We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but not a fan of my room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31 West Ohio Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #83 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Nice place, but not a fan of my room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The staff were very friendly and I enjoyed being on the VIP package - forgot what it was called - where they have sodas and snacks in the afternoon and a light breakfast in the mornings. My room was a standard room, but there were a couple of problems - first, the bed sagged on one side, so I always felt as though I was sleeping on an angle. It was uncomfortable. The major problem was they put me right by the elevator shaft (on the 10th floor) and the sound of the elevators going up and down all night kept me awake. I asked to be switched after my first night, but they said they only had doubles available. I opted to stay with the King, but after a 2nd sleepless night, I should have moved to a room with a double away from the elevators. Avoid those rooms at all cost! Also...the cost was very affordable - around $135 I think.

Room Tip: Avoid proximity to the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Hilburno,

Thank you for submitting a review of our hotel to Tripadvisor.com. We value every comment and use them to make improvements at our hotel for you in the future.

We are pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and our prices to be very affordable. However, we are disappointed to learn about the issues you encountered in regards to your comfort. Please accept our most sincere apology for the noise disturbance and discomfort of the bed you slept on.

We would appreciate it if you please contact us so that we may locate which room you stayed in? We would like to correct the bed issue so that it does not occur again, and we would also like to speak to you in reference to your recent stay. We believe that every guest should enjoy a peaceful night’s sleep, and we regret that you were not able to do so.

Again, we appreciate your feedback about our hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with an experience more typical of our property in the near future.

Best regards,


Scott Hagen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    129
    90
    43
    29
See reviews for
58
77
33
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
SPRINGFIELD, IL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Ended up getting a great rate at the Sheraton on a very busy weekend. It came with free breakfast vouchers (buffet normally $14). Buffet was small, more like the kind you get at a Hampton Inn for free, wouldn't have paid the $14 for it. Hotel was very clean, great proximity to downtown area, mall, convention center, restaurants, etc. Starbucks at the hotel, although could have used more than one person working there. Huge line at check in, but it moved pretty quickly. Nice bedding, comfy bed, liked the closet that was more like an armoire. Only minuses were no small fridge in the room and couldn't figure out the thermostat so the room was very warm. Called down to the front desk and they explained it's either heat or cool, so we had to turn it off completely, couldn't even use fan without it blowing hot air, and prop open the door to the hallway to cool it off. Otherwise, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear HRSLVR,

Thank you for the recent correspondence that you submitted to Tripadvisor regarding the Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience during your recent stay, and we are very pleased to hear that you considered your stay with us to be very nice.

We were delighted to hear that you found our hotel to be very clean and that you enjoyed the comfort of our hotel as well as its central location.

We are disappointed to learn about the trouble you encountered with the thermostat. Please accept our most sincere apology for this. We would like to be able to get this issue corrected, we would appreciate if you would contact me so we could ask you what guest room you stayed in our maintenance department to can get this fixed immediately.

Again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. It was our pleasure to have you as a guest at the Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,


Scott Hagen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here during a busy week in Indy. Great staff! They initially had trouble checking me in, however they were able to straighten out the problems quickly. Room was great!

I wish the internet were free (at least for business travelers) or there were wifi. Great restaurants within walking distance (yes, even in the 10 degree winters)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear BToad2233,

Thank you for evaluating the Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel on Tripadvisor.com. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your wonderful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments have been shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel.

Best regards,


Scott Hagen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great location, great service but the rooms are like being in an igloo in the winter. I'm on my 2nd room and have had the heat on as high as it can go for close to 12 hours now and it's still like a freezer. Most uncomfortable temperature control I've ever had in a hotel room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Iviewguy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with the Trip Advisor community, your feedback is very important to us so we can correct any issues that our guests are experiencing. I apologize that you are having problems with the heater in your guestroom and I would like to assist you in getting this corrected, would you please be kind enough to contact me so we can identify what room you are staying in and get a maintenance person sent up to the room to get your heater operational.

Best regards,
Scott Hagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We always stay here when we go to Indy for events. It's walking distance to Lucas Oil Stadium and Banker's Life fieldhouse, as well as Circle Centre Mall and a lot of great restaraunts. Our last stay we booked with SPG points and when I called the confirm our reservation a few days prior, I asked about an email I recieved saying we could upgrade for a small fee, and the lady upgraded us for free. We stayed on the club floor and the club lounge was great. Complimentary soda and snacks as well as scheduled hors d'oeuvres which where tasty. Service is always friendly. My only dislike is that you have to pay for parking but I guess that's just the norm these days.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Indianaseth,

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our property. It is so exciting to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay here with us at the Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre. We are pleased that you took advantage of the convenience of our local restaurants, sports facilities, and shopping center.

We are certainly glad that we were able to accommodate you with a complimentary upgrade and that you were able to experience our wonderful club lounge. It’s those small gestures that truly create memories. Since we are in a metropolitan location, it is not unusual for hotels to charge a fee for parking.

We thank you for all of your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again next time you travel to our area.

Best Regards,

Scott Hagen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I'm an SPG Platinum member and I stay 50+ nights per year.

Pros:
- Location is close to everything downtown
- It's got parking (pay) attached
- The room was clean and looked nice

Cons:
- The walls are thin (I heard the 5:30 am wakeup call on one side and the 6:15 wake-up call on the other
- The bathroom was only slightly larger than a cruise ship bathroom (i.e. tiny)
- The wait at the front desk was consistently long
- The front-desk staff were all new-hires
- The toilet never flushed right, in spite of a call to "engineering"
- There was nearly constant traffic noises from outside

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear bvalentine002
We appreciate you posting a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We were thrilled to learn that you found your room to be clean and you thought it looked nice; our team takes great pride in providing our guests with a guest room that are in excellent condition.

We are dismayed to learn that you were inconvenienced by noise issues and that you also had a plumbing problem in your guest room, please accept our sincere apologies for the troubles you experienced. It would be very helpful if you would contact me directly so I could inquire what guest room that you so we can check this guest room out and resolve the issues you mentioned in this review.

We look forward to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,
Scott Hagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was our first time to Indianapolis and this location is great to walk to lots of different locations. You're one block away from Monumental Circle and about 5 blocks from great food and entertainment. Keep in mind that this is not a hotel you can visit through the skywalk but you can get to a neighborhood hotel and then walk on the street to the Sheraton. We went in December 2012 and it was snowing so being able to walk to many locations was great. We attended a football game and drove to a Kroger store about 3 miles away (easy access on GPS) to get tailgating supplies. Near the Indianapolis Zoo and the convention center and within walking distance of Lucas Oil Stadium. If you're writing a review because the hotel staff didn't pay enough attention to your needs, then you didn't get out enough to enjoy the great city of Indianapolis. I needed a nice bed, running hot water and clean towels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott H, General Manager at Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Angela5183,

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre with the Trip Advisor community. We were delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel and that you had a wonderful time in our great community.

We look forward to serving you again next time your travels bring you to our area.

Sincerely,
Scott Hagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel

Address: 31 West Ohio Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel offers a warm welcome in the heart of beautiful downtown Indianapolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Indianapolis
Indianapolis Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.