We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what you would expect from a Crowne Plaza” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2501 South High School Road, Indianapolis, IN 46241 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select Indianapolis Airport)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #58 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not what you would expect from a Crowne Plaza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport this past weekend and were disappointed in a couple of key areas. First, we were at the hotel all day with a group for a conference. We asked around noon if an early check-in would be available. It was not, and that is certainly understandable. We tried back at 2 pm, 3 pm...rooms still not ready. 4 pm, still no rooms. We were finally given an explanation that the rooms were clean, but that the hotel was having issues with the linens. We (not just my husband and myself, but several who were also in attendance at our conference) were finally allowed into our room at 5:30 pm, well past the hotels designated check-in time.

As the description states, the hotel is located near the airport, and the entire facility is in the direct flight path of landing planes when they come in from the East. This was not an issue for us, but we were amused to find that with the complimentary toiletries in the bathroom were two pairs of ear plugs. That is worth a mention for lighter sleepers.

A couple of service items to mention in addition to lack of explanation regarding the very delayed check-in. Many of us decided to wait it out in the bar, which was staffed by one bartender and no servers. The bartender often left the bar area and was gone for 10 minutes or so at a time. We did have a very nice lunch buffet, of which I have no complaints. We had a sit-down dinner in a conference room which consisted of baked pieces of chicken. During the serving of the main course our waiter dripped chicken grease/broth all down the front of a lady at our table. He offered very little in the way of an apology, but did retrieve a bottle of club soda when the lady asked for it.

The hotel itself was clean, our room was clean, the bed was nice. The indoor pool was closed, which made us glad that we had not brought our children. All in all I cannot, unfortunately, recommend this hotel for it's conference space or for it's accommodations. I personally feel that there are several other quality hotels within the immediate area, and the service we received on this trip would certainly make me look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Carrie G,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. It is great to know you were satisfied with our facilities and the lunch buffet. We regret the issues you had with the service you received. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward it to the appropriate departments for future considerations. We all hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    98
    51
    10
    13
See reviews for
57
41
28
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Welcoming friendly staff. Spacious king room with sitting area and work desk. Linens/bed were comfortable. Walls were a little thin as we could hear the conversation from the room next door. Planes landing didn't seem to be an issue.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
state college, pa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I found a great rate online and this hotel was definitely a good value for the money. A negative was getting a room without working air-conditioning, but I got in after 2am and was in no mood to move rooms until the next day. Mentioned the problem the next morning, but instead of moving me they sent a technician. He gave it his all but it wasn't fixed, and at that point I got a new room. I was patient through all of this and it took about 90 minutes of my time. When it was all said and done I figured they would offer a free breakfast voucher or something, but nothing. All in all, a pretty nice hotel that I would stay in again but these details in customer service could use addressing.

Room Tip: Ask at the desk what side of the hotel to park or you'll be walking a lot of long hallways!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Excellent for what you pay....convinient to the airport.....location not the most apealing but quite plesant when inside.........they serve food till late,......not the best breakfast(staff at restaurent was not the most welcoming and clearly did not have any interest in their job),,,,,,,,excellent room........reception staff was excellent and very helpfulllll!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Overall, this hotel was good enough, but we certainly had some bad experiences. When we arrived, we were "welcomed" by five or six police cars. We were never told what happened but there were two people handcuffed out front...not the best first impression.

The room was nice overall, although we woke up to a fairly sizable ant population on the nightstand. This hotel seems to be hit or miss, but we definitely were here when it missed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee H, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hello,

We are sorry that your stay with us was not enjoyable and understand your concerns. We take the safety of our guests very seriously. Very rarely do we have to contact authorities to assist with guest situations, however there are occasions when police assistance is necessary. We were proud of our staff when the police complimented them on how well they addressed the problem. We hope that this isolated innocent will not deter you from staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Clean, friendly, adequate, close to airport, shuttle to and from. Nice folks. Indoor pool and fitness facilities. Room was quiet, and able to darken for sleeping.

Has a Starbucks cafe in lobby for quick and convenient refreshments.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee H, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hi,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are happy to share that we have extended our Starbucks hours to 6am-6pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Eleven minutes from Indy 500, right on a main road. Indoor pool, bar, clean rooms. They have a special 'quiet floor' for members. plenty of parking. Good food near. Food available in hotel. i would reccommend on your next Indy 500 visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee H, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us over race weekend. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Indy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport

Address: 2501 South High School Road, Indianapolis, IN 46241 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select Indianapolis Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour. Welcome to the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport hotel!The Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport Hotel is located just minutes from the Indianapolis International Airport (IND) and offers free airport shuttle service.Our Indianapolis Airport hotel is a smoke-free full-service, atrium style hotel & conference center featuring free wireless high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel & versatile conference space, including an amphitheater & symposium. For casual dining enjoy American cuisine in The Landing Restaurant. When time is of the essence, try A Cup Above Coffee Bar & Bakery proudly pouring Starbucks Coffee or order through room service from 6 AM to 11 PM. Need to exercise? Our top notch fitness center & indoor heated pool await you. Located 8 miles from downtown & many nearby attractions, such as the Indiana Convention Center, Conseco Fieldhouse, Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Indianapolis Museum of Art, the Eiteljorg Museum, Indianapolis Zoo & Circle Centre Mall. Come experience simplified elegance and unparalleled level of service at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport Hotel Indianapolis
Holiday Inn Indianapolis
Indianapolis Crowne Plaza
Indianapolis Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.