We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to Be Better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   123 W Louisiana St, Indianapolis, IN 46225   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #63 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Need to Be Better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

It's not that bad of a hotel. But I must say the restaurant food was pretty Good. I must say the hostess was the sweetest person I met that night. If I could remember her name was Michelle. She was very helpful, and I can tell she loves helping people as well. She need to be notice more as an employee, because her smile and her energy was just so good. My server was well also. I just think that the rooms should be a little more cleaner that's all. The bartender he was pretty good. I would come back.
Thank You Crown Plaza

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trina W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We love hearing positive feedback about our staff's service and also our new food items. Rest assured that your feedback will be taken into consideration in our efforts to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer. Trina W. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    179
    93
    47
    28
See reviews for
88
96
31
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfort, Illinois, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was an exceptional hotel. Service and staff were always right on top of assisting guests and offering help whenever asked.

The architecture of the hotel and unusual design from the old Union Station was interesting to see.

We were staying at this hotel with a group for a baseball tournament and were given access to the Executive Break Room. There was scrambled eggs, bacon, various breads and cereals to choose from. Beverages in a small cooler included apple, orange and grapefruit juice, plus water. I guess you could say it was a miniature version of a continental breakfast.
Also coffee and teas. I did not visit the room for the evening, but was told there were quesadillas and fries served. You could also grab a soda, Pepsi, Diet Pepsi and Sierra Mist were your choices.

The location in the downtown Indianapolis area allowed many choices for dining and shopping.

Would definitely recommend a stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor, room 128. At first I was a little worried when I saw the sitting area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trina W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown Union Station as your place to stay in Indianapolis! We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and hope to see you again soon! Trina W. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Located right next to Lucas Oil Stadium (home of the Indianapolis Colts) and just a few blocks from numerous shopping stores and restaurants. There is no on-site parking; you either have to pay for valet parking or pay for a parking spot in a nearby parking garage. We stayed in a train car. It looks just like the pictures posted by other reviewers. Very neat architecture and atmosphere. I wished that there was train/locomotive themed decoration inside the room. The rooms look like any run-of-the-mill hotel room. There is no complementary breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trina W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you so much for the 5 star review! We have recently upgraded our Executive Lounge and are happy to hear that you enjoyed it. Again thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown Union Station as your place to stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacogdoches
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice and truly enjoy it's uniqueness. The staff is friendly enough, convenient valet service, and there are restaurants inside the hotel although the food is not that great in my opinion. It doesn't really matter because you have so many restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. My room from July 3-7 was clean and comfortable as well as spacious except for the tiny bathroom. Most people complain about the noise from the trains but that is not what bothered me. My room 161 was right next to the pool and the pool was filled with screaming kids from opening time until closing time at 10pm. There is no going back to your room in the afternoon for a rest after shopping downtown because all you will hear is screaming children and parents yelling at their kids to stop splashing so much. Sometimes you might even get splashed walking to your room if you happen to have very unruly children playing. If screaming/splashing children is your thing then ask for a room by the pool. If not, ask for a room away from it. I plan on asking to be as far away as possible during my next stay. Yes, I loved this hotel enough to go back, screaming children and all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trina W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown Union Station as your place to stay in Indianapolis! Rest assured that your feedback will be taken into consideration in our efforts to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer. We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and glad that you will still stay with us again. Trina W. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We just returned from a two night stay at the Crown Plaza Union Station. The unique design and great location make this a good choice in Indianpolis. The train car rooms looked very interesting but we stayed in a second floor king room that was very nice. Loved the comfortable bed and free WiFi. The bathroom was small but clean and in good repair. We did have a slight mix up on a breakfast room service order but the staff was right on top of it and all was fixed within about 5 minutes when we were expecting it would take a half an hour at the minimum. The food was good, but not outstanding. The bar is pretty plain and probably just there for a convenience with so many other bars and clubs within short walking distance of the hotel. All in all we had a good stay and would recommend it in this price range.

Room Tip: our room on the second floor in the center of the hotel away from the pool end was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trina W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown Union Station as your place to stay in Indianapolis! We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Spent a week in the hotel for a convention. The staff was great and even willing to move us when the room we had was not as expected. Very convenient to downtown area and especially with walkway to convention center across the street. Only downside for us was the noise from the train but we were warned about it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trina W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown Union Station as your place to stay in Indianapolis! We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and hope to see you again soon! Trina W. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown is a must visit hotel. First the hotel union station theme is very interesting and nicely incorporated into the decoration. The fact that is hotel is actually right next to a working railroad stop makes the hotel a point interest during your stay. The staff was extremely help and friendly from beginning to end. They seem to go out of their way to be helpful by approaching you -- asking if you need assistance. I personally experience this welcoming spirit in every employee; housekeeping, bellman, front desk, chef, and wait staff.
The room were spacious and nicely decorated. I was upgraded to 1 bedroom suite during my stay while my friend stayed in the executive room. Both were spacious and had access to the executive lodge, where free water, soda, juice and snacks are available. Though, the trains could be noisy at times, it rumble is part of the ambience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trina W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown Union Station as your place to stay in Indianapolis! We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and hope to see you again soon! Trina W. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)

Address: 123 W Louisiana St, Indianapolis, IN 46225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour. Listed in the National Register of Historic Places and located in the heart of downtown Indianapolis, the Crowne Plaza Hotel and Conference Center at Historic Union Station is 'housed within America's first Union Station.' Our hotel s downtown Indianapolis location is ideal. We re just steps away from both the Indiana Convention Center & Lucas Oil Stadium, home of the Indianapolis Colts & convenient to Bankers Life, home of the Pacers, Circle Centre Mall, The Indianapolis Zoo & White River Gardens, The Eiteljorg Museum, Indianapolis Motor Speedway & Hall of Fame Museum, NCAA Hall of Champions, The Children s Museum & downtown nightlife. Our Romanesque revival-style hotel features 273 guestrooms, Pullman's Restaurant & Lounge and over 50,000 sq ft of meeting space. We're best known for our 26 authentic Pullman traincar guestrooms named after prominent personalities from the early 1900's. Another popular feature of the hotel is the white fiberglass ghost travelers dressed in period clothing, and still lovingly haunting the premises. Our hotel is still an active train station, which enhances its ambiance and authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) Hotel Indianapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.