We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This could have been a great review...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn Indianapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Drury Inn Indianapolis to your Saves list
Drury Inn Indianapolis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9320 N Michigan Rd, Indianapolis, IN 46268   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“This could have been a great review...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We just came back from a 3 night stay at this property. Very nice looking, above average, in fact. Professional staff at the counter. I had asked for a first floor room, near an exit due to my mother's use of a walker. We didn't need a handicapped room, just a first floor room. They put us on the fourth floor next to the elevator.
The room was clean but STRONGLY smelled of smoke. It was 5 pm, so the chain smoker who had this room before had been gone for at least 6 hours. They either need a better way to get rid of the smoky smell, or decide to leave the room vacant until it's in better shape. I hope they charged a smoking fee to that person's bill , since this hotel claims to be "Smoke Free". I complained to the desk and made sure they knew that we weren't the ones who did this to their room.
The breakfast and evening snacks were in a nice area, presented nicely, again- staff was professional and areas were clean.
The room itself was average size, lots of outlets in walls and on nightstands and desk ...very helpful. The bathroom was small. Some people might use a bathroom to get dressed in... it was difficult to do in this small space. No shampoos, conditioners or lotions... instead, there was a dispenser in the shower filled with shampoo, conditioner and shower gel. I didn't like the pillows- they were the kind you have to fold in half to get any kind of head support. Desk chair and high-back chair were roomy and comfortable. Housekeeping did a good job, but we always came back to a hot room because she'd turn the air WAY down. We had 90 degree days during the trip, so we would have appreciated a cooler room to come back to.
I wish there had been a notebook with restaurant menus or a list of the places that deliver in this area. Indianapolis is a big city and could have used a book like the other Drury Inns I've stayed at have provided. I called the front desk and he said I could come down to the lobby and get a list. He also said I'd have to come down to the the lobby to get a receipt for our stay on the morning of checkout. Usually, the hotel slides it under the door for easier checkouts. Little things mean a lot.
I won't be coming back to this hotel, but I do like the Drury chain. They don't ALL cut corners the way this one seems to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn Indianapolis, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback and the kind words about our team. We truly regret that we did not meet your expectations regarding the comfort and smell of your room. Please know we welcome the opportunity to make things better while you are staying with us.

Thank you for your feedback we hope for the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Mallory Toles
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    64
    15
    7
    0
See reviews for
50
31
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

What can I say? Every Drury we have ever stayed as has been fantastic. They are our go-to hotel. Their deals can't be beat. Spotless, modern rooms, free wifi, awesome breakfast with fresh fruit, popcorn and pop all day, and their snacks at night (here it was nachos, hotdogs, mac and cheese, fantastic chicken strips, salted encrusted baked potatoes, etc. and of course 3 "free" alcoholic drinks). Their pool was OK, and being right on a main road wasn't the most pleasant scenerry, but it was easy to access. Staff was fantastic as always. All this for under $100 a night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed here again due to its proximity to the amphitheater. Great service, great food, great price! Any time I attend a concert here this is where I'm staying!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This hotel is smaller and older than the Drury Inn and Suites located at the Castleton exit in Indy. I usually stay at that Drury. However, it was already booked so I chose to stay at this one instead. It is obviously older and smaller than the pretty, large one at Castleton. The rooms are smaller, darker and the bathrooms are terribly small. BUT, the rooms are clean and the staff is wonderful. The staff are always cheerful and friendly - everyone from the front desk to the breakfast/happy hour staff to the employee refilling the laundry detergent in the laundry room! There is still the free happy hour food, free popcorn and pop and the free breakfast. So while this hotel might not be pretty, it is clean, friendly and a great value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The above says it all. Great food, clean, friendly staff, etc etc. Will definitely return if we're in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkview, West Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I made my mother a reservation to stay here a month ago based on the price and Tripadvisor reviews. She loved it. So when my husband and I needed a room on our way Indy, I made a reservation. Everything was great from the friendly check in to the great food at kick back and the pulsating shower heads. I will definitely stay here again when passing through.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed here for the second year in a row, while in town for business and a little R&R with wife. We got the same exact room as we did last year. And it is now our favorite. We had a room by the atrium which was no problem to us with people downstairs. You can't go wrong with the free food and drinks in the evening, and breakfast in the morning. All the staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a king room, which had the mini fridge and microwave. Will stay again without question.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Drury Inn Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn Indianapolis

Address: 9320 N Michigan Rd, Indianapolis, IN 46268
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#35 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#43 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn Indianapolis 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Drury Inn Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Drury Inn
Drury Indianapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn Indianapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.