We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful facility” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Indianapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Indianapolis to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 South Capitol Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #23 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful facility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful location with easy walkway access to the Circle Center Mall food court. The facility was clean and the staff was great. Out only complaint would be the quality of rest! We slept very little and often woke with headaches. Otherwise it was an enjoyable week!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hello Younginitiative,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a flattering review and for your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our prime location in the center of downtown Indianapolis. We hope that you come back and stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,
Brian Comes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    225
    88
    40
    30
See reviews for
88
116
41
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Nice convenient location in the center of Indy. Quiet large rooms friendly staff. I found the staff to be very accommodating to my needs. I will be back. It is near the canal where it nice for a run or just a little stroll down the canal to enjoy yet city view.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Flyboydtw,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review and for your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to hear that our staff was so hospitable and that you were able to enjoy our prime location near the canal. Please come back and stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,
Brian Comes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hotel was very good to us and our schedule. We were able to check out late and the maids did not come knocking at the door. We were greeted with smiles and they answered every question. The hotel has a great swimming pool and hot tub. The fitness facility is unlike any I have seen. Each cardio machine has individual tv's. Free weights, weight machines, towels, water, and fold towels are all available.
We will deffinately stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Moo_bir,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review and for your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that our staff greeted you with authentic hospitality and that you enjoyed our fitness center. We look forward to your future stays with us.

Best Regard,
Brian Comes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is on top of things. The individuals in valet parking, front desk, room service, and house keeping were all very nice and friendly. The room was amazing and clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Christopher R,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to write such a kind review. I am pleased to hear that our staff provided you with authentic hospitality. Please come back to stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,
Brian Comes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here New Years Eve. We received an email saying we could arrive at 12:00 pm and check in early, the room was ready. We got to the hotel at 230, waited in the long line to check-in only to find out that our room wasn't ready, we could wait in the lobby and someone would call me on my cell phone, however when we did receive our call we'd have to get back in line and wait again. We waited in the lobby well over an hour and decided to jump back in line and find out what was taking so long. We got back up to the service desk and was advised that the room was in fact ready. I explained to the worker that no one had called and I had been waiting in the lobby for well over an hour. She apologized and quickly got us on our way. The room was clean and had a great view. The New Years Eve Bash was fantastic. The entertainment and food was terrific! I would highly recommend going to the New Years Eve festivities. I'm just very disappointed in the hotel. I received an email response from management last night who informed me the hotel room was ready the entire time, and wasn't sure why we were told it wasn't.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the Capitol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Heather B,

Thank you for taking the time and for your recent stay with us this New Year’s Eve. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this is not the service we wish to provide. I would like to thank you for bringing this to my attention. I hope that you do come back and stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,
Brian Comes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We made arrangements to stay 3 nights at the Indianapolis Hyatt Regency for a Colts Football game and for their New Years Eve Party....We have stayed at the JW Marriott, Indianapolis previously multiple times and decided to try something different...We were not disappointed and very pleased. Wonderful rooms, very clean, relaxed atmosphere and a very pleasant staff were several of the positive characteristics of this hotel. The New Years Eve Party was well organized, well managed, very secure and just a heck of a lot of fun. The hyatt Regency is is an outstanding location and makes it easy to get around town especially with the use of the stadium tunnel and sky walks that make the shopping mall and local places to eat very accessible! We travel alot and have been at some of the best hotels throughout the country and world and for whatever reasons, we really liked this hotel and the staff that made this a great experience. Price was very reasonable.

Room Tip: If you like a view...higher up is better, although you may pay a little more....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear philfromdayton,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review and for your recent stay. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our New Year’s Eve Party and our prime location near Lucas Oil Stadium. Your positive feedback is much appreciated and will be shared with our staff! Please come back and stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,
Brian Comes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I just expected more. I walked through the front door and the greeters completely missed my son and I. Checked in with no problem and had a pretty good stay with the following complaints. No concierge or anyone who could point me in the right direction when I needed. Only one clerk at desk during the most critical time, early Monday morning after a Sunday NFL game--go figure?? Despite the privacy hang tag, the maid entered my room. I had to knock on the staff only door to get someone to check me out and call a cab on Monday morning. Additionally, my entire party was checked out a day early for no apparent reason. The male lobby restrooms had 2 of 2 broken urinals. Lastly, my son inadvertently left the room door ajar for maybe 2 minutes and security guard met me at the door as I was closing it only to tell me that was a security violation. I'm not sure if he even knew how to spell security, but I am sure he does not know that most hotels have moved away from the antiquated anti-theft latch used my this hotel; and he was right, Hyatt committed a security violation. It's a really nice hotel but the manager probable does not have a clue about his/her failure to meet basic customer needs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear psharpton,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback as this is not the standard of service we wish to provide. I hope you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Best Regards,
Brian Comes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Indianapolis

Address: 1 South Capitol Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#14 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#21 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#41 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Indianapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated downtown hotel with a soaring 20 story atrium and vibrant, contemporary decor. 497 renovated guest rooms with high speed Internet access and clean, modern design compliment 25,000 square feet of meeting space with T1 high speed Internet access. Guest rooms feature luxurious bedding, marble bathrooms, large workstation with ample lighting, ergonomic seating, two dual line phones, refrigerators, coffeemakers, irons & boards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Regency Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Indianapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.