We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel expects guests to just endure massive rennovation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   123 W Louisiana St, Indianapolis, IN 46225   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #63 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Wilmette, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel expects guests to just endure massive rennovation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I just got back from staying at the Crowne Plaza Indianapolis for a meeting. My room was okay but noisy. All the common areas were in bad shape. Construction everywhere. Temporary carpet on floors which was easy to trip on. Smelled of paint and dry wall, dust from construction. Air conditioning not fully functional in common areas. Always noisy. Pool not available. Hotel's response to guests is just to post "apology" notices around the hotel. Room rates not discounted nor any special coupons given to guests to make up for inconveniences. Instead, when I checked-in I was just told a list of things to expect such as train noise, construction noise, etc. Basically, hotel expects guests to pay full price and then just be good sports about all of the construction.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. I am very sorry that you had such a poor experience due to the renovation. It is not an easy process renovating a hotel while still in operation. We are addressing all issues, such as carpeting, air conditioning, etc, that you referred to during the renovation. It is not our goal to have our guests just endure the renovation. It is our goal to cause the least inconveinence possible during the renovation and accomodate our guests needs. I would like an opportunity to discuss further if you would be willing. Please send an email to indycrowne@genhotels.com to my attention. I look forward to hearing from you.

Mike Clark
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    185
    93
    50
    29
See reviews for
95
100
31
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Crowne Plaza Hotel - 123 W. Louisiana Street -Indianapolis, Indiana August 31- September 2, 2013
I just had my worst hotel experience ever and I have been renting hotel rooms for 40 years including many in third world countries so, that is a very hard to achieve rating a WORST EVER rating. 1) no air conditioning in hotel room for both nights just for starters 2) untrained staff trying to make a bad situation better actually, made it worse 3) loud construction beginning at 8:00 am Sunday morning. 4) direction to rooms mismarked
I could go on and on and on but I think you get the point and I would rather sleep in my car (would of at least been able to get some sleep) than to ever stay in a Crowne Plaza Hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am extremly sorry that you had such a poor experience at our hotel. The comments that you have made are critical issues that I would like to have to opportunity to investigate further if you are willing. Please send any additional feedback to indycrowne@genhotels.com.

Mike Clark
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

First thing they tell you when you check in: the hotel is under construction, plus its next to an active railroad, so it will be noisy. *sigh* "When do the trains come through?" I asked. They are freight trains so not on any particular schedule. *sigh*

I stayed here 4 nights for a recent business trip. The arrangements were made through corporate travel, so I had no idea about the construction or the trains.

On the plus side, the staff was so so helpful, and they did a good job keeping the place clean during construction. You'd never know there was anything going on until you went further into the hotel. The rooms are clean and reasonably spacious. I was not really inconvenienced by the construction, as it was done during the day while I was working. Note that the pool is currently closed though. The place is cute, with old Pullman train cars, evidently available as rooms.

On the negative side: noise and vibration from the railroad. When I first checked in, I was given a room on the backside of the hotel, close to the tracks. I stepped into my room just as the train was passing, it was incredibly noisy and the room was shaking. I went back to the desk and asked for a room at the front of the hotel, they switched me and it was much quieter (although I still had to push a chair against the window to stop it from vibrating when the train went by). If there had not been another room available I would have changed hotels.

So really just be forewarned, if you are a light sleeper, this place may not be for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am happy to hear the positive comments in regards to our staff. I am sorry that the active train station impacted your stay in a negative way. We are a historic building and our staff make an effort to make sure all of our guests are aware upon arrival to this fact.

Mike Clark
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My niece and I stayed at Crowne Plaza Union Station for one night and had a great time. Unfortunately this hotel was in the middle of a huge renovation and was quite dusty and noisy during our stay. Just the lobby area. Our room was perfectly clean and newly renovated and overlooked the pool. Fortunately, we got an awesome Hotwire deal, so the inconvenience of the torn apart lobby was of little concern to us.
The hotel is huge- so big it can get eerie at night, especially if your room is a distance from the central elevator area. Or if your niece decides she wants a self tour of the grand ballroom at 1 a.m!
Train enthusiasts would love this hotel as there are 2 full size trains on either side of of the hotel- INSIDE - and several of these cars are remodeled into actual hotel rooms. Families and groups would also love this hotel.The pool was awesome and nicely heated. It's walking distance to everything downtown and in a very safe nice area- right across from Lucas Oil stadium.
The staff are really what makes this such an enjoyable place to stay. Everyone we encountered went out of their way to be friendly and helpful! Especially one if the guest service reps( maybe Peter?) He went out of his way to locate an IPhone charger for me to use, so I wouldn't have to walk way out to my car to retrieve mine! Above and beyond!!
Since the hotel is being remodeled anyway, I would recommend removing most of the white statues representing the Union Station of days gone by... A few in the lobby would be fine, but suspended from beams, and some strangely perched on top of the train cars- that was creepy.
I would recommend this hotel and will stay there again, just may wait until the remodel is done!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you had a positive experience. We will be excited once the renovation is concluded and our new product will be enjoyed by all of our guests. In regards to the ghost statues, we have repaired several that have been damaged over the years and will be putting them throughout our hotel once the renovation is complete. The statue on top of the traincar goes with another statue that has recently been repaired. Once in place it will make more sense what is actually occurring. The history of this hotel is unique and very important to the staff of the hotel and the city of Indianapolis.

Mike Clark
Rooms Division Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewartsville, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This Hotel while somewhat normal has special railroad pullman cars set up as bedrooms with heavy reference to various celebrities. the hotel also have white statues of people of a bygone era doing different things and striking unusual poses.

Room Tip: Check the hotels notes to choose the right for you pullman car
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for the high rating that you gave our hotel. The statues, Pullman train car guest rooms, and our history are what make our hotel unique to other hotels in the area. The staff of our hotel take pride in our history and enjoy sharing fun facts with our guests.

Mike Clark
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batesville, IN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We did the family fun pack and did the zoo on a Wednesday, stayed the night and did the Children's Museum on Thursday. The room had been recently updated and was really nice. Kids were able to swim and hotel restaurant was very convenient to have with 3 small children. Short walk to the mall. Great value, 2 adult and 2 children tix to each the zoo and museum, plus one night stay saved us over $50 dollars during the peak season. Highly recommend for a last minute quick trip :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear that your family had a great experience at our hotel. Our Family Fun Adventure package is a great value to families traveling to Indianapolis to visit the Children's Museum and Indianapolis Zoo. I am glad that we were able to create a good experience during your visit.

Mike Clark
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Indianapolis for one night in August 2013. We thought the hotel was fine and we would probably stay at the hotel again after the construction is done. The pros and cons of our stay were:

Pros:
• The front desk staff, both at check-in and checkout were friendly and helpful. In fact, during checkout when my girlfriend told the woman behind the desk that she liked the spa products left in the room, she went and grabbed her a couple extra. Super nice of her to do that.
• The bellman that helped us on check-in was great. He got us ice, which we found out was about as far away as you could get and still be on the same floor and arranged for housekeeping to bring us up amenities that were missing from our room when we got there.
• The valet parking attendants were quick and professional.
• The king bed was comfortable and we slept well.
• The room was spacious and comfortable.
• As the hotel is the old train station, they have old train cars that have been converted to rooms. We didn’t stay in one, but I saw into one and they look very nice.
• The location of the hotel was fantastic. As others have mentioned, it has a covered walkway to Lucas Oil Stadium and the Convention Center. It is also within walking distance to anything in the downtown area – we saw a concert at the Banker’s Life Fieldhouse, where the Pacers play, the night we were there.
• We were given two free drinks at the bar, which helped after a long drive!

Cons:
• As I mentioned, there was a lot of construction going on in the hotel, which is good, I suppose, in that they are updating the property. It did, however, make the property seem a bit unwelcoming. I do, obviously, think when the work is done it will be much better.
• So, while the room was comfortable, the layout of the hotel itself, again being an old train station, is a bit unusual. Specifically, all the rooms, as far as I can tell, seem to look into the interior of the building. Even the train car rooms only have windows that look out onto the interior of the building. We didn’t mind, but if you want to see outside during your stay it doesn’t seem this is an option.
• We had stayed at a Holiday Inn the night before and had gotten a fridge brought up to our room at no charge. At the Crowne Plaza, a more expensive hotel, we were told that a fridge would be an extra $20/night. Luckily, as mentioned above, the bellman was great about bringing ice.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at the Crowne Plaza Indianapolis and would probably stay there again once the renovations are done. Because of the construction, however, I can only really give the hotel 3 stars at this point. And while I don’t really see this ever being a 5 star hotel, in my humble opinion, of course, I do think it will be a solid 4 once everything is done.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide specific feedback from your stay. I am happy that we provided a great experience for you despite the construction at our hotel. We are looking forward to the end of the renovation process and having an updated hotel to share with all of our guests. Guest feedback has been very important to this process as we are addressing items that guests have been communicating need improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)

Address: 123 W Louisiana St, Indianapolis, IN 46225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#53 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour. Listed in the National Register of Historic Places and located in the heart of downtown Indianapolis, the Crowne Plaza Hotel and Conference Center at Historic Union Station is 'housed within America's first Union Station.' Our hotel s downtown Indianapolis location is ideal. We re just steps away from both the Indiana Convention Center & Lucas Oil Stadium, home of the Indianapolis Colts & convenient to Bankers Life, home of the Pacers, Circle Centre Mall, The Indianapolis Zoo & White River Gardens, The Eiteljorg Museum, Indianapolis Motor Speedway & Hall of Fame Museum, NCAA Hall of Champions, The Children s Museum & downtown nightlife. Our Romanesque revival-style hotel features 273 guestrooms, Pullman's Restaurant & Lounge and over 50,000 sq ft of meeting space. We're best known for our 26 authentic Pullman traincar guestrooms named after prominent personalities from the early 1900's. Another popular feature of the hotel is the white fiberglass ghost travelers dressed in period clothing, and still lovingly haunting the premises. Our hotel is still an active train station, which enhances its ambiance and authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) Hotel Indianapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.