We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Stay Became Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Indianapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Indianapolis to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 South Capitol Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Indiana
1 review
“Terrible Stay Became Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We chose to stay at the Hyatt Regency for our Gencon 2012 trip, because of its location directly attached to the convention center. We made our reservations ahead of time, for a room for four, two double beds, Thursday through Sunday.

When we arrived at 10 AM on Thursday, we were told the rooms were not ready yet, and that the hotel would call us when they were ready. Fair enough. The hotel contacted us later that afternoon, and when we returned to the lobby, we were told that a room with two double beds was not available. The clerk gave us a room with one double bed, and had two rollaway beds sent up, as well as offering us a free breakfast card. Clearly, this was not what we paid for, especially when we saw it was a small, corner room that was obviously used for emergencies and extras. We took the room only because we would have had nowhere else to go, as Indy was mostly booked for Gencon.

That night (Thursday) one of us went down to the lobby and politely but firmly asked directly for a manager, and explained everything above. The night manager (I do not know his name, only that this was the night of August 16th, 2012) was wonderful. He told us that what had happened was not acceptable, and did the following:

- Discount on Thursday night's stay
- We would be given the correct room Friday
- Just leave our bags in the room, and the hotel will move everything for us.

On Friday, our things were in our new room by 10:30 AM. On Thursday, we had been pissed and ready to write four different nasty reviews of the hotel, especially since we could prove our reservations. On Friday, we were instead happy. After this point, and because of that manager, our stay was great. Everyone was friendly to us, including the car valets and the porters. When we wanted our car, it was there. When we needed help with piles of luggage, it was there. The pool and spa were clean and relaxing. The free breakfast (we still had that from earlier) was delicious and had many healthy options. Finally, the rooms were quiet and comfortable.

In conclusion, I recommend the hotel, not because of the good things that happened, but because of how the hotel handled the bad things that happened. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Tim K,

Thank you for your recent stay with us during GenCon and for taking the time to write such a kind review. I am pleased to hear that our team was able to turn your stay around and make your trip so enjoyable. Please let us know if there is anything else we can assist you with. We hope you will stay at the Hyatt again next year.

Best Regards,
Brian Comes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    264
    104
    46
    33
See reviews for
114
135
47
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great downtown location. Close to everything. It has a walkway to the Circle Center Mall. Staff was very friendly. They called me by name after the first day. The rooms were immacualte with great views.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear UglyHat,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a flattering review. I am pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of our prime location and that our staff made you feel so welcomed. Please come back and stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,
Brian Comes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Our initial room had a super noisy AC unit that clicked and whistled. At first they refused to move us and were pretty rude about it but after continued discussions they eventually moved us to a normal room.

Next was the worst part, the valet said to pay him for self park and he would put it to our account. I paid him and we parked the car. When we left there was no record of the payment. The Valet Manager and Front Desk mangers both were defensive, combative and offered no refund.

I've stayed at hotels around the world and of course including some Hyatts and I've never run into a problem were the managerial staff was so rude and unwilling to even try and be helpful. On top of that they basically right off the bat accused me of lying about the whole thing. It was nuts!

I was not crazy angry or anything when I approached them, it even took me a second to realize that this was not just a discussion but an actual aggressive confrontation. I was just not expecting that the managers to come off so accusatory and combative.

Terrible customer service by any standard, we won't ever be back which is no loss to us because Indy has many good hotels right downtown.

Room Tip: Some rooms are not mechanically updated and have old and noisy AC outlets as well some rooms are loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear AstroCat00,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your feedback. This is not the service that we wish to provide and I will be following up on this situation to ensure that it does not happen again. I am sorry to hear that this was your experience with us and I hope that you come back and stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Brian Comes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Staff was the best hotel staff I've ever seen. This is the nicest Hyatt I've stayed at too. Right in the heart of a very cute downtown and very luxurious. Every person says hello and helps over and above the expected. I can't say enough good things about this place. Try the brekfast buffet!!

Room Tip: A view of the city is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear PTandGeorge,

Thank you for your recent visit to Indianapolis and for your wonderful review. Our staff strives to provide authentic hospitality to every guest and I am pleased to hear of your experience. Please come back and stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,
Brian Comes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Level Contributor
149 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Nice hotel but no intetnet in room. They finally suggested I go to the lobby for internet because it is on a different network. How about fixing the network in the guest rooms? If you don't care about internet access you will be fine here

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear barbiflys,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologies that this was your experience as this is not the service we strive to provide. We appreciate your feedback and will make improvements.

Best Regards,
Brian Comes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Right downtown, walkway to Circle Center Mall. Steps from Government Buildings and easy to get to. Arrived for business, was able to self-park and check in quickly. Room was quiet and neat - beautiful elevator design. Fun little bar on first floor, bartenders were all great fun. Coffee shop in the lobby as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear pollygolightly2,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Hyatt Regency Indianapolis and for you flattering review. Our convenient location is one of our greatest attributes. It is a pleasure to hear you also enjoyed Level One Lounge and Starbucks. Please come back and stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Brian Comes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Co
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We were roadtripping MA-CO, and got a good priceline bid on a stay here. The night before we had an awful experience with a hotel in PA and this place was such a nice change. All of the staff were super friendly and chatty and nice - the room service guy brought icecream for our toddler and I talked to the valet about his upcoming honeymoon. The room was gorgeous and had a great view. The pool and hottub were such a treat and the pool had fun toys for my toddler to enjoy on our morning swim. He also really enjoyed the waterfall and windowed elevator. It's the little things, right? Room service food was fantastic, too - I highly recommend the white bean soup!
I know this might sound silly, but really, I have to find the pillows they have - they are *perfect*... just the right resistance to be snuggly but not suffocating. I want to buy one for my own bed!
It was a real treat and I will definitely try to come back on our next cross-country drive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear eeeniebean,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review and for your recent visit to Indianapolis. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff strives to provide a friendly and courteous environment and I am glad to hear that this was your experience. If you wish to purchase a Hyatt pillow for your home, visit Hyattathome.com. Please come back and stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,
Brian Comes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#33 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 1,102 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#13 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,430 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#9 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#2 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
Hilton Indianapolis
Hilton Indianapolis
#18 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Indianapolis

Address: 1 South Capitol Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#13 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#15 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#18 Best Value Hotel in Indianapolis
#35 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Indianapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated downtown hotel with a soaring 20 story atrium and vibrant, contemporary decor. 497 renovated guest rooms with high speed Internet access and clean, modern design compliment 25,000 square feet of meeting space with T1 high speed Internet access. Guest rooms feature luxurious bedding, marble bathrooms, large workstation with ample lighting, ergonomic seating, two dual line phones, refrigerators, coffeemakers, irons & boards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Indianapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.