We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip the cove and go across the street to the Drury Inn” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Caribbean Cove Hotel & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Caribbean Cove Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caribbean Cove Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3850 DePauw Blvd, Indianapolis, IN 46268 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select Indianapolis North (At The Pyramids))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Champaign IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Skip the cove and go across the street to the Drury Inn”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Our stay at the cove was bad from the moment we stepped in the hotel!!! There was a line and we stood in that line for almost 3 hours to check in, the help was not apolgetic in NOWAY,no eye contact,not sure they even new what they were doing & that was with the hotel mamager( Deanna W. by there side..All I heard was excuses instead of solutions!! we did NOT get the room we paid for, they gave it away!!! This is one mom that is TICKED off!! We paid 169.00 for a dirty pubic filled room, they gave us a queen size room when we paid for a king size and pull out , the roll around bed was awful for our daughter, it had springs coming up out of the bed!! "HORRIBLE" so we shared our queen size bed with our 7 year old "NOT GOOD" The water park was over filled there were NO towels the hot tub was dirty and discusting and filled with discusting brown foam!!! If I could give them a overall rating they wouldnt even get a 1/4 of a star, this is no less of a fles bag hotel!!!!!!! Save your time and $$$$$ and the agrivation , your time spent at this hotel will be no vacation!!!!!!!! We work to hard for our money to just have it stolen from the likes of this compay, I would rather have thrown our money into the wind!! Also dont use a 3rd party to book your room, they have been NO help in refunding our cash... Excuses Excuses!!!!!! Free breakfast was very cold but the waiters were kind!!

Room Tip: My tip to future travelers CHOOSE ANOTHER HOTEL!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCH M, Manager at Caribbean Cove Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
I apologize for the issues you had during your stay. We recently had a major problem with our checkin system which was the cause of the long wait to checkin. We have replaced the system and there will be no long waits in the future. We have order over 6,000 towels, hired more staff, updated overnight rooms, stocked up on guest supplies, and trained our staff to go above and beyond to take care of our guests. Please give us a call at 317-872-9790 and a manager would be more than happy to talk to you about any concerns you might have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    48
    71
    76
    142
See reviews for
207
15
13
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Ohio, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband, two daughters and I arrived on Sunday 2/17 for a one night stay over President's Day weekend. We were told check in was at 4p. I inquired by phone earlier in the day and was told NO early check in due to hotel being sold out for the weekend. We live 1hr 30 min away, so we drove in and arrived at 405pm. There were at least 100 people in line with three check in windows open. The line did move and about an hour into the wait I was about 15 people away from "my turn". Then the line stopped moving and we watched people who had previously checked in, return to the reservation counter with issues. The issues were that either the rooms weren't ready (not clean yet) or there was a family already staying in the room. The checkout process took about 2 hrs because of this issue. I inquired about wrist bands for the waterpark and was told that they have a list of our names down at the park. My check in agent apologized many times and was near tears. As soon as I received the room key, I ran to the room to make sure it was ready. It was, but NO towels or washclothes in the room. The room was very hard to heat/cool, the floor of the bathtub appeared dirty, and the toilet paper roll was broken so the toilet paper roll was laid on the bathroom counter. Then we entered the water park....no one there to take our names, no organization, and how would anyone know if the people in the waterpark were even hotel guests? Our first impression was either that the pool looked dingy, like it needed a new coat of paint.....OR was it a dirty "ring" around the pool. You could smell the chlorine in the air and there was not much air movement in the waterpark area. Not enough inner tubes, my daughters had to just float on the Lazy river. We returned to the room and again inquired about towels and washclothes and was told there were none. My youngest daughters skin was itchy and red so we made her rinse off in the shower to get the chlorine off. We went to bed and made sure to get up at 0630 for the complimentary breakfast buffet (since hotel was booked full). We arrived to find frozen, then microwaved french toast, donuts from a box, fruit loops, and fruit/yogurt. Very disappointed in the food, but it was "complimentary". We checked out by 7am to drive back home so that we could shower and freshen up. We will NEVER return. We have stayed at MANY hotels with waterparks, and never had experienced anything like this. I kept thinking I was on Candid Camera or Punk'd and that someone was going to jump out and yell "just kidding". Needless to say, that wasn't the case.

Room Tip: I guess to offer one tip, pack your own washclothes and bath towels
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCH M, Manager at Caribbean Cove Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
!We at the Caribbean Cove Hotel & Conference Center do our best to make sure every guest is taken care. We have a beautiful facility with over 300 rooms and staff that is here to cater to your every need. As you may have heard we had a major issue with our check in system and have since then replaced the system and corrected the issue. There will no long be a wait to checkin or any issues with accessing our water park. We have recently had a huge increase in occupancy since this winter and have fully stocked up on towels, tubes, and other supplies.

For all future guests we would love to you to visit our hotel and see for yourself all that we have to offer. With over 2,000 satisfied guests each weekend we know you will have a great stay! Please call us directly for any questions you may have
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Our stay started off horrible as soon as we walked in the door to check in. All we could see is a long, long line of people waiting to check in. Literally 3.5 hours later we reached the check in counter. The employee did not smile, did not apologize for the wait, he did nothing but give the the keys to someone elses room!!! I could not believe it when there was already someone in the room they gave us! I went back to the check in counter and the employee was fumbling papers and looked like he had NO IDEA what he was doing. We finally (after 20 more minutes) did get another room. He never apologized for our long wait or the fact that he gave us a room with someone already in it. I demanded something for all the inconviences- so I was given a coupon for a free pizza and breakfast for the next morning. Well- they must have given everyone free pizza coupons because you had to wait 40 minutes for your pizza. Breakfast the next morning was not good either. It was cold and there was a minimal selection on the Breakfast bar. The water park needs major updating. Not enough tubes and just outdated all together. The only positive was that I was refunded my money!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

There is absolutely nothing positive about this hotel. We drove over 2 hours with 9 kids for a weekend getaway. Now we can't wait to get away.
The horror of this hotel started at check in. We got
In line at 4 o'clock after 1 hour and 30 minutes we finally reached the check in counter. There were at least 100 hundred people behind us in line and only one employee at the front desk. She was beyond frustrated and ready to bust in tears at any second. We finally get in our room and there was one queen bed. So we had to go back down to the front desk and get the correct room. 3 hours after arriving at this horrible hotel we finally made it to the waterpark which would be closing in 2 hours. The water was so cold the kids did not make it to close. There was only one Spa opened and it was filled to capacity with kids splashing water. Back to our rooms we go for showers and there are no towels. We go down to the front desk to request towels and they never arrive. Then we see a housekeeper and she promised us towels. We never seen her either. After calling to the front desk the next morning we finally got 2 towels for a room booked for 4 adults. This hotel has been a nightmare from the moment we walked in. I will never stay here again!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winamac, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My experience at this hotel wasn't all bad because the kids had such a great time at the water park. My biggest frustration was when we checked in to our rooms, we were told that they were not able to accomodate our request for adjoining rooms as my mom and I were taking the 4 grandkids for the night. Interestingly enough, when we got to our rooms, which were side by side, my room was an adjoining room, just not to my Mom's room. Then my mom could not get the key card to work in her door, so I went back to the front desk to tell them and was told to try turning the door handle up instead of down and if that doesn't work, don't come back up to the desk, just call and they would send maintenance. At that time I asked if we could have the room that adjoined to my room, and he said that it had already been assigned to someone. We found out later that he was lying, just didn't want to accomodate our request. Needless to say, the door wouldn't open so I then called the front desk and eventually someone came to try to open but couldn't get it. A female employee was walking by and told the maintenance guy that the door (Room 120) always sticks and she showed him the "trick" to opening it. My mother was visibly upset because she did not want to have to deal with the problem door every time we left the room, so she asked the female employee if we could get the room adjoining to mine. She said she thought that we could and opened the adjoining room with the master key and told us obviously no one had checked in yet, so she saw no reason that we should not be able to switch. I told her about my conversation with the front desk, then she seemed to back off on our ability to switch. She did say she would inquire for us, though. She was told that they were aware of our request for the adjoining room, but people were checking in heavily right then and they needed to reserve that room. We just said "whatever" and moved on. I was very happy with the first floor rooms as they had sliding glass doors that gave us access to each other's rooms without having to deal with the "trick" door. Other that that, the rooms are run down, towels in the room and at the pool are very thin and worn and the ice machine on our floor didn't work. The room's heat and AC worked great, I just couldn't find a comfortable temp. We did have coffee maker and nice TV and the only thing broken was the toilet paper holders, which is not a big deal. The tub did have a big rust spot in it but otherwise seemed clean. At 5:20 in the morning, the fire alarm went off and we were told the fire dept. has to come to turn it off so it went on about 15-20 min. After getting back to sleep, we woke up, had a really good breakfast and finished our time at the water park and the kids thought we had such a great trip, so with all of the problems, we still had a great time.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are the best since you have pool access right outside your room. Lovely surroundi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monticello
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

For a twenty year old holiday inn, its all that. After being in other waterparks, this one is sorely lacking. The rooms ceilings are 7 foot. The tv has a terrible picture and there is no guide. Small children will enjoy the waterpark. Older ones will get bored quickly. You pay fir breakfast. Across the street is a Hampton's, where I'll be staying next time!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Our family had a wonderful stay at this hotel a couple of weeks ago. We arrived late on a Friday night and were greeted by a super friendly staff person. She had us in our room with our breakfast tickets and water park passes in less than 5 minutes. Our room was atrium side on the 4th floor and was very clean and nice. There were two comfy beds and a large balcony for the kids to hang out on. I was worried about the pool noise but at 11:00pm (hotel quiet time) both nights the lobby area was silent and we didn't hear anything with our door closed. The bathroom was clean and the only thing that I could find wrong with the room is the toilet paper holders were broken. However, little things like that don't ruin a great experience. There was a great selection at their breakfast buffet for both the kids and adults. Our kids had a fantastic time at the waterpark and arcade on that Saturday. The only frustration we had at the waterpark was not enough tubes to really enjoy all the rides and the lazy river.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribbean Cove Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Cove Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 3850 DePauw Blvd, Indianapolis, IN 46268 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select Indianapolis North (At The Pyramids))
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#137 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caribbean Cove Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Caribbean Cove Hotel & Conference Center! The Caribbean Cove Hotel is home to the fun and exciting Caribbean Cove Indoor Water Park. Reserve a Caribbean Cove Package & enjoy over 50,000 sq. ft. of water fun, including 3 water slides, 2 spas, a sports activity pool, a leisure river and kid s island complete with a water bucket dumping station! A visit to Caribbean Cove can really work up an appetite, stay the day and grab a bite to eat at Calypso Cafe then onto more fun at Crazy CoCo's Arcade with a ticket/redemption & merchandise counter. The Caribbean Cove Hotel & Conference Center is inspired by the Old World Charm of the French Riviera, with all the modern conveniences, including complimentary High-Speed Internet access and an on-site Business Center. Choose one of our on-site restaurants including Indy Sports Bar & Grille, Cafe St. Paul and Noble Romans Pizza. Our state-of-the-art fitness center and indoor pool/spa are available to all hotel guests. Whether you travel for business or pleasure, the Caribbean Cove Hotel & Conference Center at the Pyramids is sure to meet all your needs.If you have any questions or concerns please give us a call and a Manager will be more than happy to talk to you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Reservation Counter, TravelClick, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Caribbean Cove Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Cove Hotel And Conference Center
Caribbean Cove Hotel Indianapolis
Holiday Inn Indianapolis
Carribean Cove Indianapolis
Indianapolis Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribbean Cove Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.