We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Concert trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Indianapolis - Downtown

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Indianapolis - Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites Indianapolis - Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast, WiFi, & More!
Ranked #89 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Concert trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I would start off by saying I got a good rate for this hotel stay. The parking garage was horrible to get into with my suv and I got it scratched up. It cost $22.00 to park. The room we got the door didn't want to open easily so you had to kick the bottom to get it to open. The wood future was scratched up and dingy. Bathroom door had to be forcefully shut to close. In the months of May and October you are not allowed air or heat. Its freezing out being 30 degrees and we were offered a space heater or more blankets instead of taking the hotel air off neutral. So, you pay to be comfortable yet you freeze in your room. Decor was very outdated. Cheep furniture with plasticy tabs to open. Pillows sunk in every time you put your head down so you needed three to feel like you had one decent one. Breakfast was just ok, not up to other Embassy Suites standards. The last of communication or greeting or someone to help with bags to check-in. Lets just say we will not be staying here again. Even for the rate I got.

Green Features: All I saw was if you stayed longer than three days you could opt have your towels and lines refreshed. Oh yeah and they don't let you have heat on in October.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    176
    108
    79
    34
See reviews for
143
79
19
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The room was freezing, and a note on the thermostat stated that in October (and, I think, May) it's up to the hotel whether or not to provide heat in the rooms. We ended up running the hairdryer to make it tolerable while getting dressed. I could also clearly hear the normal volume conversation between the people in the room directly below. Literally sounded like there was a hole in the floor. Plus, the entire hotel is just ugly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESManagementTeam, Manager at Embassy Suites Indianapolis - Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. Please be assured that your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a comfortable stay. Your comments about the A/C unit will be addressed at our Maintenance Staff to resolve this immediately. In addition I understand that there were some disruptive noises you experienced from the guests next to your room. It is through feedback as yours that we evaluate ourselves and identify the areas where we can improve. I can assure you that your feedback has been taken into consideration and that we are actively looking at different options of better soundproofing our property.

Again, I thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel and I do hope that if you are ever in town, you consider

Brian Carey
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

After reading some of the reviews from this hotel I found our stay to be pretty pleasant. The location of the hotel was outstanding and the staff was great. The only problem we had is when you pay over 300.00 dollars a night for a room you should not have to pay 11.95 for internet every 24 hrs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The free breakfast buffet was "ok". I didn't really care for the paper-thin bacon and the scrambled eggs. The hotel lobby and rooms were just not what I have come to expect from the Hilton chain of hotels. The place just looks like it's from the eighties....nothing really modern about it. The room was clean though. The whole place could use some interior decorating...especially considering the price point.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESManagementTeam, Manager at Embassy Suites Indianapolis - Downtown, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. I appreciate your honesty and sincerely apologize if you found our properly to be somewhat dated and in need of renovations. We are always looking for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and our guest rooms as this is an area we are actively examining. I welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share.

Your business is very important to us and I sincerely hope that you give us another opportunity and consider returning again. We are always listening to our guests!

Brian Carey
Assistan General Managar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed here before, but never wrote a review. The hotel is on Washington which is right in the middle of things...near the circle. It is your standard Embassy Suites in terms of rooms, hotel layout and customer perks. The breakfast was OK...order some made to order eggs and a banana and you can't really go wrong. I passed on the cocktail hour both nights as I prefer not to get a hangover from 2 glasses of whatever generic vodka they pour.
Staff was friendly and helped with the few questions I had during my stay. Parking is self serve and $22 a day...not bad but I really don't like how you have to park, take the elevator down with your luggage, walk across the lot entrance, walk up stairs and then take an escalator to the front desk. They really should make a direct path on 3rd floor to avoid that, but that's probably not a fiscally prudent idea for he hotel.
I will continue to stay here if the Hilton, HGI or Conrad's rates are too high.
Also, it is attached to the Weber Grill and the hotel smells like a wonderful BBQ. If you like meat this beats any air freshener.

Room Tip: I was on 17 and had an OK view. Most ES rooms are exactly the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

from the sofa sleeper in half of the room that faces the hallway is extremely loud. you can hear everything that goes on on the first floor and every floor due to its wide open layout from the 1st to 20th floor. all the plates and silverware clanking together and people talking in the morning. every door that closes even on the other side of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Unless you want to stay in a room with cockroaches, I would suggest staying elsewhere. This is the worst Embassy Suites that I have ever seen. The pool was terrible, room service was terrible, breakfast was sub-par, manager's reception was lacking. The only thing that it has going for it is the location. But even then, the entrance to the hotel is awkward and difficult to get into- especially with small children.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESManagementTeam, Manager at Embassy Suites Indianapolis - Downtown, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review. I apologize if you found our room service to be lacking and our breakfast to be sup-par. The issues you experienced are not normally a reflection of the standards we hold ourselves to. Your feedback will be reviewed with our entire management team to be addressed immediately. I hope you will not let this isolated incident detour you from staying with us in the future. I am confident that given the opportunity, your next stay with us will be a more pleasant one.

Thank again you for your time and valued feedback.


Brian Carey
Assistant General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Indianapolis - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Indianapolis - Downtown

Address: 110 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Indianapolis - Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Indianapolis Downtown hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to many Indianapolis attractions. The new Lucas Oil Stadium and Conseco Fieldhouse are both just blocks away from our downtown Indianapolis hotel. The Indianapolis Motor Speedway is just 6 miles from the hotel. Our all-suite, full-service, upscale accommodations offer the ideal choice for the business or leisure traveler. Guests stay in a spacious two-room suite complete with a refrigerator, microwave oven and coffee maker. Our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and complimentary manager's reception are served daily in our lush open air atrium. Unwind and refresh in our indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Indianapolis - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Indianapolis
Indianapolis Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Indianapolis - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.