We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Rooms, Bad Amenities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Indianapolis - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites by Hilton Indianapolis - Downtown to your Saves list
Embassy Suites by Hilton Indianapolis - Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free WiFi!
Ranked #76 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Indianapolis, United States
1 review
“Good Rooms, Bad Amenities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Embassy Suites has good rooms, but the amenities are lacking. Internet access is $12/day - and it went down, with customer service refusing to provide a discount or refund. The breakfast service is significantly worse than what you can get at the Drury Inn or similar hotels. We couldn't even get pillows for the fold-out couch in our room (no extra pillows were provided for it).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    220
    152
    94
    40
See reviews for
191
98
22
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This is our first stay at the Embassy Downtown. We traveled to Indianapolis for the MotoGP race on 8-10-14. It was easy to find the parking garage and get checked in. The desk attendant was pleasant and helpful. We traveled to the 14th floor and found our room easily.
The room was spacious with a small living area with fridge and wet bar. The sleeping area had another wash sink that was used while someone else was in the bathroom. This made the morning rush easier. The bed was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was small and looked quite dirty. The tub faucet leaked and there were rust stains in the tub. Everything worked well, but just seemed very old.
The hotel staff was friendly and the cleaning staff did a great job making up our room while away.
I would recommend staying at the Embassy Suites Downtown if being in a central location and value is important.
Thanks for a relaxing stay during a busy race weekend. See you next year.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I travel for work so I'm always in hotels. I tried this Embassy Suites downtown because it was close to my client. I think ES used to be the nice place to stay (from a chain perspective) but they are going downhill fast.
Bathrooms needed to be upgraded, tub needs to be reglazed or replaced and minimally an upgrade to carpet if not furnishings as well. Bed was awful. Another disappointing ES stay.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I've been staying at the Downtown Embassy Suites for several years now during the Gen Con gaming convention. I've always gotten great service, the free breakfast is always top notch, and the room is always great to come back to after a day of convention going. I will always recommend this hotel to friends and family!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We paid over $250 for one night stay. We stayed in one of the corner suites (it cost more so I was expecting something nice). The furniture was worn and looked dirty, the shower looked old/dirty and the walls needed cracks filled and new paint. This was a very expensive lesson.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESManagementTeam, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Indianapolis - Downtown, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback, and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with the condition of your guestroom. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us. We are taking your comments into consideration as we take the steps necessary to make it right for you and our future guests. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you if your travels bring you back to our area.

Brian Carey
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris Plains
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Overall the trip was good but the rooms are in need of updating. The pullout was uncomfortable and at that time the parking garage was under construction making it hard to find parking along with having to pay each day to park

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
217 hotel reviews
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This is not one of the better Embassy Suites. The downtown location is great, just a short walk over a skyway to the big shopping mall. Everything in the downtown area is just a short walk from the hotel, and there are many decent restaurants in the area, including a Weber Grill in the building. The hotel has the large interior courtyard and open view elevators standard for the chain, but you can tell it's been here for quite a while. It really shows its age. The lobby area seems to be from the 1970's, rather depressing. Our KIng Suite had all the normal Embassy Suites amenities, but was rather dark and, once again, shows its age. The room was fine for a one night stay, just not as impressive as most other Embassy Suites we've stayed in. There were two hot tubs in the indoor pool area, neither one of which was working (and the pool area was not very inviting).The front desk staff reminded me of a typical New York City hotel----businesslike and not particularly friendly (no issues here, just not a real friendly check-in process). The free breakfast was fine, with lots of choices and a large area of tables. There is an adjacent parking garage, and the parking fee is about what you expect for a downtown location. The garage also shows its age, and was undergoing major repairs while we were there. Overall, a decent place to stay given the excellent location, but it needs major work to brighten it up and service could be improved.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up have nice city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Indianapolis - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Indianapolis - Downtown

Address: 110 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Indianapolis - Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Indianapolis Downtown hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to many Indianapolis attractions. The new Lucas Oil Stadium and Conseco Fieldhouse are both just blocks away from our downtown Indianapolis hotel. The Indianapolis Motor Speedway is just 6 miles from the hotel. Our all-suite, full-service, upscale accommodations offer the ideal choice for the business or leisure traveler. Guests stay in a spacious two-room suite complete with a refrigerator, microwave oven and coffee maker. Our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and complimentary manager's reception are served daily in our lush open air atrium. Unwind and refresh in our indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, Hilton Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Indianapolis - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Indianapolis
Indianapolis Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites by Hilton Indianapolis - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.