We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   123 W Louisiana St, Indianapolis, IN 46225   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #68 of 183 hotels in Indianapolis
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Classic Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Only 3 floors this historical hotel which has a train carriage inside the building has character and is well laid out. The rooms are spacious and clean. The appearance is that of a modern welcoming hotel. Easy to access with a car with a prompt but expensive valet parking service. It is a few minutes walk to the Convention Centre and in the opposite direct you have many restaurants to visit. The hotel bar doesn't look over exciting but the range, quality and service provided was excellent. Wifi was free and was of a good quality.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are based inside the main hotel and not located to the outside. You get a good view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trina W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown Union Station as your place to stay in Indianapolis! We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. Trina W. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    171
    90
    47
    28
See reviews for
88
93
30
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartsburg, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The hotel was immaculate and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The location was within walking distance to restaurants, shopping, convention center (skywalk) and Lucas stadium. It was possible to get to the mall without going outside if you were willing to go the long way through the convention center - a plus if it starts raining while shopping. Parking was $30 a day with the valet service and you could leave and return. The parking nearby was $22.50 but you could not leave without repaying. There were interesting life sized sculptures of period train employees and passengers throughout the main floor. The free WiFi worked well for e-mail and social media. My room did not have a refrigerator or in-room safe.
I had difficulty sleeping through the various trains that went by the hotel - the room (367) would vibrate with each and the grids in the windows would rattle with some. It wasn't always particularly loud but a low frequency rumble with the vibration. Some seemed to not wake up but others indicated they found it bothersome. I, and others at the conference, found the bedding to be somewhat uncomfortable to start with so this made sleeping difficult. The pillows were too firm and were standard size on the queen beds. The larger versions of most pillows usually are more comfortable from my experience. I was hoping for bedding like the Marriott but that was not to be. The blankets were pristine white, very clean and nicely made up but were really heavy cotton blankets which were attractive but just uncomfortably heavy to sleep under. Others shared this opinion and took off as much bedding off the bed as possible each night. Other reviewers mentioned the sheets as being crinkly and they do have some stiffness to them. I didn't find them unpleasant - they just seemed to need more washings to get softer. Others mentioned the noise if the room was by the pool. Mine was but was on the third floor overlooking the pool. On Sat night there were a lot of families with children using the pool and it was reasonably loud. After ten pm it was silent. The indoor pool was small but did appear to have a lift for a disabled person. Those that used the pool seemed to really enjoy themselves from my view from my window. The window faced the atrium with the glass roof and had black out curtains as it was bright out there all night. The hotel was usually quiet but I could hear the guest's phone conversation next door better than I would have expected.
I would probably stay at the hotel again if only for a night or two as 5 nights with very little sleep was too long. They did have really wonderful apples at the front desk - that was a nice treat. I do feel it was one of the cleanest hotels I have stayed in and I have traveled quite a bit worldwide. If you love trains it would be fun to stay in one of the train car rooms.

Room Tip: It probably would be best to ask for a room furthest from the trains. Some of the rooms are quite a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trina W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Rest assured that your feedback will be taken into consideration in our efforts to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer. Trina W. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This is a nice hotel in a very convenient location. We stayed here prior to visiting the Indianapolis Zoo. It was very close to the zoo and we were pretty happy with the deal that we got from Hotwire for this hotel. Yes, there is train noise throughout the night and we were expecting that after reading the reviews. If you want complete silence, you are probably better off booking elsewhere. The train noise isn't unbearable but it is noticeable. The beds in our room were double beds so we opted to spend $20 for a rollaway bed. The bathroom could have used some updating as there were cracked tiles on the bathroom floor. We utilized the pool for a portion of the afternoon but the water in the pool was pretty chilly. Parking was a little pricy ($22 a day) so, if you plan to leave at all during the day, it would be cheaper to use the valet with in and out service. The overall atmosphere of the hotel was very cool and you kind of felt that like you were stepping back in time with all of the train decor and statutes. Overall, we would stay in this hotel again if we were able to get a similar deal on the room.

Room Tip: Request a higher room if you are worried about the train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trina W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We love hearing feedback about our newly renovated hotel and that you enjoyed our uniqueness. Rest assured that your feedback will be taken into consideration in our efforts to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer. Trina W. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Not a bad place if you like a train shooting through your room at all hours. A little bit out of the way for any walkable attractions or eateries. Room and staff so-so. But I think the worst is the noise. You can hear people walking outside your room. But again tough to sleep when a train rattles your bed.

Room Tip: another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trina W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. As our guest, your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced and we regret the issues you encountered with the room you received. Rest assured that your feedback will be taken into consideration in our efforts to continually monitor and improve thequality and services we offer. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and hope that you will consider us again on your next visit. Sincerely, Trina W. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The hotel itself has nice rooms, although the bathrooms are a little tight. I have not stayed in the railcar rooms but having the cars in the hotels creates a rather unique environment. Bar is okay but there are plenty of really great options in the neighborhood for food and drink. Staff is good, I think my checkin was under 4 minutes, I like that.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trina W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope to be your place to stay the next time you are in Indianapolis. Trina W. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I have to say WOW, I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. The Staff was professional, amazing actually....everyone kept saying "good morning" "hello" etc etc.....Midwest Hospitality. I was here for a 3 day business trip. The hotel is centrally located and you can walk to the webber grill, St. Elmos, and other fine eating establishments. The rooms were clean and nice, if you get room that is noisy due to trains just ask them to move you. I live by trains so I had a great view and loved it.

I have to say we had a big business, event and dinner at the hotel. I was wary at first...come on we all know hotel food can be sketchy at times. NOT HERE...the food was amazing, steak medallions, salmon, salad in a cheese bowl, food, food, food, it was all amazing. It was so good I was thanking everyone that was there cooking, and serving. Even our breakfasts were great. This is so unlike hotels I stay at in my sales territory I think I got really spoiled. Even the maids were smiling and said hello! What in the world? It was an great experience......Thank you again to every one at the Hotel you made my stay perfect!

Room Tip: If you get a noisy room train wise just ask them for a different one. No worries they are very accom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trina W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for the awesome review! It excites us that everything about your stay was great including the smiles, customer service & our food. Receiving reviews like this helps us show every employee that they matter and their role is an important part in our hotel. Trina W. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I stayed at this facility a couple of different times. Great place ms close to all of the downtown attractions.

The rooms are great - hopefully the train noises won't bother you throughout the night. They actually have train cars that you can stay in as well.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trina W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown Union Station as your place to stay in Indianapolis! Trina W. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)

Address: 123 W Louisiana St, Indianapolis, IN 46225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour. Listed in the National Register of Historic Places and located in the heart of downtown Indianapolis, the Crowne Plaza Hotel and Conference Center at Historic Union Station is 'housed within America's first Union Station.' Our hotel s downtown Indianapolis location is ideal. We re just steps away from both the Indiana Convention Center & Lucas Oil Stadium, home of the Indianapolis Colts & convenient to Bankers Life, home of the Pacers, Circle Centre Mall, The Indianapolis Zoo & White River Gardens, The Eiteljorg Museum, Indianapolis Motor Speedway & Hall of Fame Museum, NCAA Hall of Champions, The Children s Museum & downtown nightlife. Our Romanesque revival-style hotel features 273 guestrooms, Pullman's Restaurant & Lounge and over 50,000 sq ft of meeting space. We're best known for our 26 authentic Pullman traincar guestrooms named after prominent personalities from the early 1900's. Another popular feature of the hotel is the white fiberglass ghost travelers dressed in period clothing, and still lovingly haunting the premises. Our hotel is still an active train station, which enhances its ambiance and authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) Hotel Indianapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.