We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations - Excellent lower priced option for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol to your Saves list
Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 North Senate Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #34 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
toronto
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations - Excellent lower priced option for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed at Courtyard by Marriott Indianapolis at the Capitol for 3 nights in December 2012 (check-in Thursday / check-out Sunday).

Pros:

- The cost -- We ended up getting a parking + breakfast for family deal thru marriott.com which was $104+tax US per night. The parking is usually $19 per day and the breakfast would have cost $40 US per day meaning the room ended up really being approx. $44+tax per night. The breakfast was decent with various options (we always got scrambled eggs + bacon + toast and fruit + starbucks coffee) - kids portion was slightly smaller with adult sized juice.

- The (relative) location -- While the hotel is on the outskirts of the downtown core, it is still within reasonable distance to various venues (we walked to Bankers Life Fieldhouse, Lucas Oil Field, Circle Centre Mall, Convention Centre, and Monument Circle)

- Room size was relatively good -- The hotel appears to have been refreshed recently and the room looked very modern -- The pictures on the marriott website accurately reflect the feel/decor.

- Free Internet (both wi-fi for your own devices and also by way of computers set up in the lobby with access to printer)

- The service was exceptional -- Jason at the front desk was great. He was very helpful, professional and friendly. He made recommendations for things to do (along with print outs), gave us maps and directions and also made a few restaurant recommendations based on what we told him we were looking for. He also gave my kids some juice after a long road trip. Thanks again Jason! The rest of the staff were also very friendly and helpful.

Cons:

- It is not connected to the convention centre -- This was not an issue for me.

- Everything looks fantastic with the refresh of the hotel -- The last touch I hope they complete is a refresh of the pool / hot tub area. It is the only thing that seemed a bit dated and not in line with the rest of the hotel. It is more than adequate mind you (my kids spent hours in the pool), just not as nice as the rest of the hotel.

Overall, I was very satisfied with Courtyard by Marriott Indianapolis at the Capitol and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others depending on what you are looking for.

Room Tip: We liked the ground floor rooms because of the access to the pool and breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenniferrichter, General Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience at our hotel! I am so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Also, thank you for your suggestion about refreshing the pool area-- I will absolutely pass this information on to the rest of our team at the Courtyard Capitol. If your travels bring you back to Indianapolis in the future, please feel free to contact me directly to assist with making reservations! It would be my pleasure to help.

Warmest regards,

Annie Moskol
Front Office Manager
anne.moskol@whitelodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    69
    23
    6
    6
See reviews for
43
36
9
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Danville
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I can overlook some things in a hotel. This one first I found a skittle , then a price tag. I was stressing out , but decided to overlook these since they are not to bad. When we were getting ready for bed I went into the restroom, only to see a LONG black hair stuck to my foot. ( I have short blonde hair) I was so grossed out. My husband was tired & didn' t want to deal with it. Myself, I was more than ready to leave. Then my cell phone charger came up missing when we got home, ( think my husband knocked it out of suitcase) I called them & stayed on hold for 20 min. They came back after 17 min, & was oh yea let me check lost & found. They forgot about me on the phone it shouldn't take me being on the phone total 23 min to get a answer.
The pillows were awful! No support what so ever. The lobby was nice, the room not so much.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenniferrichter, General Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Tammy,

Again, I would like to apologize about the poor experience you had with us. I have shared your feedback with my team and I can assure you that action is being taken to improve. Meeting and exceeding our guests expectations is our main goal and I am extremely apologetic that we were unable to meet your expectations with us this visit. As I said to you previously, please feel free to contact me directly if you have any more feedback or would like to make a reservation in the future. It would be my pleasure to assist you.

Warm regards,

Annie Moskol
Front Office Manager
anne.moskol@whitelodging.com
317-405-6233- direct line
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Indiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Courtyard by Marriott at the Captiol was a WONDERFUL getaway! We were able to walk everywhere. The hotel was very clean, and the staff VERY friendly and helpful! The only compaints we would have is, the whirlpool's jets were not very forceful, and you have to pay to park.

Room Tip: we had a room that was at the end of the hall which helped with noise control.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenniferrichter, General Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Courtyard by Marriott Indianapolis at the Capitol and for taking the time to leave a comment. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff was so friendly and helpful. I would like to apologize for your dissatisfaction with paying for parking however all of the hotels in downtown do charge for parking. We do pride ourselves on being the most affordable option in downtown though. Again, I am happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you next time you are in Indianapolis.
Warm regards,
Jenny Richter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This Courtyard is located about three blocks or a 12 mintue walk from the convention center. The hotel offers larger rooms for a slight upgrade in price. The extended kings are very nice providing more room plus a fridge and microwave. The rooms were very clean and comfortable with flawless wifi which is important for the business traveler. The hotel offers cooked to order breakfast, limited dinner and has a complete Starbucks. Meals are not included in the room rate unless you op for that rate. Warm cookies await you every night when you return to the hotel. This hotel has one of the new Courtyard lobbies with the open concept. The staff was very nice and helpful with local information.

Room Tip: Ask for the extended King
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenniferrichter, General Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your warm experience at the Courtyard Capitol! I am glad that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. One thing I am very proud of about our Courtyard is it's location in Indianapolis-- I believe every downtown attraction is walkable from our location. Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to make a reservation in the future!

Thanks again,

Annie Moskol
Front Office Manager
anne.moskol@whitelodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceburg, in
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Cant say enought about the property, a fresh remodel, lobby and rooms, A fantastic staff experence at check in and very helpful and responsive to my requests. Now the problem, which is just my opion. This courtyard, like most suburban CY Marriotts, has a flat lot around it. They share the LARGE double lot with the ajoining Marriott property. They have opted to fence the lot and charge 19.00 a night to park. REALLY.. I felt like a masked bandit had held me up. They do thie because they can. NO on street options or other close public parking allows them to do this. Go, stay and enjoy this nice property, but be aware the the no-valet, outdoor flat lot is about to be expensive!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenniferrichter, General Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your previous stay with us! It is true that we do charge a $19 per day parking fee but it is because we are located so conventiently to the downtown area. Out of all the Marriott properties downtown we are proud to say that we are the least expensive option. There is street parking available but the meters do have to be replenished every two hours during the day. It would be my pleasure to welcome you back in the future; please feel free to contact me directly if your travels bring you back to Indianapolis.

Warm regards,

Annie Moskol
Front Office Manager
anne.moskol@whitelodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Excellent location for downtown Indianapolis activities, and the staff was great. Very large rooms. Nice breakfast options, although not complimentary as at some other locations. Overall, great, especially at a very reasonable rate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenniferrichter, General Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at the Courtyard Capitol. Our bistro offers a variety of options for breakfast, ranging from yogurt and granola to french toast, eggs and bacon. Since we installed the bistro we no longer offer a complimentary continental breakfast, but we are now also open for dinner from 5-10 pm every night with dinner items and a full bar. If you would like to make reservations in the future, please feel free to contact me directly. I hope to welcome you back soon!

Thanks again,

Annie Moskol
Front Office Manager
anne.moskol@whitelodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattoon, IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was clean, quiet, and the staff was very friendly. I have no complaints, but a few suggestions for management. First, we wanted to walk to dinner which was less than a mile away. When asking the front desk for directions we were informed it was quite a distance away and due to the cold we should take a cab. Not only was it within walking distance, the route was all indoors. Secondly, you need better event planning. Event had Skywalk blocked and you were detoured downstairs. Which would be fine, if it was not right through the middle of a wedding reception. We just thought that was a little rude. Other than that, everything was great!

Room Tip: We choose lower level, but if you want a view you must have a higher room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenniferrichter, General Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Abaldwin76,

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your experience with our friends at the Courtyard Downtown! Although our Courtyard property is not the one connected to Marriott Place, we are just a ten minute walk away! If your travels bring you back to Indianapolis in the future I hope to welcome you to the Courtyard Capitol.

Warm regards,

Annie Moskol
Front Office Manager
Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol

Address: 320 North Senate Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#29 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stand-out among hotels in downtown Indianapolis, the renovated Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol is located on Senate Avenue right behind the State Capitol Building and the Indiana Government Center. Guests also appreciate our location within walking distance to the Indiana Convention Center, Bankers Life Fieldhouse, Circle Center Mall and IUPUI. Our open lobby space and renovated guest rooms feature the modern conveniences today's traveler has come to expect. Enjoy our onsite Bistro with lounge seating and full bar, interactive touchscreen GoBoard in the lobby as well as private media pods with personal TVs, a 24 hr. Market and boarding pass printing station. The Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol has space and flexibility unmatched by other hotels in downtown Indianapolis to help you make the most of every travel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Indianapolis At The Capitol Hotel Indianapolis
Courtyard Indianapolis
Indianapolis Marriott
Indianapolis Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.