We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICKELED AND DIMED - NOTHING SPECIAL” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Severin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Severin Hotel to your Saves list
Omni Severin Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 West Jackson Place, Indianapolis, IN 46225 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #14 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“NICKELED AND DIMED - NOTHING SPECIAL”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

The Omni is a standard mildly upscale hotel, nothing special. The beds and pillows are fine, the rooms clean and conservative, and the staff nice is nice, albeit mildly inept.

Here's what soured me on the place: The wifi in my room was spotty so I had to move to a less desirable location. Apparently routers are only on every other floor - they may want to correct this, it's pretty easy to do. The business center charges $28/hr for computer use (?!), an obscene fee I've never experienced at any hotel I've stayed at, usually it's free. The last straw was when they wanted to charge me $175 for accepting pre-paid packages I had shipped to the hotel. All they did was store them in a closet for a day. I refused to pay and they relented.

There's lots of choices in downtown Indianapolis and you'd be wise to stay somewhere else. I cannot recommend this place --although clean and comfortable it left too many bad tastes in my mouth.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Severin Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
We are sorry for the WiFi issues you experienced and are working to improve the signal in all our rooms. We do have ethernet cords for a wired connection as another option. Our business center is powered by a third party that provide our kiosks at all our hotels. Prices for computer access are $7 for 15 minute increments. When it comes to receiving packages, we are a large hotel and receive many shipments daily from groups holding meetings. If a package is under 5 pounds, holding it is complimentary. Any package between 5 and 25 lbs. is a $10 holding fee. Any package 25 lbs. or larger is charged $25 per package. It certainly wasn't our intention to make you feel nickeled and dimed. We still hope you'll consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    329
    102
    53
    25
See reviews for
211
235
48
450
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for 6 nights and did not find a negative thing about this place. Room was great, bathrooms very good, views on one side awesome. Centrally located with a bridge to the mall and onwards to the rest of the city.
If you are a runner, take a jog along the canal - second only to running around Sydney harbour.
We used the conference room, catering first class but a big pylon in the middle of the room was a bit of a pain.
Bar staff and front desk very helpful and friendly. Bar a little pricey compared to nearby bars but not unexpected or over the top.
Value for money fantastic, if I ever get back to Indy I will be staying again.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Severin Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
We really appreciate the great feedback. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to having you back next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

This is a great hotel, and very centrally located. If you are traveling on business, I would highly recommend this hotel. The only downside is that within the property there are few amenities in the lobby area, but you can leave the hotel and walk less than a block to many good restaurants. This is a great hotel in an even better locations. Upgrade to the suite - it is worth it with a balcony.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite, especially in the summer when you can sit outside - it is huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Omni Severin last weekend. The hotel is located right downtown within walking distance of most everything we wanted to do. The room was very small with a tiny bathroom, but fine for my wife and me. It was clean and the bed was comfy. The TV was huge (bigger than the bathroom, actually). We didn't watch it much, but it was great for watching the NCAA highlights before bed. Only cons were a slow tub drain and no free wifi. Downtown was packed with St. Patrick's Day revelers, people attending the Pacers/Knicks game, and SuperCross fans (combining three Hoosier favorites: drinking, basketball, and loud noises), so the atmosphere was quite festive. We had a nice time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Severin Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
We're sorry the tub drain was an issue. Please let us know next time and we'll be happy to send an engineer to the room to fix the problem. Also we do charge for Wi-Fi, but if you join our Select Guest program it's free. You'll also get morning beverage service and newspaper and it's free to join.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Our friends recently got married & had their wedding at the Omni. Their wedding could not have been more elegant, and went off without a hitch. The food was absolutely fantastic, and the decor was stunning. Out of convenience, we decided to stay at the Omni for the long weekend. While our hotel room was nice, it was insanely small for $200/night. The bathroom was literally the size of a closet. So small that only one person could even be in there at a time. The one other aspect that did not sit well with us was that they put 1 random older couple on the same floor as the wedding party (including the soon-to-be groom & his family). This older couple proceeded to call hotel security numerous times, claiming that there were multiple parties going on (completely false accusation, but I do know the noise level was not exactly what I would call quiet.) Now, I have to question the hotel staff's judgement putting a random couple in a room on the same hall as 40 wedding guests.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Severin Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and the wedding. We do apologize for assigning a room on the wedding party floor to someone who wasn't in the party. We hope this incident won't deter you from staying with us next time you're in town. If you can provide more information on this we would greatly appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for an event at Lucas Oil Stadium, and was able to walk everyday.

Rooms were clean and comfy, room service and restaurant had great hours. Food was not so great- so many other great places a stone's throw away.

Very busy weekend and getting the car back from the Valet service was a bit frustrating, but everything else was spot on.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T.C., CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

At check-in the clerk acknowledged me as the "Expedia Rate guaranteed room"... Thought that was strange. Anyway, bell and desk staff were nice. The room was small but the Bathroom was tiny, most notably the sink area had no counter space whatsoever to place vanity items. It basically consisted of the sink top and no more. No place to hang towels either... just a little frustrating.
Would only stay at this property again if I could upgrade to a suite. Looks like there are several other cute hotels in the immediate area if you want to stay downtown Indy.

Room Tip: After asking for a corner or room with a view, clerk placed us on the 10th floor (view of the parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Severin Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
We're sorry that the bathrooms didn't have more space. As a historic hotel, some of our bathrooms have a smaller configuration. However our suites do feature larger bathrooms. Many of our suites have balconies with great views of the city as well. We hope you'll consider booking one next time you're in Indianapolis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Severin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Severin Hotel

Address: 40 West Jackson Place, Indianapolis, IN 46225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#8 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#19 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Severin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 424
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Omni Severin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Indianapolis
Omni Indianapolis
Indianapolis Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Severin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.