We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheraton Indianapolis City centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31 West Ohio Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #82 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Ramsey, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sheraton Indianapolis City centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I am a member of the SPG rewards group. This gave me access to the Club on the 10th floor and my room was also on the 10th floor. I had breakfast and dinner as comp to me. Also the 24/7 access for drinks, ice, snacks, etc was one of the other perks afforded to me.

Resturant Grill/Bar was O.K. Service was a little slow at times. Otherwise the service was adquate on a whole.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the monument have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill S, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear William M.,

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your schedule to review your most recent stay with us! I am so happy to hear that your visit was so positive!

I am so glad that you enjoyed your Club Level Lounge access! With complimentary breakfast, appetizers, and all day snacks, it's a great upgrade during any stay! I hope you had the chance to take advantage of our convenient downtown location, that offers great local attractions within walking distance and beautiful views from our pool deck and some guest rooms!

I do apologize you were unsatisfied with your dining service. This is not the standard we strive for! I will share your comments with our banquet staff so we may improve our efforts!

Thank you again for your review! I hope you return to stay with us again in the future!

Best regards,
William Seitl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    165
    114
    54
    32
See reviews for
68
96
35
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Location is probably the best part of this hotel. It is located in the heart of Indy, with tons of options for dining, drinking and shopping all a short walk away. I am staying her for a conference and normally stay at Hilton or Marriot properties, but I would consider staying again. The meeting facilities are good and the hotel rooms are pretty standard.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill S, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Mike G.,

Thank you so much for leaving such kind words regarding your most recent stay with us! I appreciate your time and I am so glad you had a great experience.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient downtown location, so close to amazing monuments and great local attractions! I hope you had the chance to stay in one of our guest rooms that overlook the Monument Circle or visited the pool deck for some breathtaking views! I am also glad that you enjoyed our fantastic meeting space! With 18,000 square feet combined, it offers beautiful space for many different functions!

Thank you again for your review! I hope you return to stay with us again in the future! It would be our pleasure to serve you during your next visit!

Best regards,
William Seitl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

And this one is no different, however, it is much better than some others I've stayed in! The only reason I stay in Sheratons at all is because of the SPG points (I booked to late to stay at the Westin for an affordable price). My experience... the room service food wasn't particularly good. The check-in was incredibly slow. The door to the room was very direty (maybe housekeeping needs a raise or a better eye for details) and the room smelled like stale cigarette smoke. That said, the room itself must have been recently remodeled with very nice decor and had a lovely view of the monument.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill S, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear nwgirl70,

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your schedule to review your most recent stay with us! I appreciate your comments and I will be sure to use them to better our efforts for more positive experiences!

I am very happy that you so enjoyed our recently renovated guest rooms! They feature a complete furniture upgrade, a mini-refrigerator, and a personal safe! I am also glad to hear that you had the chance to stay in one of our guest rooms that over looks the Monument Circle. The view is breathtaking and worth any trip to Indianapolis!

I hope you accept my sincerest apologies that you are not getting the Sheraton experiences you deserve! Unsatisfactory dining, slow check-in, and unappealing room amenities are all avoidable and I apologize for your negative encounters. I will personally speak to the appropriate staff to make sure we avoid these issues in the future.

Thank you again for your review! I hope that you return to stay with us in the future so we may give you the Sheraton experience you deserve!

Best regards,
William Seitl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I really enjoyed my first trip to Indiana. We stayed at the Sheraton. And we actually fell back in love that night. :) No hanky panky though, lol. But just having the view from our room of downtown and seeing all of the lights and horse and carriage rides lit up, that was a simple romantic night. There was a building that had different colored lights that lit up. It was so pretty to see. Although we did get the room with two beds, we used only one bed and we had a really comfortable good nights rest. The only complaint I have is that you have to call for ice to get sent to your room, and that's not always convenient when you're ready to eat and they never show up. But other than that, I would definitely recommend Sheraton downtown. :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill S, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear KayBryant,

Thank you so much for sharing your great getaway and leaving such kind words regarding your most recent stay! I am so happy you had such a positive and wonderful experience during your first trip to Indianapolis!

I am thrilled that you took advantage our convenient downtown location! With great views like the lit up buildings, historical monuments, and great activities like a horse and carriage ride, it is worth any trip to Indianapolis! I am also glad you so enjoyed our signature Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed! I am happy you found them as comfortable as we do! Our Sweet Sleeper beds are so loved by our guests, they're even available for purchase online!

I do want to apologize that you were inconvenienced by our ice service. We removed the ice machines from each floor to reduce noise and to better serve our guests. By dialing 0, you can have ice up to your room within fifteen minutes.

Thank you again for your review! I hope you return to stay with us again soon! It would be a pleasure to serve you!

Best regards,
William Seitl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a conference. Was very conveniently located in the downtown area, a couple of blocks away from the mall. Tons of eating options within walking distance. Also, I got some of the best sleep I've had in a LONG time in these beds!! Super comfortable. I would stay here again if I visited Indy.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill S, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Shelle B,

Thank you so much for leaving such kind feedback regarding your most recent stay with us! I appreciate the comments and I am so happy you had a great experience!

I am thrilled to hear that you took advantage of our convenient downtown location and you enjoyed our signature Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds! We pride ourselves in being so close to great local attractions, including amazing historical monuments that offer a breathtaking view from some of our guest rooms and pool deck! Our Sweet Sleeper beds are so comfortable and loved by our guests, we have them for purchase online!

Thank you again for your great review! We look forward to serving you during your next stay!

Best regards,
William Seitl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I was recently at this hotel for a week during a conference.
First, the good things:
Excellent room cleaning
Fantastically comfortable bed
Great catering of two banquets and a buffet
Wonderful staff that really tries to solve problems
Starbucks onsite
Conference rooms were set up as requested

Now, the not-so-good
Really slow elevators
Incomplete remodeling - doors still off entry to service areas
Good bartenders but very poor wait staff in the restaurant
Actually the slowest restaurant I've ever eaten in with indifferent food - eat elsewhere (and there are tons of options for every meal)
The two items above indicate a serious problem with kitchen management
Rather shadowy lighting in the suites.

Overall, it's a good place if you want to be right near the capitol, etc. Just eat somewhere else.

Room Tip: Nice if you can get a view of Monument Circle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill S, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear TravelHarp,

I certainly appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback regarding your most recent stay with us. We use our guest comments to better our efforts for a more positive experience.

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed our recently renovated rooms, signature Sweet Sleeper beds, catering services, and staff! Our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds are so loved by our guests, they're available for purchase online! Our staff strives to provide great service, whether cooking for our guests or greeting you at the door, and I am happy that their efforts do not go unnoticed!

I hope that you accept my sincerest apologies that you ran into unpleasant experiences during your stay! Untimely elevators, poor service, unsatisfactory food, and unfinished remodeling are all avoidable and unacceptable. We are in the last stages of remodeling and doors to the service areas were recently installed. Slow elevators are the result of a full house. Unfortunately, while we are happy that our facilities are being utilized, this also causes delays in our elevators. I apologize that you had negative experiences with our dining services. This is not the Sheraton standard we strive for! I will personally speak to the dining staff and address your comments with them. If you would like to expand on your experience, please feel free to contact me at your convenience!

Thank you again for your review! I hope that you return to stay with us again in the future so we may give you the Sheraton experience you deserve!

Best Regards,
William Seitl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is a great location as it overlooks the circle downtown so it's close to everything. Front desk was very friendly, welcoming, and informative. My room was clean and bed/pillows were very comfortable. WIFI worked well and was easy to connect to. Bathroom was ok, as I would prefer more counter space, but shower was great with lots of pressure and very hot. Also love the magnified make up mirror!! I was disappointed that I could only find one outlet on the side of the desk to charge my phone and iPad, and would love to see additional outlets added to the end tables. I got a salad in the lounge for dinner and it was very good as was the service. My room had a great view of the circle, but was also very loud from traffic. The hotel also has a Starbucks and is within walking distance of Potbelly and Au Bon Pain.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill S, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear theokitty916,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us! I appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback regarding your experience.

I am glad you took advantage of our convenient downtown location! We pride ourselves in being so close to great local attractions, including the amazing historical monuments that some of our guest rooms overlook! I am thrilled our enjoyed the breathtaking view! I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed our guest room amenities! The small details like the magnified mirror, comfortable beds, and relaxing shower make any stay worthwhile! I am also elated that you had such positive encounters with our great staff! I will personally let them know that their hard work and efforts do not go unnoticed!

I do apologize that you had noise disturbances and were inconvenienced by the outlets and lack of counter space in the bathroom. We do have additional built-in outlets under the top shelf of our guest room night stands.

Thank you again for your review! I hope you return to stay with us again in the future!

Best regards,
William Seitl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Hilton Indianapolis
Hilton Indianapolis
#19 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
Courtyard  Indianapolis at the Capitol
Courtyard Indianapolis at the C...
#29 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#25 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 719 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Columbia Club
Columbia Club
#106 of 184 in Indianapolis
3.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel

Address: 31 West Ohio Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel offers a warm welcome in the heart of beautiful downtown Indianapolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Indianapolis
Indianapolis Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.