We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourists in INDY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Northside Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Old Northside Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Old Northside Bed and Breakfast Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1340 N. Alabama St., Indianapolis, IN 46202-2524   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Indianapolis B&B and Inns
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tourists in INDY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

This was our first trip to Indy as tourists. In light of that, Old Northside was an excellent place to stay. The location was very convenient. Gary gave great driving directions to the sights we wanted to see. The room was comfortable, allowing for an peaceful nights sleep. The generous breakfast and pleasant conversation got our sight-seeing off to a happy start.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    9
    1
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
37
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenfield, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We bid on this at a silent auction. Living only approx 30 mins away, we went here for an anniversary getaway weekend. We were given the bridal suite. It was romantic with a quiet charm, It was very interesting to walk through the house. There were pictures of the proprietor and his family as well as many well known people. An interesting glimpse into the history of the family as well as the house. There were many, many videos to watch & things to do within the house. Being very close to downtown, we were able to go to a great place to eat easily, although there were so many wonderful snacks in the house, we didn't need to fill up elsewhere! I would absolutely go back here for the homemade cookies alone! (I took several with me when we left!) The breakfast was ready on our schedule & once again, homemade treats were the best. Banana Nut bread that was awesome. We enjoyed visiting with Gary & felt he was extremely accommodating to whatever was needed to make our stay enjoyable & memorable. We will recommend to friends & family who are visiting the Indianapolis area & hopefully will be able to make a trip back ourselves in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My wife and I were given a night's stay for our 50th wedding anniversary, and an interesting stay it was. Gary met us at the door and gave us a brief tour of the spacious old home built in 1885. It is modernized without sacrificing the charm of 10' ceilings and original woodwork throughout. He has a huge collection of movies to watch while snacking on homemade cookies and banana bread. The room we stayed in was spacious and clean and comfortable. We only regret arriving late so could not fully enjoy all the amenities that "Old Northside" has to offer. Breakfast was served at our schedule: omelets, bacon, fresh fruit, a wide assortment of cereals, breads, waffles, drinks and more. Gary is an interesting man to engage in discussion; he is well read, well traveled at home and abroad, has worked as menial labor (in college), has performed on stage singing and acting, is well versed in subjects ranging from politics to jewelry. This was truly a memorable experience, and we would do it all over again. The only con was lack of lighting on the street in general and visible house numbers after dark. My GPS said we had arrived, but short of checking each house for a number with a flashlight, they all looked the same. Gary just happened to be coming out of the from door as we drove slowly by and showed us to the parking area behind the house. If arriving after dark, look for triple globe light fixtures in the front yard! Sleep well; we did!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This Bed & Breakfast is still one of our favorites. The 24 hour snacks assortment, with homemade cookies included, and beverages readily available, The proprietor is friendly, and more than accommodating in every way, Private parking allows for added convenience and it is convenient to all events in downtown Indy,

Room Tip: Get a room with a Jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Pros: Location, off-street parking, the hostess.
Cons: Overall, the inn is oddly decorated. I counted 51 plastic flower arrangements in the common areas. There is so much stuff that you can't appreciate the fireplace, woodwork, architecture, etc. A good cleaning would help. Only saw our room (Tiffany) and the 'Wedding Suite.' Our room was as filled with as much stuff as the house, the bed was not comfortable, and the bathroom a bit crowded. The Wedding Suite was in the basement, no windows, musty, and not romantic at all!
Saving grace: We had great conversations with the hostess.
We will be looking for another B&B when we return to Indy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The charm of this Bed and Breakfast is never-ending. It starts with a knock at the back door, and we are greeted into the now familiar smell of baking cookies and banana bread. Our host has thought of every possible comfort, including a pantry full of sweet and salty snacks, soft drinks and the aforementioned cookies. Seasonal displays and a ginormous collection of video movies are found everywhere we look. The rooms are pristine, beds are comfy, and jacuzzi tubs are irresistible.

Equally charming are our fellow guests, and enjoying the wonderful breakfast family style gives another dimension to our stay..and we can never get enough of that banana bread. Our 5th visit. Hope for many more!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Had 15 family members in town for Thanksgiving and needed a "home away from home" for many of them. I contacted Gary, the Innkeeper, who was incredibly helpful in making arrangements and accommodating our needs. The rooms were private and comfortable. Gary's hospitality was supurb. They all raved about the cookie jar. Besides being a great place to stay, it is well located in a small neighboorhood just north of downtown Indianapolis but easy to get to I-65 or I-70 Off street parking was a major plus!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Northside Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Northside Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 1340 N. Alabama St., Indianapolis, IN 46202-2524
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Northside Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your Old Northside Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Northside Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.