We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Severin Hotel

Save Saved
You added Omni Severin Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Omni Severin Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 West Jackson Place, Indianapolis, IN 46225 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #14 of 185 hotels in Indianapolis
Huber Heights, Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

To date this is the finest Hotel we're had the pleasure of visiting! The staff is helpful, efficient, and friendly. The hotel is beautiful. The reason for the visit was a shopping weekend, and what better than a hotel connected to the mall. The Circle Centre Mall is something to see in it's own right.
We had dinner via room service. great food, reasonable price, and said it would take a 1/2 hour to arrive, but came in 20 minutes. The breafast in the lobby's cafe was superb.
A most enjoyable trip. You will enjoy yourself there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    433
    262
    82
    39
    20
See reviews for
157
181
41
327
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed at the Omni Severin for our 14th wedding aniverssary. The entire staff from the Reservations, the Front Desk, the Room service, and Valet were extremely professional and very courteous. They trully have a speak it and it shall be done attitude.
This is our second time celebrating with the Omni, great both times. Their select guest perks are a welcome plus, beverages and newspaper, turndown service. The location of this hotel is better than others IMO. We also, like the balconies and the bi-level suites.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Severin Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
Thanks for choosing to celebrate your 14th wedding anniversary with us. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the new renovated rooms and the balconies. We hope you'll come back for your next celebration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

This hotel is amazing. Very clean, excellent service, great location. The breakfast buffet is incredibly expensive, but typical of what you get in a larger city.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Severin Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We have just taken our last two floors of non-renovated rooms out of order. Now any guest who stays with us will be in our new renovated rooms. We hope that all future guests agree with you in saying the hotel is amazing. Please come back next time you are in Indianapolis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

We live near Indianapolis but stayed downtown for a family wedding at the Omni. Everything was amazing from the suite we stayed to the actual wedding and reception. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and professional - and it was one of the most organized and stressfree weddings we have every been to.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

This hotel is currently under renovation. The King Bed room I had was new, very large, comfortable bed. Bathroom was large also, however the shower unit was from circa 1970 very tight quarters. Water pressure was a bit on the low side as well.
I used the fitness center which is located in the basement, newer equipment.
A couple of things that bothered me. 1) The $3.50 charge to deliver room service on top of the 21% added gratuity. 2) If your not a member of the the Omni Select program you will get charged 9.99 for wireless access. 3) No Hotel parking within the building, they hammer you for valet so if you want to self park, its across the street in a dungeon like facility or a public lot up the street. 4) there was some kind of construction going on outside the hotel which started at 7;30 am, it didnt bother me because I was up before that time but it would have been nice of the desk clerk to mention it cause it was loud.
If you are familar with downtown Indianapolis, most of the main hotels are conected via an indoor walk way so that pretty conveinent.
Now that I know the ins and outs of the property I would probably stay there again, just wouldnt use the room service or in house eateries.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Severin Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Thank you for taking time to write a review of the hotel. We do offer the Wi-Fi for $9.99/day, but it's free if you join our Select Guest program. And it's free to join and you get morning beverage service and free morning newspaper as well. Since we don't own our garage we pay for the use of a garage close to the hotel for valet. Any guest is more than welcome to self park downtown, but unfortunately we don't have self park on property. The construction nearby is for a new entertainment district that will be ready before the Super Bowl. Unfortunately we don't have a copy of the construction schedule, but know that only a few days of construction have been disrupting to our guests. We will try to get a copy of the construction schedule to alert guests if there are any days where the work will be noisier than usual. We hope you'll stay with us next time you are in Indianapolis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

We stayed here while Big 10 and Supercross were in town. We knew there would be lots of foot traffic in the halls at night and maybe some loud conversation as people came back to their rooms, but the yelling/fighting/pounding on doors went on until 5 a.m. and we never heard anyone from the hotel staff trying to do anything about it.

I chose NOT to call the front desk to complain, because my kids slept through all the nonsense in the hallway, and my talking on the phone would have woke them. We shared a wall with the elevator shaft, and it was quiet. (The one positive I can think of.)

We've stayed in a couple hotels right in the downtown area, and this one was by far the worst. It was most expensive, the rooms and beds were smallest. Other hotels (like Homewood Suites) have a nice big complimentary breakfast in the morning. Omni has a restaurant, but after spending $70 for a mediocre dining experience the night before, we weren't interested in finding out what breakfast would cost.

The staff was mostly nice, but with all the other things we found lacking, we won't be back.

The bathrooms are cheap and cheesy. They boast of marble and granite, but the toilet looks like something you'd see in a public restroom stall.
No exhaust fan in the bathroom.
No microwave. No mini-fridge with room for our things.(There was the minifridge w/ a key if you wanted to purchase from the minibar, but no room for anything else in there.)

If this was a lower or moderate-range hotel, some of these things would be understandable. But Omni seems pretty full of itself for such poor... well....everything.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Severin Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
We're sorry that there was so much late night activity in the hallways during your stay. We would have gladly sent security had we been informed of the noise, but we understand you didn't want to wake your children. We're sorry you didn't enjoy the size of our beds, but our king, queen and double beds are from Serta and are standard dimensions. We are currently in the middle of an $8 million renovation to improve all our guest rooms. While we understand the rooms may be a bit tired right now, they will be spectacular when the renovation is complete. We hope you might consider coming back when it is complete and seeing our new rooms for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terre haute, indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011 via mobile

Ok let me start by saying i received a great price on the hotel. 89 per night on the weekend is great. All the other reviews are right, hotel is clean, no unauthorized charges on our card, good location(except there is construction all around the hotel). My only complaint is, i booked a queen size bed, and we received a full size! we checked in last night after 11, so i was too tired to complain. when i called to tell them, they acted like i was crazy! i told multiple people this is not a queen bed, i have one at home. the front desk said "we have no double beds on the property" then told me they were completely booked except for a room with 2 double beds! i am outdone! at least be honest and say maybe we made a mistake! i am having a baby next month, and this was our little get away before he is born,and i wanted the bed to be great.we leave tomorrow.no one believes anything should be done about our problem.other than that, the hotel is ok, but be aware their "queen size" are really full size!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Omni Severin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Severin Hotel

Address: 40 West Jackson Place, Indianapolis, IN 46225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#9 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#12 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#20 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Severin Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Omni Severin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Indianapolis
Omni Indianapolis
Indianapolis Omni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Severin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.