We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 East Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 185 hotels in Indianapolis
Warsaw,in
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just fine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Great location downtown. Perfect for an overnight stop. Was in Indy to see Eagles. Hotel staff were great. Room was just fine. Free parking right beside hotel. Not 5 star but great price and clean. All you need for quick night. Now it's not 200 a night so don't expect it to be the Hilton. Breakfast was free and just fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    85
    22
    15
    9
See reviews for
41
30
15
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hazard, Ky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was one of the worst experiences my husband and I have ever had at a hotel. We chose this hotel because it was closest to the Murat Theater, but whatever you do, pay the extra cab fee to get a ride there. I didn't feel safe stepping out of my car, much less walking to the venue.

So first, there was no parking in the allocated spots, so we went to the downstairs parking garage. MISTAKE. We were told by the hotel staff that there was ACID leaking from the ceiling and that we should probably move our car immediately.

Then we go to our room (elevator was shaky, but not a deal breaker at this point), and it smells like strong urine, acid, or cat urine. We contacted the front desk, and they said they had no other rooms available. After calling them again to ask about a refund, they decided that they had another room available. Hesitantly, we agreed to try this room. This one was two doors down from the original and just as bad.

We asked the clerk if we could get a refund so that we could leave, she said that she did not know how to do refunds and that we would have to come back and speak with the manager in the morning. So, my husband and I decided to take the risk of losing our money for a two night's stay and left.

After leaving and calming down, we contacted the corporate booking center, only to be hung up on 3 times and then being told that there was nothing they could do.

We went back to the hotel the following morning and spoke with the manager, Don. DON IS AMAZING. He is the only positive thing about this hotel. He gave us a full refund with no question.

Our conclusion: La Quinta Indy Downtown needs to be condemned and Don needs to be promoted to manager of the Marriot because he deserves a better hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was convenient, quiet, clean, and a good value. We could easily walk from the hotel to our destination. The desk clerk was very helpful. Breakfast was very decent. I used the workout room, too. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in August 2011 and this was nice. Very clean, covered parking and located an easy walk to the big downtown hotels and resteraunts. A good place. I would stay here again. Save a ton of money by staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

3 friends and I stayed at this particular La Quinta last week and weekend. It was Gen Con 2013 and that means gaming from 9am to midnight for 3 nights and a busy Sunday till leaving. We have stayed here before and it's placement is a perfect balance of placement and cost. It is close enough to the Convention Center to walk (about 5-6 blocks) while still being very reasonably priced compared to those closer. Don Barton (the front desk manager) was particularly helpful with information about the restaurants in the area. He also helped us with Taxis and room juggling when we found we had a change in our numbers and schedule. The staff is friendly and the service impeccable. After a long day at the convention this La Quinta was our Oasis for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Everyone was super friendly and helpful. One of the best stays we have ever had. Love the closeness to everything down. We were able to walk everywhere. Thank you for the great service. See you again next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown

Address: 401 East Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, LaQuinta, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown Hotel Indianapolis
La Quinta Inn And Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Days Inn Indianapolis
Indianapolis Days Inn Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.