We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel... minutes away from Lucas Oil” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Indianapolis North

Save Saved
You added Hilton Indianapolis North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Indianapolis North
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8181 North Shadeland Ave., Indianapolis, IN 46250   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #78 of 183 hotels in Indianapolis
GreenLeadersBronze level
Schaumburg, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel... minutes away from Lucas Oil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is a beautiful and clean hotel with friendly front desk staff.

Amazing breakfast with many tasty options.
Our room was clean and spacious .

25 minutes to Lucas Oil stadium and other downtown restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    88
    54
    27
    16
See reviews for
60
51
20
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Enid, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed at this hotel while on a business trip to Indianapolis. Jasmina at the checkin desk welcomed me by name and had me checked in within 2 minutes. She was extremely pleasant and courteous. The Fitness Center was very good. The room was very comfortable, but someone ought to rethink the narrow trash cans they put in these rooms. You can hardly fit anything into them. Normal round trash cans would hold 10 times the stuff. These look like someone stomped on them. The breakfast hostess was extremely nice. I'm only sorry I didn't get her name, but she made the breakfast experience wonderful. This hotel has an indoor pool, but no hot tub. Overall a very good Hilton property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I found a great deal from Expedia and stayed here for two nights. I did not found anything to complain about this stay. Everything worked fine, everyone was friendly and rooms were Hilton class.

Check in was fast, staff was friendly, hotel was clean, room was spacious and clean, bathroom included everywhere you could ask for, Internet connection is fast and they have a proper gym and indoor pool too. It's like 20 minute drive from downtown Indianapolis but there is lot of restaurants, stores and malls almost next door.

If I ever return to Indianapolis, this will be my choice for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I always stay at hampton Inns, but on Christmas night my town was facing the threat of a terrible snow. As a health care worker I was concerned that I wouldn't be able to get to work the next night, so after some discussion- my husband and I decided I would go and stay at the Hilton. We chose this hotel over the Drury right across the street (even though it was cheaper, newer, and had a free breakfast)- because Hilton and Hampton are owned by the same company and so we figured it would be the safest bet.

The person at the check in had a terrible attitude. I know it was 11pm on Christmas night, but hey- I didn't want to be there either. And the room!! The lamp was all COVERED in rust. The outlets on the desk didn't work, the desk was all saggy.. I did find one outlet behind a chair to plug in my phone and kindle.

The bathroom was nice and clean, also the room was very nice and warm. I had plenty of blankets and pillows. I did treat myself to roomservice for the first time and wow that was kinda cool.
The next day I did go down and ask if I needed a shovel to get my car out of it's spot, could I borrow one, again I was told rather rudely "we don't have things like that- we use snow blowers". So okay... I knew I would be on my own.
I wil say when I checked out that evening to go to work, they did 'pro-rate' the room for that 2nd night, - charge me like a late check out so to speak- seeing as it was 6pm. That was really very nice. That and the warmth/comfort of the bed are the only redeeming features.
Next time- will I remember that or the rudeness and rust?

Room Tip: I was on the end of the hall- That was far from the elevator and far from the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison S, General Manager at Hilton Indianapolis North, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I truly regret that you had a disappointing experience with some aspects of our hotel including our staff not providing you with the level of customer service you deserve. Your feedback is incredibly important to us and I can assure you that I have personally spoken to our staff regarding your comments. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve.

Again, I sincerely apologize if you went through any inconveniences and I hope that next time you are in town, you give us another opportunity to provide you with the exceptional service you deserve. Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We just spent 3 nights at the Hilton on Shadeland while in town for our family Christmas get together. Luckily, we had removed the gifts we brought for our family members and grandchild because our van was vandalized in the back parking lot of the hotel. The built in tv, dvd player, and GPS were removed as well as the gifts our children gave us were stolen from our vehicle after we returned to the hotel around 10:30 p.m. on 12/29/12. My husband had purchased a cashmere/wool Ralph Lauren coat earlier in the day and it was also taken. According to the young man at the front desk the next morning, no one else reported any vandalized vehicle. We have stayed at this hotel in the past as well as many other hotels in the northwest section of Indy and Fishers without any problems. Apparently, we happened to park in the wrong place on the wrong night, or the right place on the right night for the vandal(s). Not a very happy ending to our otherwise fun weekend with our family! The hotel does not have cameras in their parking lot nor are they responsible for any vehicle or items left in them (which is the standard), but we will try to park closer to the front door of any hotel we stay in the future. The policeman who came to the hotel after we called indicated that this is an area of town where vandalism happens frequently.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison S, General Manager at Hilton Indianapolis North, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I would like to apologize that your weekend was hindered by the vandalism of your car. We have a hotel security team that patrols our parking lot throughout the night as well as campus security. Since your stay we have increased the number and frequency of patrols each night. I realize this doesn't make up for your incident but wanted you to know that we are doing everything we can to keep it from repeating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlingame
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We were put up here by a company that was giving a training class. If you have no car, you have to rely on the hotel shuttle bus to take you anyplace within a 5 mile radius. That was okay, until we had to wait 20 minutes for 2 ladies to buy powerball tickets at a service station. There is really no restaurant. The restaurant is used only for breakfast, there is no lunch and dinner is in the small bar- menu is nothing more than typical bar food. We asked how to get downtown and were told to take a taxi at $50 one direction. When I inquired further, the clerk looked on the computer and found out that there was a bus just across the street. So granted it was almost an hour's ride, but we saved $46. The pool seemed nice and they had a small gym. Very long corridors and of course our room was a mile away. Room was large but the bathroom was small.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison S, General Manager at Hilton Indianapolis North, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback and I apologize our location wasn't convenient for your trip. We value reading your insight to improve our on-property experience. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

When I first pulled up to this location I was a bit thrown off as you pull right off the highway the ramp turns into the street the hotel is on, you just have to pay attention. Clean comfortable room with nice bed. They have an onsite restaurant and bar just off the lobby. Parking is free. The only thing I was disappointed in was that their fitness room was going under a makeover so they moved some limited eqiupment down to a room right off the lobby. They didnt have tredmills but did have a bike and two elipticile machines as well as small weights. Over all it was not a bad stay and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Indianapolis North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Indianapolis North

Address: 8181 North Shadeland Ave., Indianapolis, IN 46250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Indianapolis
#38 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Indianapolis North 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Hilton Indianapolis North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Indianapolis North Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Indianapolis North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.