We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, so-so lobby” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Indianapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Indianapolis to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 South Capitol Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Explore Package
Ranked #27 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
US
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great staff, so-so lobby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice place overall:

On the plus side:
Reception was very prompt and professional. Conceirge and ready to help always there and friendly. I asked for a slightly late check out and was denied, except that I called later and was allowed.

Bathroom was exceptional..,not big but everything worked well and nice toileteries.. room was very nice too. I got a super view of the nearby state house. But, the room just accross from the elevators where I was, were terrible for noise from the elevators. I should have moved but....

lobby is kind of open and has a bit of a cold vibe...but certainly nice enough

also, housekeeping will knock at 830 and try to come it...a bit early for me!

Room Tip: stay away from the rooms ending in xx20. Ask for a view if possible tho Great, best organic plain y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear jidoo,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your recent stay. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our recently renovated guest rooms. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you have the opportunity to come back and stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Brian Comes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    205
    81
    37
    30
See reviews for
79
106
39
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Terre Haute, Indiana, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

love the hotel being so close to downtown. our room was clean and comfortable and the bed i so wanted to take it home.
the sad part was the fee they try to charge for internet usage. even the fast food and cheap motels offer this free. but no they want to charge you for it. a big negative in my view. also someone thought it would e great to have a dog that barked all night. it echoed through the halls. but somehow no staff from the hotel noticed. as clearly they have a no pet policy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hello Charles W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your recent stay. I am pleased to hear the you enjoyed our recently renovated guest rooms, and we appreciate your feedback. I hope that you come back and stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Brian Comes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Wonderful hotel. Clean friendly staff. Wifi could use a post. Great location, within walking distance of everything. Great value for a suite on the top floor. We look forward to staying again soon. The subway in the lobby had a strong smell and not many access doors open after hours.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Jake L,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review and for your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Indianapolis. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated guest rooms and our prime location in the center of downtown Indianapolis. We look forward to you staying with us again soon.

Best Regards,
Brian Comes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed here for a convention. I loved the location of the hotel. It is right in the middle of the city and I could walk everywhere. It was very convient to the convention center.

The service was very friendly and my room was very clean and comfortable. The bed was great.

NOTE: Valet parking is $30.00 a day. Self park at the hotel is $22.00. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND valet parking. The problem with self parking is: if you have to leave the parking structure for any reason, you will end up paying more than $30.00. Plus, the self parking is very confusing and hard to get around. You are better off Valet Parking.

NOTE: The elevators are very slow. One was always broke while we were there. One member of our party was trapped on the 10th floor with the elevator full for an hour. It took and emergency crew to get them out.

Location, service and cleanliness were great. They need to fix the elevator problem.

Room Tip: Note: A lower level room. Elevators are very slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear JeffreyTravel,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this is not the elevator service we wish to provide. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our prime location in the center of downtown Indianapolis. Please come back and stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,
Brian Comes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
189 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying here for the night and having a Sports conference at the hotel.

Hotel front desk and concierge were very helpful and friendly..

Circle centre mall is connected via sky bridge from hotel..

Room was decent size and furnishings were fresh...

Would stay again

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear caneshockey31,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review and for your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of our prime location, near Circle Centre Mall. Please come back and stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,
Brian Comes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

It was a good experience but the wifi needs beefing up! Kept losing it when watching movie by streaming on Netflix.
Staff was friendly rooms were good, food just ok
I like the new modern room arrangements

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Sadiemyprettylady,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your feedback. We hope that you come back and stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,
Brian Comes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was very pleased with the newly remodeled rooms at The Hyatt Regency downtown Indy. It doesn't look like anything special from the lobby but the rooms are trendy and comfortable. The guy at valet was even nice enough to tell us to ask for the $5 any where cab which only charges $5 to take you any where downtown. Good to know.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear nsvetor,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review and for your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated guest rooms and that our valet staff was able to assist you. Please come back and stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,
Brian Comes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Indianapolis

Address: 1 South Capitol Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#26 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#33 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Indianapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated downtown hotel with a soaring 20 story atrium and vibrant, contemporary decor. 497 renovated guest rooms with high speed Internet access and clean, modern design compliment 25,000 square feet of meeting space with T1 high speed Internet access. Guest rooms feature luxurious bedding, marble bathrooms, large workstation with ample lighting, ergonomic seating, two dual line phones, refrigerators, coffeemakers, irons & boards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Indianapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.