We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks Ok From The Outside” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Indianapolis South

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Indianapolis South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Indianapolis South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4650 Southport Crossing Drive, Indianapolis, IN 46237   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #48 of 183 hotels in Indianapolis
New Orleans
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Looks Ok From The Outside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel has very limited food facilities. There are several restaurants within walking distance that you should utilize. The hotel is billed as a non-smoking hotel but it is apparent that this has not been the case for long. My room had a lingering odor of smoke in the room. Other than this the stay was ok.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has not been smoked in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckay090, General Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis South, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest: Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay. I apologize that you had an issue with your room odor and that it detracted from your overall stay experience. We stricly follow Marriott's non-smoking policy, which includes charging guests who make the decision to smoke in a room a fairly large recovery fee. Also, our Housekeeping staff works hard on keeping our rooms smelling clean and fresh and I regret that we were not able to do so with your room. Your feedback is important to us as it allows us to reguarly review our committment to providing our guests with an enjoyable stay. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you when your travels bring you back to Indianapolis. Thanks again for choosing the Courtyard Indianapolis South.

Best Regards
Scott McKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    20
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
10
5
3
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Just recently had two stays here totaling 7 days. Overall this is another one where a 2.5 rating could be given that's where I would place this. The lobby area & other items were updated, and service from the staff was great, but it appears that the management is really walking a fine line on the room upkeep.

The housekeeping did a great job of cleaning the items they do, but being here for a while you notice things like the desk chair on my first visit the arm fell off and the replacements all had bent backs, staining on the privaciy shades, the walls looking a little dingy, and the carpet really is getting to the point it needs to be deep cleaned or replaced.It looks like when they did the lobby overhaul they only did a very light redo on the rooms to meet the minimum required for the franchise.

The hotel has great choices for food around it & is super easy to access, so not a bad place if you need a quick stay on the south side of Indy, but don't expect to be dazzled by the room.

Tip: If you are staying for more than 1-2 days, you can get a week pass for $20.00 to the brand new LA Fitness down the street. About the nicest gym in the area and gives you a lot more options than the std. Courtyard gym. And Scotty's Brewhouse and Mucky Ducks are good dinner options.

Room Tip: Front side of hotel is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis South, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for choosing our hotel. We know there are a lot of choices for lodging when you travel to Indianapolis and we greatly appreciate your patronage. I am happy to report that all of our guest rooms are scheduled for a complete renovation beginning in the later part of this year and we are very excited to be able to offer this great new product to our guests. We sincerely hope you have another opportunity to stay with us when these rooms start to become available. I also wanted to take a moment to say thank you for the great comments about the staff - we strive to provide superior hospitality and I am glad you were able to experience that. We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This facility is a winner. The staff was so helpful during my daughter's wedding planning, it was truly one less thing I had to worry about. If you are spending time in Indianapolis or the surrounding area I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was part of a package deal for a the Indy500. Love the hotel, great proximity to track, lots of food around and other stores. Staff friendly, beds comfortable,free Wi-Fi...

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I stayed two nights with my 90 year old mother who was having cataract surgery downtown. The service was great with the desk clerks and manager being friendly and very accomodating. There are multiple restaurants within minutes and there is a small bar in the lobby where made to order breakfast can be purchased. Ask for the breakfast vouchers when checking in to save on the made to order breakfasts. The pool is indoor and was not crowded. The hallways were quiet, although the traffic noise on our side of the building was always in the background with I-65 about 100 yards from the facility.
We were well satisfied with the room and especially the friendly service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front side to avoid the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I live in Oxford, Mississippi, but I travel all over the U.S. I stay in Marriott properties over 200 nights a year. This stay has been one of the better stays in years. The hotel staff are friendly and go out of their way to help you with anything you need.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We live in Northcentral Indiana and needed to stay overnight in Indianapolis. Had a very pleasant stay with an exceptionally friendly staff. Clean. Located close to the Interstate and some restaurants but very quiet. You do not get a complimentary breakfast but a very nice mini-type restaurant with breakfast and sandwich items. Starbucks served.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smckay090, General Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis South, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. We appreciate the kind words and are pleased that we were able to provide you with an enjoyable stay. We look forward to serving you again the next time your travels bring you to Indianapolis.

Best Regards
Scott McKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Indianapolis South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Indianapolis South

Address: 4650 Southport Crossing Drive, Indianapolis, IN 46237
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Indianapolis South 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtyard Indianapolis South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Indianapolis South Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Marriott
Indianapolis Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Indianapolis South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.