We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel kinda run down, massive construction, rugs dirty” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Indianapolis North/Carmel

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Indianapolis North/Carmel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Indianapolis North/Carmel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   251 Pennsylvania Parkway, Indianapolis, IN 46280 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Indianapolis Carmel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 185 hotels in Indianapolis
Carmel, Indiana
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“hotel kinda run down, massive construction, rugs dirty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

i got this hotel thru priceline. When i got there, i had to pass thru the floor section of the hotel, which is all torn up due to remodeling. The pool and hottub were pretty good, as was Kyle the bartender in the restaurant. The carpeting on the 4th floor looks like it needs a good cleaning. Basically, just an average hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Indianapolis North/Carmel, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thanks so much for sharing your experience. I am sorry for the challenges you found at the hotel during your stay. I am glad you were able to meet Kyle and relax a bit. As your mentioned, we are just completeing a multi-million dollar renovation that includes all guest rooms and public space. We are proud of our improvements and that we will become the new Holiday Inn Indianapolis North/Carmel. Please give us another oppportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    70
    25
    9
    16
See reviews for
59
27
29
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
devo4924
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

My mother and I booked this hotel for an overnight trip to my hometown, Indy. I requested a quiet room. Unfortunately, we were originally assigned to a room directly across from the MEPS processing center (some sort of military program), which was located in a guest room due to hotel renovations. It was kind of curious that we were assigned this room in light of the fact that the hotel did not appear that crowded. Moreover, the furnishings were rather tired. I do understand that the hotel is going a renovation to become a Holiday Inn.

After a period loud voices and people congregating in the hall, we contacted the front desk to inquire how long this activity would be ongoing and were informed that the MEPS office was open until the evening. Upon my request, however, our request for a move was accommodated pleasantly by front desk staff. We were moved to one of the floors that was under construction. Despite the fact that the hallway was kind of sketchy looking with tools and scraps everywhere and dirty (obviously in the process of being renovated), our room was actually nicer - updated...flat screen TV and so forth.

So, despite some hiccups and odd initial room assignment, we had a acceptable experience. It appears that this property will be fine upon renovation. Workout facility, pool and dining facilities were unused by us, but looked nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zachary D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Indianapolis North/Carmel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to compose your review. We appreciate the valued feedback you have shared with us and will use this information to further improve the guest experience.

Thank you for choosing to spend your business with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

Stated here for a week and it felt just like home. A functional and basic bar & grill, gymn, pool seemed enough and more, thanks to hospitality of the staff. You must drive to this property on a rental or your own since distances are large to get to offices, malls and food joints in case you want to explore out. Though the hotel provides free shuttle service for nearby areas - it at times is erractic with one shuttle multiple guests and # of possibilities for outings... Grt value.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zachary D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Indianapolis North/Carmel, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Valued member,

I wanted to thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We could not be more pleased that you found our accommodations comfortable and also functional, similar to the ones you find at home.

The next time you are staying with us just let the Front Desk Staff know what times you would like to request the shuttle, this will allow us to accommodate you in a timelier manner.

To also make you aware on June 1st 2012 we will be converting to the only full service Holiday Inn in Indianapolis. Our guest rooms will be overhauled to feature flat screen TV’s, microwaves and mini-fridges in each room as well as a new bedding package.

We look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I would avoid this property. I checked in very late in the evening (i.e. >2AM) and requested a quiet room. The desk person said that all the rooms would be quiet because everyone was asleep by this time. However, what the desk person did not say was that floors 5 and 6 in the hotel were under renovation that begins at 9AM every single day (including Saturday and Sundays). So I was woken up by loud hammering and drilling literally above my room. I may have been a little more understandable if I didn't request a quiet room to start due to a late check in, but the desk person was too lazy to insure that my request was fulfilled.

The room itself was pretty spacious. The TV was an older tube model. The walls were pretty thin (I could hear the next door neighbor coughing). Also, there was a damp smell (moldy) in the room. Not sure where the smell was coming from as the room looked pretty clean otherwise.

The property itself is situated in what looks to be an industrial office complex. Parking is free.

Room Tip: If you must stay at this hotel, do not request a room on the 4th floor until the renovations on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roboutz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Indianapolis North/Carmel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thanks you so much for your thoughts. It gives us the opportunity to improve and we appreciate that.

I am sorry you we caused any uncomfort during your stay. It is sometimes a difficult balance to improve the hotel without affecting the guest experience. We have taken your advice and are working with the crews to begin later when possible.

Please give us another chance to serve you when we have converted to the Holiday Inn Indianapolis North/ Carmel. The hotel will have been completely renovated with flat screen HDTV's, microwaves and refrigerators in each room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattoon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed over as my son was part of the MEPS program. Upon arrival they were unable to find my reservation. Even though I had confirmed the day before. The hotel is undergoing renovations so it "looked " inpressive. We went down to the dining room for an evening meal. There was only 2 wait staff present. On each table there was a menu placed specifically for the meps members only. There was no other menu available. When the waitress approached our table she stated ' oh that menu is not for you, your menu has good food on it" The menu was very limited and WAY over priced. The so called GOOD food was nothing to write home about. I would have rather had the " bad " food they were serving the men and women who were going thru the MEPS program. Those who are protecting and serving our country. Pool was outdated but nice to be able to swim. My biggest complaint came in the morning when we had absolutely no hot water and were told we would probably have to wait 15 minutes to get any. Last but not least upon checkout we were not able to receive a reciept because the printer was not operating. I did request that one be sent to my email address but that didnt happen until I made a second request and the nice young desk clerk had to send it to me using his own email address because he said they did not allow anyother way. WoW!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roboutz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Indianapolis North/Carmel, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
I want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Your letter touched and concerned all of us. First, I want to thank your son for his service and you for your sacrifce. Our MEPS guests are very important to us as both hoteliers and Americans. Your experience in our restaurant was disheartening and will be addressed on many levels to ensure that it does not happen again.

Our General Manager, Robert Utz has discussed your stay with the restaruant, maintenance to address the hot water issue and the desk regarding your receipt. Your input has afforded us the opportunity to improve and it is appreciated.

As you mentioned, we undergoing a multi-million dollar renovation. We will be the new Holiday Inn Indianapolis North Carmel. You will enjoy beautiful new guestrooms each with a flat screen HDTV, mini-refrigerator and microwave as well as a restaurant with a new menu.

We hope that you give us a chance to serve you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel with a good pool and fitness center. Layout is a little funky but overall clean and updated (except the TVs). Bathrooms have no fans, and the tv remotes don't work. A little overpriced for the comps in the area. Fridge was nice to have (must request). Room was cheaper on hotels.com but could not guarantee a room type supposedly.....

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roboutz, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Indianapolis North/Carmel, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with the Four Points by Sheraton Indianapolis Carmel. It is your feedback that helps us to improve! I am sorry you felt the rate was overpriced. We strive to exceed expectation with each stay. I am thrilled to announce that we are undergoing a multi-million dollar renovation and will become the Holiday Inn Indianapolis North Carmel in June 2012. All rooms will be brand new. You will find new HD flat screen televisions as well as a refrigerator and microwave in each room! Please come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I arrived for a quick stay-over for the evening in Indianapolis on my way to Detroit. This hotel is a great property with clean rooms, lobby and hallways. The staff were very helpful in getting me settled and were very friendly... Gotta love the midwest! The room was spacious and the bathrooms seemed to have been renovated recently. Located close to the hospitals and industry on the north side of Indy. A great Four Points property and I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zachary D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Indianapolis North/Carmel, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Trip Advisor Member,

I would like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your feedback with us. We are pleased to hear that your stay was comfortable and that our staff was friendly and welcoming while you were with us. We are glad you could experience Hoosier hospitality first hand.

Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Indianapolis North/Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Indianapolis North/Carmel

Address: 251 Pennsylvania Parkway, Indianapolis, IN 46280 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Indianapolis Carmel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#26 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#28 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Indianapolis North/Carmel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Indianapolis Carmel is ideally located in a park like setting in the heart of upscale Meridian Corporate Business Park and minutes away from the beautiful downtown Carmel Arts and Design District. Our unique six story design hotel is the only Holiday Inn located in the Indianapolis area. Renovated, spacious guestrooms and suites offer all the comforts of home including Holiday Inn signature bedding for a restful night sleep, microwave and refrigerator for your convenience and HDTV channels providing an array of viewing options on the 32 inch flat panel TV. Join family and colleagues for breakfast, dinner or drinks in the Terranova Bar and Grill. Take advantage of free Wi-Fi, 24 hour sundry shop and business center. To unwind from the day, take a dip in our indoor pool or whirlpool. Reenergize yourself in the fitness center. Business travelers will find our hotel conveniently located to companies within the North Meridian corridor including St. Vincent Hospital, Liberty Mutual, Delta Faucet, Teradata, Ingersoll Rand, Monster, Bridgestone Firestone, Belden, Verizon, and Thompson Technical. Take the day to enjoy attractions such as Broad Ripple, Children’s Museum, Butler University, The Palladium, Lucas Oil Stadium, and Indianapolis Speedway. We are only 20 miles from Indianapolis Airport. Relax knowing you have made the right choice with Holiday Inn Indianapolis Carmel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Indianapolis North/Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Indianapolis Carmel Hotel Indianapolis
4 Points By Sheraton Indianapolis Carmel
Radisson Indianapolis
Indianapolis Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Indianapolis North/Carmel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.