We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Indianapolis South

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Indianapolis South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Indianapolis South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5120 Victory Dr, Indianapolis, IN 46203   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 185 hotels in Indianapolis
Middlesboro, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I came to Indianapolis for a church camp meeting on Keystone Avenue. During my stay at this La Quinta we came down for breakfast. While selecting our breakfast items the bacon was almost gone so I started picking up the small broken pieces and putting them into my plate, then I went onto choosing other items. I am a bacon lover but I was going to be content with what I had. After sitting down and eating, a lady walked up to our table and brought me a whole plate of bacon!! Then I thought, "Wow, she must have been noticing me when I was getting the small pieces." I was very impressed. I only said thank you but the next morning when we went back down for breakfast again I asked if she was the lady who had brought me the bacon the day before and she said yes. I told her I thought that was very generous of her. Therefore, I also thought it certainly was worth posting. She deserves a star! Her name was Tina. Thanks Tina. You are great!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    51
    19
    15
    4
See reviews for
74
16
10
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Milford, IN
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a great time. The room and hotel were clean and well maintained. The pool was a little dirty at the deep end. The only things that didn't go well was the swollen door that we had to put some weight behind it to get it open, but once we realized it, it wasn't too bad. We went for a walk around the building and our key wouldn't let us in the side door or the door to the right of the main lobby and we had to walk to the lobby to re-enter the building. All and all a very nice experience. I left some items at the hotel and Carlo was very helpful in explaining the best and quickest way to receive my items. Thank you very much. I would recommend your hotel to family and friends. I work at a hotel so I am always looking for good quality and customer service and you delivered very nicely.

Room Tip: We ask , on arrival, to be on a higher floor. We were accommodated, quickly, to the 6th floor. We lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I are driving from AZ to NJ and this was one of our many hotel stays and is one of our favorite stays. The bed was very comfortable. Everything was clean and worked. The staff was friendly and the hotel was quiet during the night. The only problem we had was we were unable to fit our Uhaul under the front desk awning cause it is only 9ft and so backing up and making our way out of the crowded parking lot wasn't easy but overall everything was great. Just don't bother pulling up to the front desk if you have a vehicle over 9ft! Breakfast in the morning was good it was an average continental breakfast. I don't know what it is like staying more than one night but for one night I can say it is great!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suburbs of Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed here this past weekend, as part of an annual trip a group of us take to Indianapolis for the Brickyard 400. This is the 3rd year we’ve been staying at this hotel, and in 3 years you can tell nothing has been done to keep things running well. 3 years ago they just completed a redesign and the hotel was awesome. This year they are under management of a new GM who is trying to get things in order, but they definitely need to step up their game.

1st general issues, there are 3 elevators, 2 in the front, 1 in the back of the hotel. 1 of the ones in the front doesn’t work, it hasn’t worked in almost a year, we were informed it is slated to be removed. The elevator is super slow and it seems everyone holds it for others so there is always a long wait. The other elevator is at the other end of the hotel… If you like walking up and down the hallways to use the elevator and get to your room, it’s great… if not, it’s super annoying. Fix the front one and ditch the back one.

2nd the key’s keep needing to be re-coded for side doors daily. So you have to use the front entrance to get your key fixed. I don’t know how many times we let others in as we passed doors and we got let in by others, as everyone complained their key didn’t work. We were purposefully keeping our keys away from credit cards, cell phones, anything magnetic, didn’t matter, they wouldn’t open the doors!

3rd No wash clothes in the rooms, if lucky, you’d get one. When you’d ask the front desk, housekeeping wasn’t there; they couldn’t do anything about it.

4th Internet connection, the room on the first floor, you were lucky you could get 1 bar of signal. 5th floor all bars were there.

We checked in Friday night, our group, who booked our rooms a year in advance, we were all on different floors of the hotel. (1st, 4th, 5th,& 6th). Mine was on the 1st floor, when I got in the room I checked counters, beds and corners for bugs, and found 2 spiders on the walls. My friend said it’s a 1st floor, it happens. There were also stains on the walls I couldn’t identify.
The comforters had black ink stains on them, right on the top, and very visible. One of the beds even had little black fuzz that I had use the flashlight on my phone to make sure they weren’t bed bugs. I left the “please clean linen’s” note on the bed next to the stains for housekeeping to notice. They did nothing about the stains, they stayed the whole weekend. But they were able to throw away my plastic cup and straw with silverware in it that I brought with, and cleaned before leaving for the day, and had placed next to my phone charger and notepad on the desk.

The 2nd day before heading out for a few hours in the evening I used the bathroom flushed the toilet and put the lid down. When I got back to my room several hours later it smelled like poop. Only for me to find out my toilet stopped flushing, and flushing it now, it was about to over flow. I called the front desk who told me “IF she could find a plunger she’d be down to fix the issue soon.” She plunged the toilet, and it was fine. I woke up about 4:00 am to find the AC turned off and that I couldn’t get it to kick back in. Even after going to the bathroom, and turning it down as low as possible. It wouldn’t go on. I opt’d to get breakfast around 7:00, since I was up, my key had to be re-coded 3 times before I could get back into the room. I had nothing with me to accidentally deactivate my key.

Went out for the race that day, got back to my hot and sticky room, used the bathroom and the toilet handle broke! I took the key that had been on the desk for the 2 days since I checked in to go talk in person with the front desk Fed up and annoyed I requested a new room. When I got back it wouldn’t work. I was told it was blank! It’s been on the desk, how does that happen? I was moved to the 5th floor, with a key that would turn the light green, but still not open the door. After going back to the front desk I got in the room, checked for bugs, stains, and that the toilet worked, while un-packing I realized my socks were wet.. The carpet was wet! When I told the front desk he said he’d leave a note about it.

We talked to the sales manager about the situation, and she said by our trip next year it will be corrected and that the hotel will be better. But I’m not sure I want to bother with another chance, there are a lot of other hotels in the area we can stay at.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times. The guest services are always accommodating and friendly. The breakfast is more than adequate. The bedding, pillows are very comfortable and allow for a good night's sleep. In this location, there are several restaurants within easy walking or driving distance. We will continue to stay at this La Quinta.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpeziale, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Indianapolis South, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your great review! We value your loyalty and look forward to seeing you again.
Your comments will be shared with our Team.

Regards,
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The suite we stayed in was a great deal and very clean. More importantly, the breakfast was AMAZING - and Tina was so incredibly nice, warm and personable! Every morning she greeted not only us, but everyone with a warm smile and made sure that e had everything. Tina engaged in pleasant conversation and really made us feel welcome! If our convention is ever back in Indianapolis, we will be staying here again, no questions asked! SO happy!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSpeziale, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Indianapolis South, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind remarks. Tina is a warm and kind hearted person and she loves her guests, but mostly to serve them with a Hospitality Heart!
She is an asset to our LaQuinta. I will make sure I share your comments with her. Please call us when you're ready to book for your next convention. We would love to be your Host Hotel in Indianapolis.

Sincerely,
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Indianapolis South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Indianapolis South

Address: 5120 Victory Dr, Indianapolis, IN 46203
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#61 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Indianapolis South 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inns & Suites offers just what travelers need to wake up on the bright side. At La Quinta Inns & Suites, we know travel can be challenging. That’s why we are here to help both business and leisure travelers find their inner optimist. We have plenty of indulgences to be happy about including our free Hot Deluxe Breakfast, high speed internet, and exercise / fitness center. We want to give you a jump start on your day with everything from fresh and delicious make-your-own waffles, biscuit & gravy, hot and cold cereal, hard boiled-eggs, bread muffins and fresh fruit to all you-can-drink-coffee and juice, there’s something for everyone. We also have catering, Jacuzzi suites with kitchenettes, out door swimming pool, business center, full service banquet facilities with food and beverages. We are pet friendly. Walk to near by restaurants and shopping centers. Our open light-filled lobbies are a great place to hang out. In room features are alarm clocks, coffee makers, complimentary local calls, hair dryers, irons & ironing boards, wired & wireless internet, refrigerators, microwaves, sitting areas, voice mail, flat screen with premium cable; non-smoking rooms and they are handicap accessible. We are 6.13 miles from downtown and right off I-465/ I-74 and 3.5 miles east of I-65. Come and enjoy our comfy beds and many other amenities delivered with friendly service and dose of humor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, LaQuinta, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Indianapolis South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inns & Suites Indianapolis South Hotel Indianapolis
La Quinta Inns And Suites Indianapolis South
La Quinta Indianapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Indianapolis South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.