We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Musty hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 East Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Old Musty hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Disappointed as not being up to LaQuinta standards. Very good location, but hotel is old and smells very musty. Very hard to get cart to unload luggage from car to room. Room clean, but not particularly attractive. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    117
    37
    20
    16
See reviews for
57
51
17
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Champaign
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thanks to the other Tripadvisor reviewer's the hotel was just as described. It did have a smell in the room, possibly from mold or pets it was really hard to tell. we had hair in our shower and on the rags for the shower. The hotel was very noisy until about 1am. The breakfast was mostly gone on our arrival downstairs and the orange juice was warm. The bed was comfortable and the room was mostly clean. It was close to the downtown area and we walked everywhere from there. The front staff was friendly. I would stay here again if in a pinch but there are better options.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We chose this hotel because it was close to Lucas Oil Stadium and about half the price of the other downtown hotels. You can take a cab to anywhere downtown for 5 bucks. It was clean and we had a nice stay. Would stay there again!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

La Quinta in my opinion was an average hotel facility. The rooms were clean, but did have a weird smell (I think this is because they allow pets). The wifi was awful- it was free, but we could not get reception in our room. The inclusive breakfast was great- they had all you could eat biscuits & gravy, waffle maker, cereal, pastries, etc. The location was relatively close and in a 15 minute walking distance to everything (Bankers Fieldhouse, Lucas Oil Stadium, Monument, etc). We will be returning this September for another Colts game.

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking/non pet friendly room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The remarks about it being 'outside of downtown' means it is two walking blocks from downtown...which is very walkable. Loved the old waffle makers at breakfast, but having those is a personal favorite. Our room was clean but musty smelling, so bring your own aromatics or scents to freshen it up. Coffee available 24 hrs. Staff friendly and helpful. Female cab driver available for female guests leaving at any hour. Nice plus.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boswell, Indiana
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I so appreciate LaQuinta accepting pets without an extra fee! We visited Indy recently with our dog to take her to a Bark in the Park event at Victory Field. I love that there is a place downtown you can stay with your pet without extra fees. I agree with another reviewer that Michael at the front desk was awesome. Very friendly and efficient and on top of everything. His service was fantastic. Room was fine for the price paid. Again, location is really good being walking distance to many sports arenas, bars/restaurants, and Circle Center Mall. Michael's great customer service, free parking and WiFi, and being pet friendly were the highlights. Very little soundproofing in the walls, esp. the exterior, was the downside. You could hear every car, motorcycle, siren like it was right by your bed. Just take ear plugs or white noice machine or stay on the side away from Washington Street. It was still a good stay because of the price paid for the downtown location and being pet friendly.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the south side of the hotel as the rooms facing Washington Street are very nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

It is right downtown but the carpeting is worn out. Expected more from La Quinta considering the room price. The elevator is a bit scary. No emerg phone or certificate of inspection in the elevator. Front desk was very courteous and helpful. Ample parking next to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown

Address: 401 East Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, LaQuinta, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Indianapolis Downtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown Hotel Indianapolis
Days Inn Indianapolis
Indianapolis Days Inn Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.