We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   123 W Louisiana St, Indianapolis, IN 46225   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #66 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Canton, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Although my stay was short, the service was excellent. There is no more convenient hotel in downtown Indianapolis. The rooms were clean and nice. The staff was exceedingly helpful. The bar, unfortunately, was not as nice as i would have liked, so we went elsewhere. All in all, I look forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. I am glad to hear the service you received was exceedingly helpful. Our renovation will be addressing the current look and feel of our lounge. I am sorry that you didn't have a positive impression of our lounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    175
    90
    47
    28
See reviews for
88
94
30
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed there for a great Hotwire rate ( love, love my Hotwire! ) and I had done my research on betterbidding.com and knew that this was one of the Hotels that I might get. This was the only option that made me nervous as previous reviews here noted that it could be noisy. But I took a chance and yup! this is what Hotwire booked me into. Oh well, it was for only one night and since I am local it was not like I had hours to drive the next day.

This property is in a great location. Close to the Lucas Oil Stadium, close to Circle Center Mall, close to bars and restaurants. The self parking is easy to get in and out of , better than most garages downtown.

The employees are great! Very friendly and I was happy that they gave me my room at 11 instead of the posted check in at 3, I did not request it but they offered. This let us throw the luggage in the room, park the car, and start our day. ( I originally went to the hotel desk to inquire about the self park and they gave me my room right then and there! ).

The room was one of those that have not been renovated but it was acceptable if a little tired looking. One thing I did not care for was the double beds. We were 2 to a bed so Queen would have been nicer. The bathroom is in dire need of help, it was clean but old...old tile, old fixtures, and the toliet seemed to like to clog. I could have used a plunger in the bathroom to fix matters...

Our rooms were on the north side of the property, overlooking the rail car rooms and we did not have any noise at all....nothing...which was a huge plus. I think the rooms on the south end are closer to the train station so it may be best to avoid that area.

The hotel was clean, our room was clean, and the current renovations did not disturb our stay. We just need a place to lay our heads after celebrating my daughter's 21st..and the hotel fit the bill nicely.

I will add that if I had paid rack rate I would have probably been peeved due to the quality of the room but since I did not I am happy with the value. I could not have stayed in a Motel 6 for what I got from Hotwire for this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing straight North, towards Circle Center Mall...we had no noise issues with train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Many of your comments are items that are being addressed as part of our renovation. Because of customer feedback like yours, were are replacing some of our double bedded rooms with double queen sized rooms. Also we are revitalizing our bathrooms with a more modern look and feel. Thank you for the positive comments regarding how you were treated by our staff. We understand that service is as important, if not more, than the product that we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was our second weekend stay at this hotel in the last year. We loved it. The hotel is currently under renovation and we're looking forward to seeing the rooms once they're updated. I love the feel of the hotel with statues throughout the hotel, and the steel girders overhead. We love walking past the train cars holding some of the hotel rooms. We learned during this stay that there's an ice rink were the local minor league hockey team plays just across the street. We look forward to many more stays at this hotel, especially after the rooms are renovated. I do hope that one day they'll put a hot tub back in!

Room Tip: We had a corner room near the pool on the ground level. It sounded like the group of kids in the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your honest and positve comments regarding your experience at our hotel. We are very excited about the current renovation that is underway. We are also repairing many of the statues that have been removed the last few years that had been vandalized. We look forward to your return visit the the transformed Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed here for business from April 15-19 of 2013. Unfortunately, I did not have the option of choosing my own hotel because this is not the hotel that I would ever choose to stay in.

The hotel itself is a neat concept...hotel inside an old train station with train cars as some of the rooms. Generally the hotel was clean, however, I did not venture to anywhere other then my room, the bar, and the gym.

BE WARNED that there is considerable construction going on! Also, only one elevator works.

Rooms: Very outdated and lacking. I had 2 double beds which were uncomfortable and the linens scratchy. The bathrooms were also outdated and disgusting (in my opinion). Water stains everywhere in the bathroom and throughout the room. You can also hear people pretty vividly through the walls.

Gym: nothing to write home about. Only aerobic machines and weight machines, no free weights.

Restaurant: the breakfast buffet was ok, again, nothing to write home about. To be honest, I would probably skip it all together and eat somewhere else.

Staff: They were all very helpful and nice. I don't have a single complain about the staff.

Overall: This place was terrible. For the same rate, I could have stayed in the Westin or Sheraton...but, like I said, I did not have that option.

Save your money and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and your positive comments about our staff. Our hotel is currently under renovation to update the look and feel of our hotel. The condition of your guest room is the reason our hotel is under renovation to bring us up to today's standards. I apologize that this visit did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern MI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

While the hotel looks nice and the whole train atmosphere is interesting, I was not pleased with the hotel. Our room was noisy and when it was mentioned to desk staff, i was told it was the train. It was not ... as it happened many, many times - it was more like a faulty air conditioner or something.
The hallways and lobby were warm and muggy (and it was only 70-80 out side in April). There was construction going on in the hotel but that didn't bother me at all as I was not in the hotel during the construction hours. They had a memo about what things would not be accessible - which explained where the working ice machines and vending areas were. Unfortunetly, the ice machine that was supposed to be working on our floor didnt' work either.
One of the elevators also stopped working during our stay.
I will not every stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry about the noise that you experienced during your stay that was not related to the trains. Your feedback will help our staff ask the correct questions as regards to noise so as not to assume that the train caused the noise. I appreciate you posting the comment about the ice machine that was not working. This was fixed as soon as it was reported to our staff. I also want to apologize for 1 of the 2 main elevators being out of service. Unfortunately, this is a major breakdown that occurred that cannot be predicted when it will occur. It is currently under a lengthy repair job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Knox, KY
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Pay the extra few dollars to stay the night in one of the real train cars! The conversion of the cars creates a unique experience for guests. We enjoyed the narrow but well-appointed "room" and it was extremely fun in a child-like way to climb on and off the car whenever we entered or exited the room. Have fun, embrace something different and stay in a train car!

Room Tip: Disabled guests should avoid train car rooms, very narrow and you must climb onto and off of the car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. The pullman traincars are the standout experience that you can only get when you stay at our hotel. There are no other Unique hotels in the city that compare to staying at the active Historic Union Station.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, New York, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

A fellow LT and I stopped in Indianapolis for the evening on the way from Ft Leonard Wood, MO to Ft Drum, NY not knowing exactly to expect with the hotel & train station all in one. I am a platinum elite priority club rewards so when I checked in they upgraded me to a suite and gave me 2 tickets for a free drink at the bar. The suite had an insanely small bathroom for any hotel room let alone a suite but it didn't really bother us. Room was older, but very clean. What we loved about this hotel besides the coolness of a railroad running through it is it's proximity to the bar district and lucoil stadium. It was only a 4-5 block walk to all the bars which were primarily situated in the same area. Kilroy's was awesome even after 11 on a Monday night. I would definitely stay here if I ever make it back to Indy. Can't beat the convenience of the awesome downtown location!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments. Our hotel is situated in a very convenient location to many of the fun things the City of Indianapolis has to offer our visitors. Not only are we blocks from popular restaurants and venues, we are also just a 10 minute drive to the Children's Musuem and about 5 minutes from the Indianapolis Zoo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)

Address: 123 W Louisiana St, Indianapolis, IN 46225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour. Listed in the National Register of Historic Places and located in the heart of downtown Indianapolis, the Crowne Plaza Hotel and Conference Center at Historic Union Station is 'housed within America's first Union Station.' Our hotel s downtown Indianapolis location is ideal. We re just steps away from both the Indiana Convention Center & Lucas Oil Stadium, home of the Indianapolis Colts & convenient to Bankers Life, home of the Pacers, Circle Centre Mall, The Indianapolis Zoo & White River Gardens, The Eiteljorg Museum, Indianapolis Motor Speedway & Hall of Fame Museum, NCAA Hall of Champions, The Children s Museum & downtown nightlife. Our Romanesque revival-style hotel features 273 guestrooms, Pullman's Restaurant & Lounge and over 50,000 sq ft of meeting space. We're best known for our 26 authentic Pullman traincar guestrooms named after prominent personalities from the early 1900's. Another popular feature of the hotel is the white fiberglass ghost travelers dressed in period clothing, and still lovingly haunting the premises. Our hotel is still an active train station, which enhances its ambiance and authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) Hotel Indianapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.