We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Gatehouse Suites Indianapolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Gatehouse Suites Indianapolis to your Saves list
The Gatehouse Suites Indianapolis
3553 Founders Road, Indianapolis, IN 46268   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Silver Spring, MD
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Mixed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Good
Check in and checkout was quick and easy. Desk staff was pleasant. The suites are large with a full kitchen - more like an efficiency apartment. Free wifi worked well.

Bad
My card keys did not work well. Had the desk replace them once and it still required several tries each time to unlock the door. The burners on the stove worked, but weren't flat-like they didn't quite fit. Also, I called for a wake-up call one night and there was no answer! Finally, I am usually a sound sleeper, but the room I was in was quite noisy.

FYI
They don't clean the rooms every day. This is fine with me, but for a family it might be a nuisance. Also, that means they don't refill soap etc. daily.
Location was convenient for me to visit relatives on the north side of town. It's just off the beltway and a major cross street. However, you must have a car to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
10
5
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
weirsdale
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

the staff was very friendly, but expedia had not forwardered my change of days so fortuinelly i had taken my confermation with me and completed the check-in. the accomidations were very gooe, towels were large and new not thread bare. the kitcjen was well stocked with tools, but there was no dish soap so had to go to mal-mart across the street.
complaint the refg. door needed to be reversed was right swing and needed to be left as you had to walk around the door when getting things out of refg. also the cable on the dishwasher door was brokne so when you opened the door had to be very careful not to let it drop on your toes. other than that it was very good convenient to rest, shopping and interstate. so would go back , we were in the handicapped suite, would liked to have "king" bed, only one queen

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Our stay started off with our key not working in the door, then being surprised as the door opened from the inside. The man said he was maintenance and that he checks all rooms before the guests arrive. Check in is 4pm, this was after 9pm. Seems odd, doesn't it? There were cobwebs, dust on the couch and what looked like some sort of berry left on the floor in the kitchen. It could have used a bit more cleaning. We got a room with a fireplace and I asked one of the desk-workers if they supplied logs to burn (since this was a wood-burning fireplace instead of a gas) and she said she had no idea and thought that the fireplaces might just be for looks. Only on checkout, when I inquired again, was I told that there were logs you could purchase in the gift shop for $4 each. Breakfast was advertised as being served until 8:30 on the weekdays and 9:30 on weekends. We got there at 9:10 on a weekend morning and most everything was already put away. We got the last two muffins and the only other choices were toast or cold cereal. The staff member cleaning up turned the waffle iron off minutes after we arrived in the room, and never asked us if we'd like anything, having seen that we had just arrived. It just seemed like customer service was the last thing on anyone's mind. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We spent 7 nights here. The price was reasonable. This is not a regular hotel as the room is only cleaned on the third and the fifth day. So come prepared for this. Each unit has a full kitchen and there is a wood burning fireplace. The room was clean. The staff was extremely helpful and accomodating. We did not have breakfast as we had a kitchen to prepare our own food. The coffee and cookies were good. Would I come back? absolutely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the building as they are quiet. If you do not like stairs (this is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

The rooms are a good size, but look a bit tired and need updating, the staff were very helpful and when we had a problem with our room fixed it straight away and gave us vouchers for a complementary meal and cinema tickets, the breakfast was served to early for people on holiday and we missed it most days, but you must have a car when you stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: We booked a 2 bed apartment to give us extra room, there wasn't much difference in the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Room smelled like smoke, ants in the room, food crumbs on the top of the refrigerator, disappointing breakfast, knock at the door at 3 am, minor maintainence issues throughout.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We have been staying in this hotel for race weekend for the past several years and with the change of ownership a couple years ago it has gone downhill quickly.

Here are a few things:
4 bags of junk outside the stairwell we had to tell the front desk about, (Don't know how long they had been there).
Room smelled like smoke (even though there is a no smoking sign outside the room).
Nails popping out of the ceiling
Weak internet & no more free paper.
Broken down car outside our room.
Blinds didn't work properly.

I read reviews of the hotel across the street and the word "prostitutes" was used but I didn't see any walking around. Also, my father in law believes he heard gun shots in the middle of the night. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else. This is our last stay here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gatehouse Suites Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gatehouse Suites Indianapolis

Address: 3553 Founders Road, Indianapolis, IN 46268
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your The Gatehouse Suites Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gatehouse Suites Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis
Residence Inn Indianapolis
Indianapolis Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gatehouse Suites Indianapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.