We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Indianapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Indianapolis to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 South Capitol Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #30 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rochester, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Hotel and staff were very accommodating. Room was roomy and comfortable overlooking State Capitol. Across the street from the convention center. Well within walking distance of many attractions. Many things for my wife and son to visit while I attended convention.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    216
    81
    39
    30
See reviews for
83
113
40
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in July 2014. Hotel is easy to find and is in a great part of downtown with tons of restaurants, shopping, the convention center, and Lucas Oil Stadium within a very easy walk. Indianapolis has a lovely downtown and the Hyatt is in a great location to enjoy it all. We were traveling with 3 couples. Two couples arrived together well before check in. The front desk staff was very nice and made sure we got three rooms together on the same floor and allowed us to check into one room right away and called us when the other rooms were ready. The offered to keep our bags until the second room was ready but we opted to just put everything in the 1 room that was ready and sort it out later. Everything about the hotel was very clean and the lobby area is really beautiful. The room was smallish but had a very large nice bathroom with a huge shower. The bathroom had great ventilation and didn't steam up the way most hotel bathrooms do. They also had motion sensor night lights beside the bed which was nice. Also the bed was very comfortable. Since this is a higher end hotel, you'll have help unloading your car and taking your bags to/from your room. The gentlemen who assisted us were very nice. I believe the hotel was sold out the weekend we were there but the front desk was well staffed and I never saw a line. There were at times long lines and long waits for the elevators. But I suppose that's to be expected when people are coming and going at once for a large event. The only thing I didn't like was the parking. The parking garage below the hotel is small and was full when we arrived. After unloading, we parked 1 block over and took the skywalk back to the hotel. Our friends who arrived later had to park farther away as that garage also had filled. This wasn't a big deal when we arrived, but when we checked out it was kind of a pain. There were lots of people checking out at the same time and the loading/unloading area was full so we had to wait a while. If we had been parked in the hotel garage, we could have just carried our bags to the car and been on our way. Even with the parking inconvenience, I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you don't care about the view, try to get a room on a lower floor so you can walk down the st...
See more room tips
Green Features: Our bed was made but sheets not changed. Towels on the floor were replaced with fresh. Towels hanging on the hooks were left. This is what I expected. No need to wash sheets every single day.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear CincyChicka,

Thank you for the 5 Stars! We appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful and informational review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and our accommodating staff. The front desk works hard to ensure a smooth check-in for all of our guests. We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Keith Spinden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batesville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Just returned from a one night stay for my daughters college orientation. Great location in the city (EXCEPTIONAL LOCATION EXCEPT HAD TO WALK TO IUPUI). NO SHUTTLE.

FOOD- There are dozens of restaurants within 3 blocks in any direction and of any food variety. DO NOT EAT AT THE HOTEL (there are many restaurants in the hotel that are very expensive and microwave dinner quality). NOTE- ROOM SERVICE- Avoid if possible. Yes its expensive as expected but that isnt the issue. The food was bland, my meal came with a salad. I got the dressing but not the salad. I tried to call to ask for assistance but we waited so long they closed after we started eating.

LOCATION- There are many activities nearby,these are WALKABLE: State Capitol is next door, the Repertory Theatre is across the street, the Convention Center is a few blocks away as is Victory Field and The Eiteljorg Museum.

There are a few attractions MOST people can walk to (about a half mile away)-- Conseco Field House, Bankers Life Fieldhouse, Indiana State Museum, White River State Park, Lucas Oil Stadium. In addition the Indianapolis Zoo is 0.8 mile away.

HOTEL- Decor was modern and visually stimulating. Lobby and public areas clean, modern, and well designed. Exterior grounds impeccably clean. Hotel room on the smaller side but well used space. Climate control was exceptional. Room was very clean and creatively designed. THE BED AND PILLOWS AND LINENS ARE AMAZINGLY COMFORTABLE--I TRAVEL ALOT AND HAD THE BEST NIGHT SLEEP IN MANY MONTHS. VIEW- our view of the city skyline was simply incredible. SAFE AREA. HALLWAYS QUIET.

WI-FI had 2 options--FREE (which is sadly slow and not becoming of the Hyatt brand) $5 for high-speed access-- Really Hyatt? Is that $5 bucks that nickels and dimes your patrons worth diluting your reputation?

Parking is very expensive ($35 a day) which is higher than typical for Downtown City parking in the MidWest. The parking staff were very nice, prompt, and respectful.

Front desk staff were welcoming and informative. Quick check in even though I do not have Platinum status like I have with other chains.

A mini-fridge is provided. There was also a pool and business center but I didnt use either one.

OVERALL- I WISH COLLEGE WAS NOT SO EXPENSIVE--I WOULD LOVE TO STAY AT THIS HOTEL WITH MY 2 TEENAGERS AND EXPLORE THE CITY--IT IS A VERY NICE PLACE!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with city views--its awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Stayed two nights for a reunion event at the hotel. Excellent room, food and service. Only
downside was the somewhat expensive parking in the adjoining underground garage, but
probably not more than comparable locations.

Room Tip: Room next door had rather noisy occupants….but they quieted down fairly early in the evening. We w...
See more room tips
Green Features: Follows standard environmental-friendly practices which most hotels promote.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear William H,

Thank you for the 5 Star review! We appreciate your feedback, and we hope to see you again very soon.

Best Regards,
Keith Spinden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed here a couple of days while on business. Modern decor and a helpful staff. Guest rooms were of good size with room to spread out and work effectively. Location is right downtown in close proximity to restaurants and other attractions. Will consider staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This Hyatt appears to be very new, everything was very clean, neat and organized. Very easy access valet and check in. Excellent security, after 9:00PM every guest has to present a room key to enter the building. The room was excellent in every way. I used the workout facility and was very pleased. The ONLY, complaint is with 4 elevators it still takes a lot of time to get on one. I was on the 6th floor and I took the stairs once because of the wait.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I was here for a conference-- the outside of this hotel looks a bit dated, but I was pleasantly surprised when I went inside. It is nice inside, with a pretty water feature and glass elevator. The staff was friendly and helpful.
Room was a good size with a sitting area and a desk. Bathroom was fine, a tad small but with nice fixtures.
The location is right downtown, with lots of restaurants and shopping withing walking distance.
There's an express bus you can take to get to and from the airport for only $10 that will drop you right by the hotel.
The food at the hotel restaurant was also a welcome surprise- they have a nice salad, pasta and soup bar for lunch with good fresh options.
Room was nice and quite and no trouble sleeping.
A good choice!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear veenas,

Thank you for the great review! I am happy to hear you had a great stay and enjoyed our recent $50 Million update. Please come visit us again- we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Keith Spinden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Indianapolis

Address: 1 South Capitol Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#23 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#41 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Indianapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated downtown hotel with a soaring 20 story atrium and vibrant, contemporary decor. 497 renovated guest rooms with high speed Internet access and clean, modern design compliment 25,000 square feet of meeting space with T1 high speed Internet access. Guest rooms feature luxurious bedding, marble bathrooms, large workstation with ample lighting, ergonomic seating, two dual line phones, refrigerators, coffeemakers, irons & boards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Indianapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.