We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T GO HERE” 2 of 5 stars
Review of El Rodeo

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Rodeo
2606 N High School Rd, Indianapolis, IN 46224-2910
(317) 328-7953
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #551 of 2,029 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“DON'T GO HERE”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Worst experience ever at an el rodeo! 2 friends and I love to go to a Mexican restaurant after work at times to have a beer queso and chips. I ordered a large queso, that was $6.99 by the way, but it did not come with chips bc they had already had 2 baskets complimentary with salsa prior to ordering the queso. They wanted us to pay for the chips because we hadn't ordered a meal. It was absolutely ridiculous. The manger was very rude and confrontational. He said do you get chips at Walmart when you buy queso. This el rodeo has a Very unprofessional staff including manager. Our total bill was $46 for 3 people. If that isn't enough to provide chips with their queso I don't know what would! Don't go here!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great food, nice family atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We met friends for dinner and we had a total of 5 kids, 3-10 yrs of age. Our server was fantastic and easy going despite our "busy" table. I liked the beautiful artwork and light ambiance.

My husband's enchilada suiza was amazing! There was a layer of spicy pork across the top of the green sauce. I ordered the pollo a la diabla and it too was fabulous. Very spicy and tasteful. Huge portion.

Lots of menu choices for kids.

No beer on tap. Chips and salsa were nothing special but the baskets were replenished every time we emptied them.

Service was fast.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“This is actually for El Rodeo on W. 86th St...Trip Advisor doesn't have so many rest. It gets a POOR in my grades!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Very average food and small portion. Only HOT sauce for cold stale chips. If you ask for mild sauce they bring warm sauce that tastes like italian ragu. Service was average at best. NO smiles from anyone working there. No one asked how my food was. I am still looking for a really GOOD Mexican restaurant on the Northside or downtown Indy. This is NOT it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food in Indianapolis!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stopped by this favorite after Catherne's dance recital last night. Enjoyed my usual Camarones a la Diablo! Hot and tasty as usual! Lorenza had pork Burrito Roquetas and Bart had Enchiladas Super Rancheras and we too took Steak and Shrimp Especialidades home for Oanh! All our go-to Favorites. Catherine had a cheese Quesadilla! Bart and I "shared" the Special 62 oz Pitcher of Lime Margarita! Glad we were close to home!

It was a busy Friday night but we got booth for four right away.

Whenever we are in Indianapolis we make sure we stop by this Favorite. Reminds us of our home in San Diego and it is very close to our son's home!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Indiana
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Food was good, however my drink was horrible. Serivce was slow when we were there, but the manager was working his butt off and he said people didn't show up to work.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Rodeo also viewed

 

Been to El Rodeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rodeo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.