We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Unique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   123 W Louisiana St, Indianapolis, IN 46225   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #65 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
College Station, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

As mentioned by another reviewer below, I had NO idea what a neat place I was getting. I attended a convention, and was just happy that I was able to get a room that was adjacent to the convention center; I later learned that they are connected via a walkway.

The room was clean, quiet and well kept; I expected that. The staff was very attentive; I expected that as well. What I didn't expect was the very unique utilization of the old train station. From the three story lobby, complete with steel girders and figurines, to the room that are in actual rail cars (not mine, maybe next time), I have never seen anything like it.

The only SLIGHT mark, on an otherwise perfect stay, was the slow service at breakfast. As is often the case, the restaurant was overwhelmed at breakfast. It appears that there were only two waiters on duty. Ours did an admirable job of trying to keep up, but ultimately the service was slow and spotty. This would CERTAINLY not keep me from returning!

If you find yourself in downtown Indy. Be sure to check this one out!

Room Tip: I didn't stay in one, but the rooms inside old rail cars might be a lot of fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    179
    93
    47
    28
See reviews for
88
95
31
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Michigan
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

I traveled on business to Indianapolis with colleagues and had no idea what a great hotel at which I would be staying!! Just walking into the lobby was breathtaking (and I HAVE stayed at many very fine hotels!). This is a hotel which was, effectively, created from an old classic train station (Union Station--are ALL train stations called Union Station?) and the metamorphosis was VERY well done! The atrium area allows you to look up to 2nd floor and balcony and is very well decorated. The hotel also encompasses what used to be the large open train station area. What did they do with THAT area? They not only created some posh sitting and walking areas but, created very nice rooms built into TRAIN CARS!! What a cool concept. While I did NOT have one of these rooms, they were a joy to see. In certain areas they have statues of "train porters" and other classic characters and "poses" from a train station of a bygone era. Talk about recycling and creating something grand from something old and no onger used!! Wow!! The room was large and comfortable and service was very good. Stay here! Stay here! Stay here!!

Room Tip: From what I can see, ALL rooms are good. check out the "train" rooms, however--very cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDKKA, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Good Afternoon & Thank You for Your Interest,

First too answer your two questions, number #1, no not all train stations were Union Stations, the ones considered Union Stations were those that had service from more than one train line/company and Indiananpolis was the first Union Staion ever built and at one time server 16 different train lines that went all over the United States. Question #2, Indianapolis Union Station has three sections, the Headhouse (where our conference center is), the East Train Shed (which has several different business located in it), & the West Train Shed (where the hotel is located). The complex covers 3 city blocks from east to west and one city block from north to south. The Headhouse would be like Grand Central Station in New York, it is where you got your tickets, had a bite to eat, a beverage, and said your good bye or hello to friends and love ones. The East & West Train Sheds were where the loading platforms were located on the second level and all of the behind the scenes operations were on the first level beneath the tracks. Believe me, for a General Manager this has been a fantastic experience, the most fun and satisfaction my job has given me in a 37 year career.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and observations with us and so many other.

Take Care & Be Safe,

CDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 via mobile

First time I have stayed here and was very happy. Located downtown adjacent to the convention center and closest good hotel to new Colt's stadium and within walking distance to many restaurants, bars and nightclubs. Located at old train station they also have real train cars as rooms. Regular rooms clean and roomy. Everyone friendly, will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDKKA, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Hello & Good Afternoon,

Just a note to thank you for your kind comments and observations. As downtown Indy continues to evolve, we feel we are right where the action is. The city-center seems to be expanding to the South which gives our guests the best location to start and finish from. Thank you again for being our guest and we hope to see you again. We feel or believe that our hotel has a very unique atmosphere and ambiance along with a great team that loves to serve their guests, we are so happy that you enjoyed.

Take Care & Be Safe,
CDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Have stayed at this Hotel at least 10 times in the last 3 years. Always comfortable rooms, dark which is condusive to sleeping well! Just make sure that you are not on the end of the building- those rooms overlook the train tracks and are noisy! Pool and jacuzzi are very nice.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a quiet room away from the end of hotel where the trains run!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDKKA, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to to share your feelings and observations with us, we are so glad that you have been with us so many times and that we have been able to please you. As you know the trains are a challenge for us and we do our best to not hide the fact that we are still an active train station but we are. I do hope you will keep returning to stay with us and that we continue to make you one of our happy and loyal guests.

Take Care & Be Safe,
CDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011 via mobile

Location next to the convention centre is excellent.

First impressions, poor and dingy rooms.

Air conditioning is louder than the trains that run through the hotel like an earthquake. Not enough to supress the sounds of the next rooms guest snoring.

Air conditioning panel is loose.

No in room safe.

Shower is dreadful, spits out the head and bath tap at the same time. The tap was loose and stuck to the bottom of the bath is a non slip sheet which has come partially un stuck and when lifted reveals a disgusting collection of hairs and other body debris.

Bath and the sink don't want to drain away. Stayed in room 329 avoid at all vosts,the view is of an internal wall no natural light to talk of.

Hated the hotel it resembles Disneys tower of terror. Stay somewhere else...

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDKKA, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Good Afternoon,

I am very sorry that you did not care for our hotel, we are very unique in that we are built within a 150 building that is on the Historical Register. The owners mission was to preserve the building rather than watch it crumble and fall to the ground so they tried to incorporate the hotel in the West Train Shed of Union Station. I will say we are not perfect and we have some very unusual challenges but the specific issues you mentioned are just not acceptable and have been followed up on just after we receive your review. The information you provided was given to both the housekeeping department and the maintenance department to use as reference when taking care of our rooms. I wish to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and observations. Our goal is to learn from everything our guests share with us both good and not so good.

Thank You, Take Care, & Be Safe,
CDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

First of all, this hotel is in a fantastic location. It's next to Lucas Oil Stadium and The Convention Center. It's only a few blocks to Conseco, Circle Center Mall, and lots of restaurants (St. Elmo's Steak House, California Pizza Kitchen, Hard Rock). The valet staff was extremely helpful and timely and parking cost was 27 per night. The rooms themselves were good, but not the highlight of this hotel. I had a king room and the bed was comfortable, there was an alarm clock, coffee maker. The pool was small. There was a timely wake up call every morning. Breakfast at the restaurant was good. The juice was terrible for a hotel of this type. Coffee was great. There's a pretty nice sports bar in the hotel. There is wifi. If you are looking for quiet, maybe be somewhat careful because this is a train station and you can hear the train frequently. I didn't mind, but some people might.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDKKA, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Good Morning,

Just a note to thank you for sharing your comments with us and others. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and the staff made you feel welcome and comfortable. I will be sharing your observations and concerns (the juice) with those departments that can make use of them. Again Thank You for your time.

Take Care & Be Safe.

CDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vernon, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Loved this hotel. They let me check in at 8:30 am and go ahead and get my room. Hotel has one of the coolest interiors I have seen. Bed was comfy. Shower was AMAZING! Huge shower head, great pressure, and plenty of warm water. Also had a warming light in the bathroom. Nice large pool for a downtown city hotel. Had so much fun it it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CDKKA, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Hello & Good Afternoon,

Just a note to Thank You for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. It is always great to hear when we are hitting a homerun with our guests.

Take Care & Be Safe,

CDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station)

Address: 123 W Louisiana St, Indianapolis, IN 46225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour. Listed in the National Register of Historic Places and located in the heart of downtown Indianapolis, the Crowne Plaza Hotel and Conference Center at Historic Union Station is 'housed within America's first Union Station.' Our hotel s downtown Indianapolis location is ideal. We re just steps away from both the Indiana Convention Center & Lucas Oil Stadium, home of the Indianapolis Colts & convenient to Bankers Life, home of the Pacers, Circle Centre Mall, The Indianapolis Zoo & White River Gardens, The Eiteljorg Museum, Indianapolis Motor Speedway & Hall of Fame Museum, NCAA Hall of Champions, The Children s Museum & downtown nightlife. Our Romanesque revival-style hotel features 273 guestrooms, Pullman's Restaurant & Lounge and over 50,000 sq ft of meeting space. We're best known for our 26 authentic Pullman traincar guestrooms named after prominent personalities from the early 1900's. Another popular feature of the hotel is the white fiberglass ghost travelers dressed in period clothing, and still lovingly haunting the premises. Our hotel is still an active train station, which enhances its ambiance and authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station) Hotel Indianapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown (Union Station), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.