We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for 2013 500 Festival Mini Marathon, nice stay overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31 West Ohio Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #79 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Stayed for 2013 500 Festival Mini Marathon, nice stay overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

It was a good location. We could walk to the Mini Marathon start, and walk back to the hotel from the finish line. Staff was very friendly and attentive to us. We stayed on the 12 floor, and it was nice and quiet at night. The pool was closed for the season. We would have liked the pool, for our kids, 4 and 7, but we lived without it. The nightly rates were competitive. Rooms were clean, the amenities were nice, like free coffee, 2 small bottles of water. Nice newer flat screen TV. I would stay here again, no issues with it. The parking was $25.00 a night, with come and go privileges. It was easy to use, even though I hate paying $25 a night for parking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear moneil12,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us. It definitely was a great weekend to be in Indianapolis and it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our convenient location, friendly staff, our clean rooms, and amenities.

We do apologize for the pool not being opened yet but please come back soon so you and your family may enjoy swimming while taking in the great views of the city.

We appreciate all your positive feedback and we look forward to your return next time you are in the area.

Best regards,

Scott Hagen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    133
    97
    44
    29
See reviews for
58
80
34
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is not the most modern hotel at which you will ever stay. The rooms are spotlessly clean, but a little dated.Any deficiencies in the rooms is more than made up for by a hotel staff that is second to none. There is no one that I encountered who was not friendly, cheerful and very concerned about the welfare and satisfaction of their guests.So many of the big chains spend a fortune on decor, but hire people who just go through the motions. Kudos to the management of this for hiring the best. I look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Scott W.,

We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your wonderful experience during your recent stay. It is so exciting to hear that our staff was so accommodating to you and provided you with excellent service. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s effort and takes the time to say thank you. We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature especially when it is regarding our service and our rooms.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We are looking forward to you returning to our hotel in the future.

Best regards,

Scott Hagen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Indianapolis downtown is pretty vibrant for a city center, which makes this hotel a good place to stay. I was given a corner room on the twentieth floor (room 2001) with a view looking it of Monument Circle. The desk staff was very helpful. I had a pair of pants that needed a repair and someone immediately came up with a dewing kit for me. All the coffee is Starbucks, which may not thrill everyone but it certainly was good for me. It is unusual in having most of the meeting rooms on the 21st floor, but once again you certainly do get cool views. This hotel is very close to Centre City Mall also, which has a ton of stores. All in all, I had a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: G for the upper floors and ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Marjact,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted that you were so impressed with our location, great views, and helpful staff. We take great pride in these aspects and are glad that we were able to create a wonderful experience for your stay.

Once again, we appreciate your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back next time your travels bring you this way.

Best regards,

Scott Hagen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Staff is very good and helpful. Rooms are adequate. The room decor is dated, but it seems the common area has had some refurbishment. Our heater partially worked but nice bedding that was warm & comfy. It is a downtown urban hotel, so there are panhandlers and bus stops outside the hotel. No threats just around. I was surprised with the number of smokers standing outside the door smoking - at let they were outside. I would stay here again. It is nice, but not special.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Rhpatt29,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor.com. It is always great to hear when our staff provides great service to our guests. We strive to create an unforgettable experience with hopes that you will return in the near future. We are also glad that you enjoyed our comfortable bedding that kept you warm.

The safety and security of our guest’s is very important to us; being in a metropolitan location there are many people around the hotel, our staff works with the local authorities to keep the area around the hotel safe and secure. We hope that the next time you stay with us that we make your stay more special.

Best regards,

Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I happen to stay at Sheraton's, specifically the one in downtown Dallas on a regular basis. Imagine my surprise when I arrived at the dirtiest hotel room I have ever stayed in. Booked king sized room but they only gave me a room with "two queen beds", appeared to be a full sized bed. TV did not work, sheets not changed, yes this is correct the sheets were dirty, room was filthy, floors needed a full vacume, your socks got dirty walking in the room. Actually at at the hotel bar, huge mistake, restaurant in Dallas in Sheraton was good, this one terrible, food expensive. $45 for a soup, chicken entree and 3 beers. Chicken entree similar to wedding reception chicken. I cannot stress enough this hotel was filthy. Parking garage is poorly laid out. The hotel still charges for local and long distance calls (see photo). Who does this anymore??? TV out due to storm???? Been in plenty of hotels during a storm and never had this issue. Bathrooms are the size of a tiny closet. This not up to Sheraton standards. Perfectly acceptable as a Motel 6 but not for any business traveler!!! Beware...............

Room Tip: Do not get a room anywhere near the center where the elevators are. Flooring is tile near the eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Joe,

We certainly appreciate you taking the time to write us concerning your experience at our hotel. While we appreciate you taking the time to provide such a detailed list of issues you encountered, we are very sorry that it was necessary for you to do so. We hope you will accept our apologies for your disappointment in our facility.

We do conduct regular preventive maintenance on all of our guest rooms to prevent the conditions you described. We have addressed the cleanliness issues with our housekeeping leadership to make sure this does not happen again in the future. We would love the opportunity to speak with you and get more details about what guest room you stayed in so we can resolve the issues you listed; we would appreciate it if you would give us a call when ever you have a change.

Again we are sincerely sorry for the conditions you experienced throughout your stay. We hope that in time you may reconsider your position and choose to stay with us in the future. It would be our pleasure to continue to have you as a valued guest of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Two dots only because the staff is outstanding, but the room is so bad, it would be -5 if it was possible. If you were to pull up my reviews, I really never write a bad review. Luckily, I am usually always happy with restaurants and accommodations. Now, why am I still in this room? I went downstairs before I walked in the room, and my husband was in first. When I came up, my husband had already unpacked everything. I thought that since we would be out most of the evening, sensory adaptation would kick in, and it wouldn't seem so bad when we got back. Luckily, we are staying here only one night, and now that we've returned from dinner and a concert at the Murat, it is no better. The smell is horrible. The room smells like nasty sweaty construction worker perspiration. When I went into the bathroom a few minutes ago, I noticed a towel hanging on the back of the door. I knew my husband took a shower before we left home in Cincinnati. I asked him - and, it is a dirty towel. If I make it through the night, it will be a miracle. I will definitely say something when we check-out. The odor is awful. And, the towel cinched it. We're going to the Westin tomorrow night.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Cindygolden,

We really appreciate you taking the time to complete a review on tripadvisor about your most recent stay. We do value every comment and use them to make things better at our hotel for you in the future. It is great to hear that our staff was able to make a lasting impression on you and your husband during your stay.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for the issues you encountered in your hotel room. This is not the experience we aim to provide our guests and we are very disappointed to hear that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us. We have addressed your remarks with our housekeeping management team to make sure our staff is reporting these issues so that they may be resolved before guests arrive.

We would love the opportunity to speak with you and get more details about what guest room you stayed in so we can resolve the issues you listed. Again, we are very sorry for the conditions in your room and we hope that in time you may reconsider your position and choose to say with us in the future.

Best regards,

Scott Hagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We enjoyed our recent stay in Sheraton Indianapolis City Center Hotel. The hotel is in the center of the downtown, surrounded by many restaurants, a shipping center and many other good hotels. Self parking was easy at next door, and the elevator in the garage takes you directly to the hotel lobby or your floor. Our one king bed suit is very comfortable, and very clean. I was surprised to see a hand writing note on the coffee table by the hotel director of food and beverage Murali Ramalingam for welcome. We did not try the hotel food because we like seafood, and went to McCormick $ Schmick’s for dinner (McCormick $ Schmick’s is one block south on Illinoin Street). All hotel staffs that we met were knowledgeable and helpful. I feel the hotel is like home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Jenny201110,

We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your wonderful experience during your most recent stay. We are pleased that you took advantage of the convenience of our local restaurants and shopping areas. We are so lucky to be in a location that is easily accessible to many great attractions.

It is great to hear that our staff made your stay personable and more enjoyable. We can assure you that staff will be properly recognized as we are sure they will be glad to see that they were able to play a part in your memorable experience.

Once again, we appreciate your positive comments and look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Scott Hagen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel

Address: 31 West Ohio Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel offers a warm welcome in the heart of beautiful downtown Indianapolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Indianapolis
Indianapolis Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.