We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DOUBLE YUCK!!!!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Indianapolis-East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Indianapolis-East to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Indianapolis-East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2311 N. Shadeland Ave, Indianapolis, IN 46219   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points
Ranked #96 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Murray, Indiana, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“DOUBLE YUCK!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Drive as fast as you can away from here! I am sure your car is a cleaner place to sleep than one of these rooms! In these rooms you will find toenails on the floor, mystery stains on the chair, mold on the window sills, lots and lots of dirt and dust everywhere you look, blood on the wall, a trash can covering the stain on the floor, and a lovley vomit smell down the halway of the 3rd floor. If this sounds like a good time to you, go ahead and stay here. Heres another bit of information the hot tub was condemed the health department right after my husband and children got out of it. DISGUSTING! There were employees in there at the time of this and instead of informing them about this they politely waited until they got out to slap the big orange sign on the hot tub to say it was condemed. How thoughtful! Thanks again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vijay C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Indianapolis-East, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
First of all, thank you for your candid feedback of your stay with us. I appreciate you selecting our hotel. I understand that you were disappointed with some issues at our hotel specifically regarding the cleanliness of our hotel. I am sorry that you found that your room was not cleaned properly. I sincerely apologize that we did not meet expectations and I am actively working with our housekeeping team to ensure our standards of cleanliness and comfort are consistently met. We strive on providing our guests with a clean and comfortable stay and we will do everything we need to do to ensure that this issue does not occur again. I am always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guests experience and I will keep your review in mind.

Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    39
    31
    36
    13
See reviews for
51
33
7
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tate, Georgia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I travel all over and choose to stay at Hampton Inn's because they are usually reasonably priced, have a good hot breakfast, are safe and are USUALLY kept up very nicely. When I approached the registration desk, the young lady was playing with her phone and smiling at the phone. She acknowledged me without looking at me or smiling at me- oh, the irony. I asked her how she was and she said, "fine." end of story. Where have all the niceties in customer service gone or just plain old manners?

Someone needs to tell the management/owners of this facility the above.

The decor in my room was nice- dark wood, carpet in good condition, mini fridge in the room is a nice touch. The microwave has oily looking hand prints all over the door- that's what the cleaning crew is for!

I didn't appreciate finding hair and a common pin on the bathroom floor. I am glad I saw the pin before getting it stuck in my foot or there would have been problems.

The next time I am in the area I will not stay here.

The location is convenient to my destination.

My room faces the busy road and I can hear traffic whizzing by- I am sure sleep quality will be lacking. Thankfully I will only be here one night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAYTON
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The room was very clean and nicely decorated. I appreciated having the sofa for seating. The surroundings were quiet. The continental breakfast was only fair. Hotel staff was very friendly and accomodating. The exit road in front of the hotel places you conveniently across from I-70W.

Room Tip: My room was near the end of the hall so there was very little activity there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Little dingier than some Hamptons, same great service. Offered bottled water at check in. Fresh coffee and cookies. This hotel is a great location. Easy to get to and some great restaurants right down the road.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great hotel for the price and room. Good breakfast in the morning, with a to go breakfast if you are in a rush. Also offer tea and coffee all day. Ample parking. Nice, average size rooms. Fitness room is basic, but gets the job done.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

There was a used bar of soap, an empty shampoo bottle and a razor left on the side of the tub from previous guests. I found a pretzel in my bed. Have stayed at many Hampton Inns and this was by far the worst condition of a room I have ever had. Fitness center is a joke. Broken and damaged machines and no weights.

Room Tip: find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vijay C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Indianapolis-East, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest

First of all, thank you for your candid feedback of your stay with us. I apologize that we did not meet expectations and I am actively working with our housekeeping team to ensure our standards of cleanliness and comfort are consistently met. I was disappointed to read from your review that you found a used bar soap in your bathroom and your bed was not clean. We strive on providing our guests with a clean and comfortable stay and we will do everything we need to do to ensure that these issues are corrected. I am always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guests experience and I will keep your review in mind. Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

As another reviewer mentioned, there are a couple hundred school buses parked directly behind the hotel. Although the hotel cannot help this, the beeping from the back up alarms starts about 5:30am and continues throughout the morning. I left the property around 10am and they were still beeping. If you're a light sleeper, this isn't going to be the hotel for you. I assume this doesn't happen on the weekend, so it would probably be fine to stay Friday or Saturday night, or during school holidays.

My room was clean and comfortable, with nice linens. The shower didn't work perfectly, but I expect that was a unique issue for my room. The room was good sized and had a nice work area and a large TV.

I didn't try the breakfast, as the breakfast area was quite crowded, but there is a Bob Evans directly across the parking lot, and I ate there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vijay C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Indianapolis-East, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience during your stay with us. I wanted to take this opportunity to apologize in regards to the noise you encountered during your stay. I very much regret that the noise was disruptive to you and apologize that you're comfort was interrupted by the school buses behind our property.

Again, please accept my apologies and I do hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider staying at our location again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Indianapolis-East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Indianapolis-East

Address: 2311 N. Shadeland Ave, Indianapolis, IN 46219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Indianapolis-East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Indianapolis-East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Indianapolis East Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Indianapolis-East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.