We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls night.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal to your Saves list
Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   350 W New York Street, Indianapolis, IN 46202 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #7 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Girls night.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We booked this hotel for a girls night. It was clean, well maintained and in a great location. We were able to grab a taxi and get to where we needed to go for about $5.00. Check-in was quick and the room was comfortable. We enjoyed sitting outside over looking the canal. The breakfast the next morning was delicious.

Room Tip: Canal view is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    54
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
60
30
6
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Peru, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The room was great with no outside noise and the view on the canal was wonderful. Walking distance to all Whitewater canal attractions. Extremely helpful staff. Locked doors on the canal insured safety.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

if you are looking for luxury stay elsewhere - if you are looking for a reasonable priced, 2 room suite that includes a pool for the kids, free breakfast and a good location then this is it! It's close enough to walk to the city's circle (take a stroller if you have a little one) and right on the canal. The kids had a great time feeding the ducks and riding a paddle boat, we had lunch steps away on the canal at the history museum and we enjoyed breakfast and happy hour at the hotel outside on the 2nd flr deck overlooking the canal. This place is not flawless but what hotel outside 4 stars is - My only big complaint would be the loud A/C that woke us up frequently throughout the night, however it is possible this was an isolated issue since we had stayed at this property previously and did not have a problem. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. We stay in a number of all suite properties with our kids and this is one of our favs.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, NJ
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I was there in June. I agree that rooms are nice and big, and that the location is very convenient.
The A/C system is not efficient, and it is extremely loud. I was asked to move twice during my stay because the A/C in both rooms was not working. The second time this happened it stopped working close to 1 am, and I was woken up by unusual noise and vibration from the A/C unit. The hotel is understaffed during the night hours (the days I was there, only one employee was there during the night), and they have no maintenance personnel available either. Both times, I was asked to move to a different room since the front desk could not send someone to try to fix the problem. The first time, I had to move myself, the front desk employee was alone and could not leave his post to either bring me the new key or to help me move.
Another problem I had is that one of the rooms that I occupied smelled like wet dog. It is great that the hotel is pet friendly but I question how clean they keep those carpets.
I would not recommend this hotel for people on business.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown City, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed l night here on our way to Chicago. My family loves water, it was GREAT. We rented bikes & paddle boats our grand kids loved it. The room was nice size overlooking the canal. Would recommend it again. Only minus I saw was the pool area was very outdated.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We recently stayed here with our 3 kids. This hotel is updated with nice Appliances. It is right on the canal. You can take a walk on the canal, rent bikes, paddle boats, run... you can walk to some.museums and to the basketball hall of champions.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Traveled to Indianapolis for a concert. Hotel was clean, safe and well located. Had a room near the "highway" or maybe it was just a busy road but it was only a few feet away so it was quite noisy well into the night, thank goodness I had earplugs or else I would not have been able to sleep and it was too late to change rooms. Interesting to be on canal. Staff was helpful and recommend a place to eat and the monuments to check out while in town, was surprised to find interesting parts of Indianapolis, like the Art gallery.

Room Tip: get room away from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal

Address: 350 W New York Street, Indianapolis, IN 46202
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#16 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#31 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal is the only hotel in downtown Indianapolis on the Historic Canal and the newest product in downtown Indy with our recent 2012 renovations! Be the first to experience our modern look, high-tech amenities and beautiful views. Our Indy hotel on the Canal provides apartment-style suites with full kitchens, free WiFi, separate living areas and 32” flat-screen TVs. Enjoy complimentary grocery shopping service, free daily breakfast buffet and evening social hour plus the least expensive parking in downtown. From our balcony and terrace overlooking the Canal to our location just minutes from Lucas Oil Stadium, State Capitol and White River State Park, our pet-friendly Indy hotel on the Canal is perfectly positioned for great extended stays. Be sure to take a stroll on the adjacent running/walking path right outside our doors, rent a paddleboat, bike, Segway or feed the ducks! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown On The Canal Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.