We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but not for the price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Indianapolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Indianapolis to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 South Capitol Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Explore Package
Ranked #26 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Southern Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice, but not for the price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Stayed at the Hyatt Regency Indianapolis Oct. 15 & 16, 2011.
The hotel is going through a top to bottom renovation. The top four floors are finished and floors 16-12 are closed for renovation at this time.
We stayed on the 11th floor while some friends stayed on the "new" 20th floor. Our old room was still nice and clean, spacious and comfortable. There was no real control of the room temperature, only the fan. (We like to sleep at 65, not happenening here.) The tub / shower was nice. There is no vent fan in the bathroom. The rooms are all adjoining and at 8:30am someone from the room connected to ours tried very hard to come into our room. This woke me from what was otherwise a very good nights sleep. The bed was comfortable and sheets nice with a high thread count. The room had a large flat screen TV with a fair number of channels. Our friend's "new" room only had a walk-in shower, no tub. The power went out to half their room, and there was no phone service. I guess they still have to work out the bugs.
Overall the hotel was nice and clean with an excellent location. Downtown Indianapolis is beautiful with lots of shops and restaurants. Be forewarned, there is a bunch of major construction going on on several streets downtown. A lot of detours and closed sidewalks. It will be really nice when all the construction is finished for the Super Bowl.
There are numerous nice hotels downtown and I'd compare prices. The Hyatt was pricy for what we got, but the wedding reception we attended was held in one of the hotel ballrooms.
I will say the food served at the reception was excellent!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    205
    81
    37
    30
See reviews for
79
106
39
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irving, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Rooms at this property are *very* nice, very well appointed and comfortable--so the upcoming renovation should make things even nicer. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. But during the large convention we were there to attend, four elevators for a hotel of its size were simply not enough. Otherwise, location and surroundings were wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Recently attended large conference at Indy Convention Center. I personally stayed on the 13th floor The staff at the hotel was terrific. They have quick food solutions in the lobby for those on the go (Subway sandwich shop). They also have a great lounge on the top floor called the "Eagles Nest". Great place to see the city lights. There is direct interior access to the convention center via the sky bridge so you can get from the hotel to your meetings no matter the weather conditions. So all and all for business travel the Hyatt in Downtown Indy is a Home-run!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The overall cleanliness seemed OK in the room itself; but the bathrooms are in GREAT need of attention.......a bit on the gross side. The ceiling in the bathroom was the worst, I had to force myself to not look up. The floor of the tub was pretty bad, and fortunately they provided a rubber mat (which was in good condition, thank goodness).

The rest of the room seemed fine. Beds and linens were clean. Looks like they updated the wardrobe/closet & coffee area in the past 5 years as these were relatively modern and seemed newer than the rest of the room. Carpets appeared OK, no big stains or anything that seemed unclean. The hotel is beginning some massive renovation project, starting with the top/22nd floor & working it's way down. So there is hope! The lobby & bar areas are very nice, clean, and modern in style. Staff, again, was great in all areas.

Elevators are slow when there are conventions in town. If you ask for a lower floor you have better luck in getting up & down quicker (floor 5 is the lowest with rooms).

There is a Starbucks in the lobby, along with a Subway & Pizza place. Very convenient & a big bonus! Starbucks is only open from 6am - 12 noon each day though, so when you need that 3pm pick-me-up it's hotel coffee.....there are other hotels nearby with Starbucks inside the lobby as well & they are usually open later. JW Marriott has a very large Starbucks with seating areas all around.

All the hotels in the block are connected to the convention center via covered/inside walkways. It is oftena longer walk than going outside, but the option is there for rainy days - also nice if you are a lady with kong hair & want to avoid humidity & such before a long day in a convention booth!

Lot's of places to eat & drink in downtown Indy, so the need for a car can be skipped if you have transport to/from the airport. Shuttles can take 30 min for transport, and the indy airport seems pretty good for security, during a large convention we made it through security in less than 10 min (would have been OK to arriv 1hour before flight, we arrived with 2 hr & had time to eat).

Room Tip: Lower floor will help with elevator travel times (slow)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

This Hyatt has everything. I am a "hotel diva" - meaning I am very particular about hotels. The rooms at this Hyatt are spacious and clean. The hotel has a great ambience with it's open atrium, waterfalls, nice decor and really good restraunts. O/S is great for lunch! It also has Starbucks, Subway, a pizza shop, and other stores. It right in the heart of downtown Indy where there is so much to do. It is also across the street and connected through skywalks to Circle Center Mall. You can't go wrong. I stayed there part time by myself and part of the time with my family during the Final Four.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattindindianapolis, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
CRMays,

Thank you so much for recently staying with us and for your kind review of our hotel. It is our goal to provide an excellent experience for all of our guest. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Regards,

Brian Comes
General Manager
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Stayed here for a week. No one in the hotel was anything less than the best. Close to many great restaurants and attractions.

Room Tip: 18th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona Mountains
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

The room was very clean and the furnishings modern. The tv was a flat screen. The room was an odd angle shape, but very comfortable. It was just not a straight shot to the bathroom! The property was very convenient to everything downtown and connected with sky walks to the convention center and mall.

Room Tip: We asked for an upper floor room with a view and away from the downtown construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Indianapolis

Address: 1 South Capitol Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#26 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#32 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Indianapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated downtown hotel with a soaring 20 story atrium and vibrant, contemporary decor. 497 renovated guest rooms with high speed Internet access and clean, modern design compliment 25,000 square feet of meeting space with T1 high speed Internet access. Guest rooms feature luxurious bedding, marble bathrooms, large workstation with ample lighting, ergonomic seating, two dual line phones, refrigerators, coffeemakers, irons & boards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Indianapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.