We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5151 S East Street, Indianapolis, IN 46227   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #68 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Schererville, Indiana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice family stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Location was convenient to all highways and the staff was very accommodating. Free breakfast was nice and the kids enjoyed the pool! Overall great stay.

Room Tip: We used Hotwire.com and got a GREAT deal on the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad we were able to give your family a nice and enjoyable stay. Next time if you come back, also try our reservations center they offer some awesome packages that appeal to families. Again, thank you for taking the time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    41
    19
    8
    8
See reviews for
45
9
6
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

I tryed to book a room, but when I called the hotel they were very rude and told me they only had king rooms for one hundred and fifty dollars. I was going to take one and asked if they had a hotel suttle and was told no. I asked if there was a cab service and the girl at the desk said she didn't know and Hung up on me. Hey Holiday inn, take a lesson from Country inn, treat your guest with respect, and get your prices in line. You are not too big to fail. I am also a priorty club member, and bing treated like that.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am sorry about the fact that you could not book at our hotel and very surprised that you were treated rudely. Our staff tries very hard to help whomever they deal with, even if it means they have to find a different hotel, like one with an airport shuttle. I will ensure that our staff is retrained on professional phone procedures. I am surprised that you were not given the option for cab service as we have that information readily available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

This hotel is conveniently located just south of I-465 on US-31. The hotel interior is quite attractive, and check-in was quick. Our room was large, with two full-sized beds, an upholstered chair, a desk with nice chair, a small microwave, and a fairly large refrigerator (larger than dorm size but smaller than full size). My wife appreciated the full-length mirror in the room. The flat screen TV appeared to be about 40 inches. They offer free WiFi in the room, but you need to get a username and password from the front desk.

The bed was perfect--neither too soft nor too firm. They provided both firm and soft pillows to choose from. The bathroom has a long counter with a single sink. The tub/shower area was clean and inviting. There was a bit of a problem with the shower--when you try to have the water come out of the shower, most of it still comes out at the bottom (to the tub) and the shower stream isn't strong. We reported that problem the next morning, and it was fixed within 30 minutes.

The breakfast selections included scrambled eggs (instant, I think), sausage patties, some nice warm cinnamon rolls, biscuits with sausage gravy, and a number of cold selections (rolls, bread, fruit). There was a machine that apparently could be used to make pancakes, but we didn't try that. There were several sections for coffee and tea, as well as three juices (orange, apple, and one I can't recall). Pretty nice overall.

There is a fairly large pool and a fitness room (but we didn't visit the latter).

The public areas and the room were all clean and well maintained and the people who work here are quite friendly. We come to this area once or twice each year, and I'm sure we will stay here again. We enjoyed our visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

It was a good place, big room, cheep, good clean bed and the internet connection was perfect. Not too many places to eat around here but if you keep driving south you'll find some nice places. Overall average HI express.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

This hotel was easy to get to from the airport. It was clean and quiet, but nothing fancy. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tseitz32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Thank you for your kind words. Airport access is easy from our hotel. We are also a short 10 mins from downtown too. Hopefully next time you can enjoy a trip there also. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

While there are several hotel choices in this convenient vicinity of south Indianapolis, I found this to be an excellent choice: refurbishing of the hotel [as HIE seems to be doing nationally]; clean, attractive rooms; a helpful staff; proximity to freeways and local attractions; free breakfast. It seemed to also have substantial space for special events, if that is your need.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tseitz32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Thanks for your comment. I especially like to hear mention of our staff. I know they try very hard to make this a truly warm and welcoming hotel close to the downtown area. We are all glad to hear you also enjoyed breakfast. Thanks for choosing to stay with and thank you for taking time to write about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattoon, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

The Hotel claims that this is the only hotel in the world that has 2 king beds in every room along with a 42" flat screen in every room. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels around the world anf have never seen this. This is a huge plus!!!!!!!!! Especially for a family of 4. There should be more emphasis on this.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tseitz32, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
While we are glad you enjoyed your stay, we are sorry to let you know that you posted your comment for the wrong hotel. The hotel you are referring to is the Holiday Inn Express Southeast (Beech Grove).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South

Address: 5151 S East Street, Indianapolis, IN 46227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated with modern decor. Friendly and welcoming staff, comfortable clean rooms and less than 7 miles from the heart of downtown Indianapolis. Stay with us for a night to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South Hotel Indianapolis
Holiday Inn Indianapolis
Indianapolis Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.