We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Indianapolis - Downtown

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Indianapolis - Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites Indianapolis - Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast, WiFi, & More!
Ranked #87 of 184 hotels in Indianapolis
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A nice place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The hotel was nice although in an awkward location. The room arrangements were nice for multiple people. The swimming pool was decent. Free breakfast and wifi would have added a great value to the stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESManagementTeam, Manager at Embassy Suites Indianapolis - Downtown, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review. We’re very sorry you experienced an undesirable level of customer service with us. The problems you mentioned the service have been addressed. We appreciate you alerting us to this issue and we hope you will give us a second chance if you return to the area and experience the excellent level of hospitality that the Embassy Suites brand is known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    170
    101
    75
    33
See reviews for
135
75
19
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My three sisters and I met in Indianapolis for our Fall Getaway trip and stayed at the downtown Embassy Suites. The location is excellent - within walking distance of restaurants, museums, canal, sports venues, mall, etc. However, it was very difficult to get into from the street level when we arrived on the airport shuttle. There are several steps leading up along the auto entry but it was very inconvenient with bags, etc. The complimentary breakfast was good, but the rooms were just okay. We usually stay at embassy Suites and customer service was a bit substandard for the price of the room at this location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESManagementTeam, Manager at Embassy Suites Indianapolis - Downtown, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review. We’re very sorry you experienced an undesirable level of customer service with us. The problems you mentioned the service have been addressed. We appreciate you alerting us to this issue and we hope you will give us a second chance if you return to the area and experience the excellent level of hospitality that the Embassy Suites brand is known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were in Indianapolis for the AWON(American WWII Orphans Network) 2012 National Conference 18 - 21 Oct. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel offers only suites which suited us just fine. Love the separate sitting/sleeping area. Also, it had a sink and make up area in one corner of our bedroom, or at least that is what I used it for. Everything was very clean and the staff were professional and friendly and always ready and willing to help us. The location of the hotel was perfect and was within walking distance of many sites and great restaurants. Plus...the hotel offers a full breakfast every morning which is included in the room rate. All rooms open to the Atrium which is on the 4th floor.

Room Tip: We were on the 17th floor in a corner room 1715 which had a great view of the street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed at the Embassy Suites downtown Indianapolis in September for a conference. Nice hotel - updated and very clean. Odd entrance - not on the street and you have to hike up a series of steps from the street to get to the hotel's front door. Other than that, it is well-located in easy walking distance of the convention center and other downtown locations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My family usually makes a trip to Indy every year for a Colts game, and every time we have stayed at the downtown Embassy Suites. I don't know if we will anymore - the rooms are nice and the location is great, but for the price, it is no longer worth it. The 'Manager's Reception' that ES are well-known for, was a joke. The food literally consisted of stale pretzels and one cheese spread. The line for drinks was so long, it wasn't even worth standing in it.

Even worse than the mediocre evening reception, were the two hot tubs! Filthiest I have ever seen in my life! When the jets were not on, the water was opaque. When they were on, the dirty froth overtook the whole operation! Seriously disgusting. The rooms were too expensive for this type of care by the hotel - the price used to be worth it.This location gives the whole Embassy Suites brand a bad name. There are plenty of other nice hotels in this area - stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: The rooms are nice, but all things considered - go elsewhere. I don't know what is going on at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESManagementTeam, Manager at Embassy Suites Indianapolis - Downtown, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
I sincerely apologize that we were unable to meet expectations and based upon your review I am actively participating with our housekeeping and maintenance staff to ensure this does not happen again. We hold ourselves to very high standards, just like our guests expect. I can assure you, we are working to make sure this doesn’t happen again. We’re also taking into consideration your feedback about the manager’s reception so we can enhance offerings and create a better experience for our guests. I hope that if your travels bring you back to the area that you will consider staying with us again. Thank you again; I appreciate your honest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

With their 1-bedroom suites, free happy hour and breakfast, Embassy Suites is a good deal for travelers. Because of these perks, this is a very busy hotel, as confirmed by the front-desk staff. This hotel is located right in the middle of downtown Indy in a great location, within walking distance of some great restaurants, shopping, and sightseeing. The room looked as though it had been re-done recently with newer carpet, spreads and drapes (or it's just in really good shape). Staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

While attending the NBMBAA conference, I stayed at Embassy Suites Indianapolis, downtown. It's a nice hotel - clean, updated room, new carpet, restaurant, comfortable bed, and of course hot comp breakfast. As others have said, it does require some PI work to find the entrance. You can enter by the mall or off the street by walking up some dimly lit stairs. Not the smartest design to get in at all.

Jeff the bartender provided superb customer service after I had a poor experience with a dish I ordered from the restaurant.

You can get to the convention center through the skywalk, but beware it takes a long time. It's a nice alternative when it's raining, but it's a very long winding road to get there and signage is not the best. Remember to look up as you're walking, way up.

Overall, this is a good location for shopping and general site seeing. If your main business is at the convention center or Lucas Oil Stadium, you might want to stay at a hotel closer to that venue at comparable rates.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Indianapolis - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Indianapolis - Downtown

Address: 110 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Indianapolis - Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Indianapolis Downtown hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to many Indianapolis attractions. The new Lucas Oil Stadium and Conseco Fieldhouse are both just blocks away from our downtown Indianapolis hotel. The Indianapolis Motor Speedway is just 6 miles from the hotel. Our all-suite, full-service, upscale accommodations offer the ideal choice for the business or leisure traveler. Guests stay in a spacious two-room suite complete with a refrigerator, microwave oven and coffee maker. Our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and complimentary manager's reception are served daily in our lush open air atrium. Unwind and refresh in our indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Indianapolis - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Indianapolis
Indianapolis Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Indianapolis - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.