We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very happy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Indianapolis South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Indianapolis South to your Saves list
Courtyard Indianapolis South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4650 Southport Crossing Drive, Indianapolis, IN 46237   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #69 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“very happy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

A 4 day visit to Indianapolis turned into a 2+ week stay and I am very glad that we chose this hotel to stay at. (It helped that we had work in this part of town)
Conveniently located close to I-65, this is a nice and comfortable hotel. Has all the amenities expected of a Marriott Courtyard (free internet, gym, swimming pool, bistro, guest laundry etc.) Rooms are very reasonably priced and I highly recommend getting the breakfast deal with the room rate. The bistro has many nice and healthy breakfast options plus they also brew Starbucks coffee.
There are many restaurants within walking distance with a pub right across the parking lot. Starbucks coffee shop is also right around the corner and so is a wine shop :-) In addition, practically all major shops (target, home depot etc.) are within 2 mile radius from this hotel. Location wise this is simply great if you are traveling for business.

The hotel staff wasgreat!! They were very friendly, courteous and helped us many a time. My compliments to the staff for doing a good job.

I will definitely stay at this hotel again if I visit the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    20
    7
    6
    0
See reviews for
11
5
3
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
383 reviews 383 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was an awesome mini vacation! I used my Marriott Rewards points to book a room her about 10 miles for all of the action. We checked in with ease and met other NFL fan and every day was pretty comfortable. Now we did not spend a lot of time in the room. The routine was Starbucks, workout and shower and get out, Until it was time to change for the event of the evening.

I will say the in the mornings it was extremely crowded in the lobby most people would be hungry, hungover and dehyrated from the night of celebrating prior. So we would have to wait on line to get food and water from the cafe and most times there was only on person making coffee and sandwiches.

Other than that it was a great place and the location was close to gas, shopping, restaurants and banks. The best part is that my balance at the end of my stay was ZERO!

Not to mention the weather was beautiful every day!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I recently spent 30 days at this hotel. The staff were absolutely amazing. I felt more like a family member than a guest. The highlight of my stay was going to breakfast every morning and being greeted with a smile. The beds were very comfortable and the balcony was a nice escape to relax and unwind. A great location with easy access to the interstate and the downtown attractions. Very military friendly HOOAH!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 8 nights and making reservations for this hotel was complicated. But I'm not entirely sure it was the hotels fault completely as we started the business trip with group reservations through central reservations. Long story short wrong names with rewards numbers. It was easily corrected at checkin with the hotel. But it did cause my room to not be based off of my "preffered" settings, such as being on the top floor. I checked in and 2 days later requested a move to a top floor due to the "elephant" in the room above me. 2300 and what sounds like stomping in unacceptable to me when I will be in a hotel for over a week. The hotel has all the amenities of a Courtyard including the newly renovated Bistro. The hotel staff informed us that a room renovation will be starting in OCT 12 by sections, so I would expect some noise during that timeframe. Overall, very nice place to stay and within walking distance (3-5 minutes) to many chain restaurants like steak n' shake, carrabas, cheeseburger paradise, couple of pubs etc. thanks for reading! As usual videos of rooms on my YouTube channel.

Pros:
- Fastest WIFI I have seen in hotels this year (even over the weekend)
- Bistro serves Starbucks 
- Staff willingness and ease of "customer satisfaction"
- Free breakfast included with the hotel rate

Cons:
- Reservations 

RetiredArmyRANGER

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckay090, General Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis South, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear valued guest: Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about our hotel. I apologize that you had a problem with the reservation process but was happy to read that overall you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for allowing us to be your home away from home for 8 nights. We hope to have an opportunity to showcase our new rooms on a future visit to Indianapolis.

Best Regards
Scott McKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel has very limited food facilities. There are several restaurants within walking distance that you should utilize. The hotel is billed as a non-smoking hotel but it is apparent that this has not been the case for long. My room had a lingering odor of smoke in the room. Other than this the stay was ok.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has not been smoked in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckay090, General Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis South, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest: Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay. I apologize that you had an issue with your room odor and that it detracted from your overall stay experience. We stricly follow Marriott's non-smoking policy, which includes charging guests who make the decision to smoke in a room a fairly large recovery fee. Also, our Housekeeping staff works hard on keeping our rooms smelling clean and fresh and I regret that we were not able to do so with your room. Your feedback is important to us as it allows us to reguarly review our committment to providing our guests with an enjoyable stay. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you when your travels bring you back to Indianapolis. Thanks again for choosing the Courtyard Indianapolis South.

Best Regards
Scott McKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Just recently had two stays here totaling 7 days. Overall this is another one where a 2.5 rating could be given that's where I would place this. The lobby area & other items were updated, and service from the staff was great, but it appears that the management is really walking a fine line on the room upkeep.

The housekeeping did a great job of cleaning the items they do, but being here for a while you notice things like the desk chair on my first visit the arm fell off and the replacements all had bent backs, staining on the privaciy shades, the walls looking a little dingy, and the carpet really is getting to the point it needs to be deep cleaned or replaced.It looks like when they did the lobby overhaul they only did a very light redo on the rooms to meet the minimum required for the franchise.

The hotel has great choices for food around it & is super easy to access, so not a bad place if you need a quick stay on the south side of Indy, but don't expect to be dazzled by the room.

Tip: If you are staying for more than 1-2 days, you can get a week pass for $20.00 to the brand new LA Fitness down the street. About the nicest gym in the area and gives you a lot more options than the std. Courtyard gym. And Scotty's Brewhouse and Mucky Ducks are good dinner options.

Room Tip: Front side of hotel is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis South, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for choosing our hotel. We know there are a lot of choices for lodging when you travel to Indianapolis and we greatly appreciate your patronage. I am happy to report that all of our guest rooms are scheduled for a complete renovation beginning in the later part of this year and we are very excited to be able to offer this great new product to our guests. We sincerely hope you have another opportunity to stay with us when these rooms start to become available. I also wanted to take a moment to say thank you for the great comments about the staff - we strive to provide superior hospitality and I am glad you were able to experience that. We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This facility is a winner. The staff was so helpful during my daughter's wedding planning, it was truly one less thing I had to worry about. If you are spending time in Indianapolis or the surrounding area I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Indianapolis South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Indianapolis South

Address: 4650 Southport Crossing Drive, Indianapolis, IN 46237
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Indianapolis South 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Indianapolis South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Indianapolis South Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Marriott
Indianapolis Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Indianapolis South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.