis Airport to your Saves list
Residence Inn Indianapolis Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5224 West Southern Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46241   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #70 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Olathe, Kansas
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Courteous Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We had a very nice stay here, the staff were quite friendly and helpful. Our room was clean, smelled fresh and the bed was comfortable, Breakfast had a nice selection of hot and cold items and they were being prepared rather than warming pre-packaged items. I was talking to the manager and she said they will shortly start a major remodel. I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyla g, General Manager at Residence Inn Indianapolis Airport, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
I really appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay. Thank you for your kind words. We are very excited about the upcoming renovations, and can't wait to share our new hotel with all of our guests.

Best Regards,

Kyla Griesemer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
10
2
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Cloud, MN
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We found this online and looking for a hotel close to the airport. I have stayed at this brand before but this one was my least favorite. The room itself (1 BR suite) was decent and had lots of room. Our daughter could not use the pull out couch as a bed cause the mattress is so old and thin it hurt to lay on it so she had to use the couch as a bed. Time to update the mattresses! Free breakfast in the morning was excellent and had lots to offer so that was a huge plus! Staff was very nice and pleasant to talk to. Location is a huge negative!! There is nothing in that area to drive to close by to eat, shop or anything. Felt like we were in the bad part of town. Airport was about less then a 10 minute drive but you have to drive so far just to get anything decent to eat. There is nothing in that area. So if you plan on checking into your room and never leaving your room it is a feasible stay but if you plan on coming and going, choose a better location. This is not a location I will choose again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyla g, General Manager at Residence Inn Indianapolis Airport, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
I am so sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay. I completely understand the frustration regarding the sofa sleeper needing to be replaced, and I do apologize. We are getting ready for a full renovation that will start in the middle of next month. I truly am sorry for the inconvenience, and hope that you will give us another opportunity to meet all your needs if you are Indianapolis again in the future. Also, I would be able to assist you with some great options for shopping and dining that would be close to the hotel for you and your family to enjoy.

Best Regards,

Kyla Griesemer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexington ky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We had an issue with marriott chaging multiple rewards nights on our account. Kyla did a great job handling the entire situation and getting this credited back. It took a bit longer than anticipated, but was resolved properly. Great customer service.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyla g, General Manager at Residence Inn Indianapolis Airport, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. I really do appreciate your kind words, and please know it is always a pleasure ensuring our guest recieve the customer service they deserve.

Best Regards,

Kyla Griesemer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Last few business trips been trying out this Marriott line of hotels; I've tried most of their brands and always like Marriott. Appreciate the room suite and ability to stretch out on a full sofa after a full at the office. It's better then lying down on the bed, not good cause you will find yourself falling asleep. I like the full fridge of course the rest of the amenities of a home away from home. Still able to work in the room with plenty of desk space and great WiFi connection, more then enough for work and movie streaming. Also have the option of catching current rent in room movies. For the most part the room is very clean, kept that way by good cleaning services, and was a quite room, occasional typical door closings. Enjoyed my stay.
From the hall wayway

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyla g, General Manager at Residence Inn Indianapolis Airport, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you so very much for taking the time to review our hotel. Our hotel motto is "clean and friendly" and we are very glad that you were able to experience both aspects of this while you were with us. We do appreciate the time you take to speak of your time spent at the Residence Inn Indianapolis Airport.

Thank you,

Kyla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Arrived on New Year's Day. First room was great, except the heat wasn't working (and - being a holiday - neither was maintenance). We were immediately upgraded and moved to a room right next door. Quite happy with management's response to the problem.
As expected, the room was clean, the bed comfortable, the bathroom was clean. Love having a kitchen and refrigerator. (Not that I cook when we travel, but we do use the refrigerator.)
The desk clerks were all very helpful with restaurant suggestions. While we didn't take advantage of it, the morning breakfast offering looked good and fresh.
We had business at the airport the next morning, and had scheduled the hotel shuttle. Unfortunately it snowed at least 6" in Indianapolis that night! The hotel shuttle ended up getting stuck in traffic on the highway so they provided a cab to take us to the airport. THAT really impressed us.
Would we stay again? You bet.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyla g, General Manager at Residence Inn Indianapolis Airport, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
I am delighted that your stay with the Residence Inn Indianapolis Airport was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely,
KYLA GRIESEMER
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This hotel falls in line with a typical newer style Residence Inn property types, which are the more like a traditional hotel. It still features suites, of course, with kitchens and living spaces though.

The location is very convenient for the Indianapolis International Airport. While just a few blocks away it is not in the flight path which greatly helps to reduce jet noise. Though jet noise could be heard inside, it was not easily noticed, and was not at all bothersome.

The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. One particular staff member, Megan, who worked with the evening social hour was especially nice. She seemed to truly care about the service, and ensuring a comfortable stay.

The hotel is overall basic, but clean. It does feature a indoor swimming pool, a basketball court, a grilling station, and a workout room. The staff, though, make this hotel a cut above the rest. It was a pleasure to stay at this location.

If you like Jimmy Johns sandwich shop, there is one in the parking lot, so food is readily available.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyla g, General Manager at Residence Inn Indianapolis Airport, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from you recent stay. We love when sour gust share their stories. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Kyla Griesemer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Although this a typical Residence Inn, the service here was great. This review could have easily been a one star review if it wasn't for the fantastic service!
It started out we had just arrived at the Indy airport, we called the hotel and they said the next shuttle would be at 8:30pm. As 8:30 approached we were still waiting on bags, a couple came out, so we sent my dad to the pick up area in hopes of catching the shuttle and we'd be a few minutes behind him. Unfortunately, when we got there the shuttle was already pulling away. So we planned on the 9:00pm shuttle.
9:00 pm rolls around no shuttle.... 9:05.... no shuttle so I call and turns out the shuttle didn't leave for the 9:00 round... not sure why but we were all getting frustrated by this time. So JD(or JR... I'm bad with names) tell us to go ahead and get a cab and they would pay for it... the bad thing was there were 4 of us and 7 bags, so we were going to fit in one cab.
The cab experience was a NIGHTMARE... the cab drivers were crazy. Fast forward to arrival at the hotel. The cab drivers are CRAZY they refuse to let us go into the lobby for the money and say that we have to pay and no third party. JD comes out to settle the crazies... but they get crazier... he appologizes profusely and pays the unprofessional cabbies. Says he sorry and even gave us a bucket of beer so we didn't have to leave the hotel. It could have been a really bad night and the staff at the Residence did everything they could to make it better. They even apeased my father after the whole ordeal, which is hard to manage! The only thing that could have made this any better is if they could have gotten the cabbies deported... they don't belong here... they were horrible... but that is for a different review.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyla g, General Manager at Residence Inn Indianapolis Airport, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on our hotel, I will make sure that the staff sees your wonderful remarks about the service you were given. I was here as well for the situation and again apologize for the incident regarding the cab company. We hopefully will see you again on your next visit to Indianapolis.

Sincerely,

Kyla Griesemer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Indianapolis Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Indianapolis Airport

Address: 5224 West Southern Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46241
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Indianapolis Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Indianapolis Airport is ideally located near I-465 and I-70 and offers a complimentary airport shuttle service to make it one of the top Indianapolis Airport hotels. This ideal location offers easy access to all of Indianapolis’ top destinations including Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Lucas Oil Stadium, the Indianapolis Zoo, as well as the offices of Eli Lilly, Wellpoint, FedEx, and ExactTarget. Guests love starting their day off right with the complimentary breakfast buffet, and unwinding at the social hour (Mon-Wed evenings). Each of the pet-friendly suites are 50% larger than standard hotel rooms and are highlighted by flat-screen TVs, fully-equipped kitchens, and luxury bedding. Guests staying at this Indianapolis Airport hotel enjoy premier amenities and an ideal location to make this one of top extended stay hotels in Indianapolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Indianapolis Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Indianapolis
Indianapolis Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Indianapolis Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.