We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“August stay 2014” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Indianapolis - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Indianapolis - Downtown to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Indianapolis - Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast, WiFi, & More!
Ranked #90 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Morris Plains
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“August stay 2014”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Overall the trip was good but the rooms are in need of updating. The pullout was uncomfortable and at that time the parking garage was under construction making it hard to find parking along with having to pay each day to park

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    176
    108
    81
    35
See reviews for
143
79
19
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
183 hotel reviews
Reviews in 175 cities Reviews in 175 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This is not one of the better Embassy Suites. The downtown location is great, just a short walk over a skyway to the big shopping mall. Everything in the downtown area is just a short walk from the hotel, and there are many decent restaurants in the area, including a Weber Grill in the building. The hotel has the large interior courtyard and open view elevators standard for the chain, but you can tell it's been here for quite a while. It really shows its age. The lobby area seems to be from the 1970's, rather depressing. Our KIng Suite had all the normal Embassy Suites amenities, but was rather dark and, once again, shows its age. The room was fine for a one night stay, just not as impressive as most other Embassy Suites we've stayed in. There were two hot tubs in the indoor pool area, neither one of which was working (and the pool area was not very inviting).The front desk staff reminded me of a typical New York City hotel----businesslike and not particularly friendly (no issues here, just not a real friendly check-in process). The free breakfast was fine, with lots of choices and a large area of tables. There is an adjacent parking garage, and the parking fee is about what you expect for a downtown location. The garage also shows its age, and was undergoing major repairs while we were there. Overall, a decent place to stay given the excellent location, but it needs major work to brighten it up and service could be improved.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up have nice city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schertz, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed 6 days for a conference and the first thing you notice is the excellent location. The Embassy suites is ideally located between Monument Circle, the Convention Center and other hotels in the area. The perk is all the unique dining and bar options you have all within minutes. In a word - Fantastic.

Took a cab to the hotel which is about 20 min from IND - good thing too. You'll never find the entrance to the hotel. There is little more than a service road in between buildings that runs to the entrance - if driving, get specific instructions. The hotel itself is a bit dated, but the atrium atmosphere never gets old. The frt desk staff is very helpful, friendly and professional. From arranging limo/taxi service, getting directions, or getting your laundry done, everything is done with a very friendly attitude.

The suites are spacious and clean. Bed was a bit spongy and the temp controls, like some older properties, cannot be adjusted during certain times of the year - be aware! There's nitpicky things like strange odors in the hallway and furniture that needs some TLC. Housekeeping was all over the place. One day they don't come until 3:30pm and others 8:30am. Room service was great and food is above average at Hilton properties, i.e pretty good.

Overall solid place, particularly if you're only using your room for shower and sleep. Dated but great location. Darn good value.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacklick, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel lived up to our expectations. Every Embassy suite that we book has been clean and the staff has been helpful. We attended a local convention and the hotel's location was perfect for accessing the convention facilities. I would highly recommend this hotel for every family travel need.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This particular Embassy Suites is "tired". They said it was refurbished - but I don't think they meant the rooms. The breakfast/bar area was nice. The entire lobby was updated and clean. The room/suite was on the small side and not the cleanest of hotel rooms. Carpet was shredded in corners. Wallpaper/paint in areas were peeled. The beds and bedding were great - Temperpedic - great comforter and pillow. Rooms need to be updated.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We have stayed here several times before. Average property/good location. We like staying @ Embassy Suites. Kids can go to bed and we still have a place to watch tv. Used Hilton Honors points for this stay. Wanted a king room, but was not available. Used almost 40,000 additional points A NIGHT to "upgrade" to Presidential Suite. (HHonors points are far from the best deal anyhow, but we have a lot to use.) Room 2006 is a total dump. Ripped couch cushions, peeling wallpaper old fixtures and a bed that is the worst that I have ever been in in any hotel chain. View is below average at best and is impaired by windows that were tinted by what looks to be my 10 year old. If you want to stay @ a Hilton property I would go next door to the Conrad. We did after one night of no sleep. Have not stayed at TripAdvisor #'s 85-143 in Indy, but 84 may be generous here. If you check in and get room 2006, just turn around and sleep in the car, you will have a better night.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESManagementTeam, Manager at Embassy Suites Indianapolis - Downtown, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. I appreciate your candor; we look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel. We are hoping to start renovation later this year to early next year. Once again thank you for your comments.

Brian Carey
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Embassy Suites in Indianapolis was absolutely terrible. Complete mess. terrible experience for my family. Hot tubs were not working. Door to our room did not even close properly. Beds and pillows were terrible. We left early to move to another town to get a decent room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESManagementTeam, Manager at Embassy Suites Indianapolis - Downtown, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
I am sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay. We apologize for the malfunctioning hot tubs and have reported your concerns to our maintenance team. We are in the process of replacing these. We will be sure to address the issues with the room amenities and hope you will consider giving us a second chance if you return to the area.

Brian Carey
Assistant Genereal Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Indianapolis - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Indianapolis - Downtown

Address: 110 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Indianapolis - Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Indianapolis Downtown hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to many Indianapolis attractions. The new Lucas Oil Stadium and Conseco Fieldhouse are both just blocks away from our downtown Indianapolis hotel. The Indianapolis Motor Speedway is just 6 miles from the hotel. Our all-suite, full-service, upscale accommodations offer the ideal choice for the business or leisure traveler. Guests stay in a spacious two-room suite complete with a refrigerator, microwave oven and coffee maker. Our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and complimentary manager's reception are served daily in our lush open air atrium. Unwind and refresh in our indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Indianapolis - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Indianapolis
Indianapolis Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Indianapolis - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.