We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unknown Jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2501 South High School Road, Indianapolis, IN 46241 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select Indianapolis Airport)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #56 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Danville, Indiana
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Unknown Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were here last Saturday, what a beautiful place, indoor pool, starbucks, lovely rooms. We were at a catered event so didn't get to try the hotel food but everything was nice, clean and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee H, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the time you spent here. We hope the next time you visit you get a chance to try our restaurant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    90
    47
    10
    13
See reviews for
55
38
28
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have delayed writing this review so I could be fair. We stayed in this hotel for a weekend for a seminar type event. I would agree that it deserved a three to a three and a half star rating. It was very neat and clean. The beds extremely comfortable and the rooms spacious enough. The decor of the public spaces were tasteful and simple. The pool always had ample towels and was a clean area. The carpets, flooring, and windows in the public spaces were immaculately clean. The housekeeping staff was well groomed and polite and efficient. The restaurant staff was friendly and accommodating. The folks at the front desk were friendly, but several times seemed understaffed as lines formed to wait for assistance. I have often seen a more uniformed appearance at the desk in other three and a half star hotels which may have given a better impression. We were very impressed that there was a special quiet floor where one could be assured that no circus or marching band would be assigned there! (according to the sign!!) How clever!! This was a model property.
Had this been our only experience this would have been an above average review. I hesitate to write about a bad experience because anything can happen and be human error. But since this was a review of OUR experience at this property, it is an honest review. Early the first morning, about 5 am, we were locked out of our bathroom by closing the door when someone came out. No one turned the lever but it was broken and malfunctioning. With no one in the bathroom, the door was closed and it was locked from the inside. We called down to the desk. They said they could not do anything until later when the maintenance came in. They indicated this had happened before and there was a special key or tool to unlock these doors, but no one had it until maintenance came in. They sent a housekeeper up with a coat hanger, ( at our request to try something) but since it was not a push button lock, no luck. They gave us a key to another room down the hall to use its restroom/shower until ours was fixed.. ( That bathroom door lock was also wobbly and loose.) So after only about five hours of sleep, and a morning fiasco, we had to get ready for our first meeting. Isn't it good we did not have a child locked in the bathroom with no one knowing how to unlock it? They assured us that maintenance would unlock it just as soon as they got in. Several hours later, before noon, I called to check on it and the desk said they thought it had been taken care of. The maintenance man came up to the room with the special tool, gave me a lesson on how locks work and said it was "no big deal. He acted like we did not know how to work a bathroom lock when in fact that lock was faulty and did become locked every few times you closed the door. He said he thought that we had checked out, so did not make it a priority to come up. We were scheduled to stay another day and had no plans to check out. But if I had not followed up and called again for this repair, it would have gone much later in the day. I just feel like a hotel room with no use of the restroom should be a priority for the service personnel. We had to go down the hall every time we needed to use the restroom or to shower and shave to get ready for the meetings. I don't think that was acceptable. It was better than packing up and moving rooms at five a.m. after only a few hours sleep so I am glad we did not do that. I don't think this is what everyone will experience at this hotel, but I think the front desk should have had the capability/ tool and training to open a door when locked especially if this was not the first time this had happened. So I am going to give it an average rating balancing between nice property and an unfortunate situation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee H, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hello,

Thank you so much for writing this review. The way that your situation was handled was not how we should have handled it and for that I apologize. We do use guest feedback to improve the service we provide. Thanks to your feedback we have made sure that all of our front desk staff has the proper tools to immediately take care of a problem such as this as well as the proper procedures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights with our son (5) and nephew (4). We had a great experience: clean room, quiet, free parking, indoor pool, fast service, and beautiful decor in lobby and rooms. If I had any recommendations it would be: better prices for breakfast, include a small safe or mini fridge.
Even though you are right near the airport, the sound is minimal (if in your room). The drive to downtown is 10 minutes away.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee H, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Hi,

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I appreciate your suggestions and will bring this review to our guest satisfaction meeting. Thanks again for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, USA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was my first time actually staying here but used this hotel for parking many times. This time decided to stay as we had a early flight and although I only live about 30 minutes away it was still nice to roll out of bed and go downstairs and grab the shuttle to catch our flight.

Check in was very pleasant and professional. The person checking me in gave me all the info I could possibly want about the property etc. Also, as a Priority Club Platinum was given and upgrade to and Executive Club room.

The room was much nicer than expected. Typically airport properties have some pretty basic furnishings etc. This room was very clean and well appointed with a fairly modern design. I couldnt reall find any fault with the room. Internet code was provided at check in and worked well.

I just popped into the club lounge to check it out and it was actually pretty nice. It is not going to compare to a club lounge in Europe or Asia but has some decent little snacks and soft drink on offer. For an Indianapolis airport hotel, about as good as it gets.

Location is actually not so bad if you want to stay at the airport but still want to go downtown for dinner or work. The hotel has extremely good access to I-465 and I-70 so you will be downtown in like 10 minutes. I dont see a taxi standing out at this property much when we are there but I am sure the front desk can call one for you pretty easily. The properties further to the west are probably better located for getting to the airport but you are probably only talking a few minutes difference so that different is minimal but those properties are not so easy to get downtown from.

We are pretty familiar with the shuttle and it leaves pretty much on schedule at the hotel at the top and bottom of the hour (:00 and :30) and quarter past the hour and half hour (:15 and :45). You can call if you like but think it will pretty much run at those times but maybe early in the morning or late at night it is best to call to make sure they know you are there.

For dining you are pretty much limited to the hotels restaurant if you dont have a car. As stated before though you can take a taxi downtown pretty easily and shouldnt be that expensive. Perhaps the hotel provides shuttle service downtown for a fee but did not inquire about it as we did not need it. I just wish properties would post their menus online so you can prepare for you stay better, especially for airport properties. Not like a link to a PDF file is so hard these days.

Overall, for an airport property this is above average in my opinion and think I will be staying the night before more often instead of just using the parking only.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee H, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Hi,

Thank you for your review. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Our desk is happy to arrange a taxi for our guests. We work with a local company to ensure our guest's get the best rates possible. Our shuttle also provides complimentary service within three miles of the hotel, this includes many fast food restaurants as well as a handful of sit down restaurants.

We are happy you will be returning!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Our one night at the Crowne Plaza was very nice. Yes, it's near the airport so you will occasionally get a pretty loud plane going by but not so bad that it's much to think about. The front desk and check-in were quick and friendly. We did not eat there so I can't comment on the food or the pool. We were really just there for an overnight onroute to another destination. But it was clean, beds were comfortable, nice bath, free internet that worked, and the TV worked, so that was all we needed! No complimentary breakfast, but that's a minor drawback. Overall, very nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee H, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hi,

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. We are glad to see that it met your expectations. We hope you will stay with us again when you can take advantage of the other amenities we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

I travel a lot for work and have not stayed at a crowne plaza in many years but I can say overall I had a nice stay. The rooms were clean and the beds were very nice. It is true about the planes flying at night and you hear it more on one side of the building than the other. However, the first morning I was there I had breakfast at their restaurant. First I was poured a cup of coffee and it looked like the bag had burst in it. I asked for another and the woman told me that's what Starbucks coffee looks like and if I would have just ordered their coffee it wouldn't be like that. I drink Starbucks just about everyday and there is not stuff floating around in it! Then when she brought me the cream for my coffee I watched her grab it off the table near us that someone had already used. When the meal came it wasn't any better. We were offered the breakfast buffet to begin with but everything looked old so we opted to order off the menu. The only fresh thing on our plates were the eggs. The potatoes and bacon were obviously taken off the buffet table. All I could eat were the eggs which were extremely salty. As soon as I arrived at my worksite I became deathly ill. I had to go back to my room for the rest of the day and could not stomach food until late in the evening. Therefore I wasted a day of work which is the whole reason why I was there. I like the hotel and will possibly stay at one again but I will NEVER eat the food again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee H, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for sharing this information with us. We certainly our guests to enjoy their entire stay in our hotel. Please know that our Food and Beverage Department has been made aware of your experience and that we take things like this very seriously. This is not how we run our restaurant and I do hope you will consider giving our restaurant another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

On my recent trip to Indianapolis, this stay was great. The front desk staff was wonderfull. Tamara in Room service was great and helpfull. She advise me on the best offers for the evening on food and specials. The front desk staff is alway great. The Landing restaurant has not friendly at all. But the Tamara, and Melisa at the front desk is the best in customer service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee H, Manager at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Hi,

We are please to hear that Tamara and Melissa made your stay extra special, we will be sure to pass this along to them. I am sorry to see that you didn't feel our restaurant staff was freindly, but please know I will be sure to pass this information along to the correct person. We want every part of your stay to be fantastic! Thank you for this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport

Address: 2501 South High School Road, Indianapolis, IN 46241 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select Indianapolis Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour. Welcome to the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport hotel!The Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport Hotel is located just minutes from the Indianapolis International Airport (IND) and offers free airport shuttle service.Our Indianapolis Airport hotel is a smoke-free full-service, atrium style hotel & conference center featuring free wireless high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel & versatile conference space, including an amphitheater & symposium. For casual dining enjoy American cuisine in The Landing Restaurant. When time is of the essence, try A Cup Above Coffee Bar & Bakery proudly pouring Starbucks Coffee or order through room service from 6 AM to 11 PM. Need to exercise? Our top notch fitness center & indoor heated pool await you. Located 8 miles from downtown & many nearby attractions, such as the Indiana Convention Center, Conseco Fieldhouse, Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Indianapolis Museum of Art, the Eiteljorg Museum, Indianapolis Zoo & Circle Centre Mall. Come experience simplified elegance and unparalleled level of service at Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport Hotel Indianapolis
Holiday Inn Indianapolis
Indianapolis Crowne Plaza
Indianapolis Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.