We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your valuables are not safe here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Gatehouse Suites Indianapolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Gatehouse Suites Indianapolis to your Saves list
The Gatehouse Suites Indianapolis
3553 Founders Road, Indianapolis, IN 46268   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“Your valuables are not safe here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We had personal property stolen from our room. Very poor customer service. Would not stay here again. Completely do not trust the staff. Someone is now enjoying my daughter's 32 mb iTouch compliments of the Gatehouse Suites.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
10
5
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Corralitos, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Good value on an older Suites style hotel. This Place is clean and the rooms are spacious. Kitchens are adequately stocked, Refrigerator and dishes were clean. Combine this with easy access and a friendly staff and you have a user friendly hotel.

This place shows its age and the Maintenance crew (If one exists) needs improvement. Housekeeping is very good.

Still it's often about location, service and value. This place should be considered.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

I recently organized a 10 day group stay for 14 families attending the Junior Gold Championships and the stay at Gatehouse was better then I could have imagined. From the start, Gretchen, (group sales) did everything possible to make this a fantastic stay:, the group was put in the same location, all special requests for room locations were perfect and at check-in all guests were greeted with a wonderful welcome letter and a warm cookie.

The rooms were great... clean, comfortable and had all we needed for a home away from home. The housekeeping staff kept the rooms spotless. After returning from a long day of competition the kitchen was spotless, dishes in the dishwasher were clean and our beds were all ready to climb in.

They served breakfast daily and a light dinner 4 nights a week. It was great to come back and have a cold beer and/or glass of wine ready for you. The only downfall at breakfast was the eggs but they were really no different then any other scrambled eggs that are left to stay hot over a sterno.

Finally, there was Omar...the everything man!!! The dishwasher leaked one night, Omar came running, anything the kids asked for Omar came running. By the end of our stay the entire staff made us fell like family. We are all still taking about the trip and Omar a month later.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2009

A really great hotel with good staff and food. Breakfast includes an excelent selection of good food and drink. They also have a light dinner and usually includes a simple main dish, salad, and your choice of tea, coffee, beer, wine or soda. The rooms are spacious and clean. They are fully funished and are considerably better than the nearby extended stays. They also include a membership at the Golds Gym at 86th and Michingan Road. The only problem I had was that the internet is kind of slow.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

My wife and I (and our baby) stayed here for 2 weeks while we were waiting to close on our new house. We stayed in one of the queen studios (which are at ground level). The hotel is set up "apartment-style" with clusters of small buildings (each containing 8 rooms), where the rooms are accessed from outside. The room itself was fine (albeit a little dark), and the bed was good (a little firm for my taste, but not bad). The room consisted of a sitting area (love seat, lamp, small desk, TV, fireplace), a food area (full kitchen, including oven, full size fridge, dishwasher, and table/seating area), sleeping area (bed, nightstands, lamps, sliding door to tiny patio area), and bath area (around a corner from the room, with tub/toilet in separate room).

Highlights:

Breakfast is pretty decent (although it's essentially the same thing every day, with a few other items rotated in now and then - it got old after a few days of it). Usually had eggs, potatoes, meat (usually sausage), waffles, bagels, cereal, fruit, occasionally biscuits and gravy or french toast, and one day there were doughnuts.

Unlike some extended stay hotels, they do come and clean your room every day here.

Staff was always friendly when I encountered them (and that included both an early check-in and a maintenance call, as well as daily interaction with housekeeping, since I was working in the room).

Convenient location (near lots of stores, etc.) and good price (cheapest Residence Inn in the area).

Downside:

The property is beginning to show its age (especially on the outside - the insides appear to have been remodeled relatively recently). The toilet in our room actually sprung a leak twice while we were here (the first time was one week into our stay, so they did a temporary fix rather than making us change rooms - the second time was on our last morning).

If you get a room on the back side of the property (like we did), you will have a lovely view of the back side of a somewhat run down strip mall.

There was a huge gap all the way around the door (worst at the bottom, where the gap was probably about 3/4 inch) that made it so you could hear everything outside. Usually this was not a big problem, except for the night that some people staying at the hotel came home after the bars closed at 2 am and decided to make a bunch of noise out there in the parking lot.

There is also an unexplainable sulfur smell in that part of town that we noticed twice while there (which of course could work it's way into the room due to the large gap around the door). The first time it woke us up during the night and we looked all around to try to figure out if something was burning or something, but eventually figured out it was coming from outside.

With all that said, it was not the worst experience I have ever had at a hotel, but if I had it to do over again I would probably stay somewhere else. I don't want to make it sound like the hotel was BAD or anything, but I guess it just wasn't quite up to the level I expected.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy_From_Normal
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

We recently stayed one night at this Residence Inn in a queen studio room. Our room was clean and equipped with a fireplace and a full kitchen. The mattress on the bed was hard and uncomfortable, and due for a replacement. The sheet on the mattress did not stay fitted very well either.

This hotel consists of several suites located in many two story buildings. In order to have the free breakfast buffet, we had to walk outside up to the building that houses the front desk. That would be a nice stroll on a summer day, but not when it was 2 degrees and snowing (like our stay).

Pros
- Great breakfast
- Friendly and courteous staff
- Clean
- Free newspaper

Cons
- Need to walk outside for breakfast
- Uncomfortable bed

  • Liked — The value and breakfast
  • Disliked — Hard mattress
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
424 reviews 424 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 208 cities Reviews in 208 cities
715 helpful votes 715 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

We stayed at the Residence Inn for two nights in October. We got a great weekend rate ($71) and overall were very pleased with our stay.

This is an older Residence Inn and unlike the newer Residence Inns the hotel does not have interior corridors. The upstairs rooms are accessed by an exterior staircase which is kind of a pain when you are carrying luggage. It would even be worse if the weather is bad.

The room we had was a studio with a king bed, which we found to be quite spacious, clean, and very nice. There was a full size kitchen, a living room area, and a bathroom with a separate sink/vanity area.

The breakfast was also very good and had a good combination of hot and cold items.

Besides the stairs, the other drawback was this hotel is located off of a busy street (Michigan Av). You can hear some of the louder traffic noise in the room. We were able to solve this problem by turning on the fan, which blocked the noise.

Finally, if you are looking for a hotel that is convenient to downtown, you may want to look elsewhere. You can take Michigan Av all the way to downtown but it will probably take at least half an hour with all of the stoplights. The other option is to follow I-465 to I-65 but that takes at least 20-25 minutes as well. However, this hotel is pretty well situated if you want to go to the Art Museum or Butler University (about 10-15 mintues).

  • Liked — Spacious room
  • Disliked — Noise from busy road outside the hotel
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gatehouse Suites Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gatehouse Suites Indianapolis

Address: 3553 Founders Road, Indianapolis, IN 46268
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your The Gatehouse Suites Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gatehouse Suites Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis
Residence Inn Indianapolis
Indianapolis Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gatehouse Suites Indianapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.