We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great conference stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites And Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn & Suites And Conference Center to your Saves list
Sleep Inn & Suites And Conference Center
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1244 West 16th Street, Indianapolis, IN 46202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #49 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“Great conference stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We used this hotel to lodge a large group for a conference. Our team had a great stay at the Sleep Inn and a very productive visit to Indianapolis. The staff provided excellent hospitality and demonstrated great dedication to customer service. Their free shuttle service in the local area and downtown is a huge plus. We look forward to staying at your hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    17
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
10
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I took a trip to Indianapolis recently; local hotels were booked because of a Jehovah's Witnesses conference and this one was the few hotels in the area that had rooms available. We stayed one evening. Overall, I was very pleased with this hotel. The rooms were very clean, no plumbing problems, courteous staff, and a reasonable price. The hotel is located in an industrial area of Indianapolis with a golf club and residential area a few blocks away. It appeared that it was popular with parents with little children. The only disappointment:

We had a late arrival and were not impressed with the manager - he had a loose tie and was constantly chewing on a toothpick. This is NOT the way to project a professional image.

The pool is perfect for little children but not for adults. Not sure about wi-fi, but ethernet connections were present. Complimentary breakfast was very good. No AAA discount was given (we were told this was because of weekend stay).

If you're in Indianapolis, want to stay near downtown but don't want to put up with the nightlife, I recommend you seriously consider this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This hotel is fairly new and nicely appointed. The staff were professional and friendly. The double queen room was a good size for two adults and two children 9 & 7. The room could have used a second chair so we weren't all sitting on the beds. The gourmet cupcakes offered upon check in and each evening were fantastic. The healthy full breakfast choices were rotated daily. Specialty coffee, teas and hot chocolate were available any time. The pool area was a little stark and dark, cold and very tiny. It's capacity was 14 but it was chlorinated for 114. Both grand kids got out of the pool the first night after 15 minutes complaining of red, burning eyes. The first full day we were there we spent 8 hours at the children's museum. We returned exhausted, unlocked our room door to find our room was never made up. Very disappointing after a long day. My husband spoke to the front desk and was told they would speak with the manager to arrange compensation. Never happened. Just as a side note, the workmanship and furnishing choices throughout the building obviously went to the lowest bidder. Not sure how long it will be a "nicely appointed new hotel."

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms near elevators and vending machines. Breakfast room, lobby and pool are alread...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Took a trip to look at Butler University stayed at Sleep Inn. It is a newer hotel. The staff was very nice. The room was clean and quiet. The hotel is in an industrial area and there really isn't any places to eat near by. So you will have to drive a bit for food. They had free breakfast which was not bad. I would stay again, the price was a good value.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Perfect place to stay for any race weekend at IMS. I arrived Saturday afternoon and was not surprised at all by this hotel given previous reviews.

Very clean and comfortable hotel with plenty of parking. Comfortable beds, mini fridge, microwave and all up to date electronics. Bathroom was wonderful and brightly lit. The fitness room was enough to fulfill the fitness need and the indoor pool was nice as well. The breakfast here was above your normal hotel fare with lots of hot and cold choices and a variety of pastries.

This hotel is just a short drive from the downtown area and many trendy restaurants and bars.

The best part about this hotel and why I choose to stay here is the very close proximity to the IMS and the ease of coming and going on race day. This hotel is just a tad over 2 miles to track and the police have the area moving smoothly on race day starting in the very early AM hours.

This is a great hotel and I will be back again and again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest IN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

It was a short notice. We originally did not decide to stay in Indy for our appointment. But two days before the date husband and I decided to find a lodging to keep us from driving three hours and back home. So being a Choice member I went online and checked the closest Choice hotel/motel to my place of appointment and I found only one. Sleep Inn. Never stayed in one but always stayed at either Quality Inn or Comfort Inn when we do because of their overall high facility quality. But the Sleep Inn was a mile away from my appointment like a straight shot I could not believe the proximity. So I booked for one night. The motel clerks were average in their customer service on the phone. I called to make sure the reservation went through after a few hours. They asked us what time we will be arriving and we said PM. When we got to Indy from I-70 West we took just some local road about 15 minutes from the expressway and GPS made that quite convenient.
Then we saw Sleep Inn from a distance for the first time it looked new and clean on the outside with ample parking and a nice huge welcoming facade for cars to pull up in front of the lobby. The landscaped areas were neatly maintained. First impression for me ...excellent so far. When we came in the automatic sliding doors welcomed us into the most spacious expansive foyer and lounged area Ive ever seen compared to the standard for most inns and motels. The front desk was right at the end of the foyer about 30 feet away. It reflected an open concept design overall so in one visual scan you can see practically every living area identified by their furnitures, the living room, the open computer area the second lounge the front desk and office behind it, and then towards the far right the huge dining area and kitchen for the breakfast buffet. To the left one can see the hall that leads to all the rooms up the 4 levels. The floors are quite impressive appear to be made of either marble or fine shiny ceramic tiles with ornate designs, really impressive. The whole lobby area has very high ceiling and lots of recessed lighting that makes one feel like they are in a hotel instead.

On the first floor they have a small indoor pool room just OK for me, and nearby a small exercise room with a few treadmills and flat screen TV. They also placed faux traditional Italian style fireplace in the lobby with a huge flat screen TV on top. Very chic indeed.

Then we went up to our room on the second floor via a nice size elevator with partial wood paneling and still smell kind of new. Our room 209, was as I expected quite modern like Comfort Inn. I love it. The whole streamline design with only things you need. Its actually a long room because we had two queen beds in the room and there was a foot or so between the beds and the middle end table. I would prefer that the beds could have been moved closer to the end table in the middle. Everything else is in place happily for us otherwise. The room air condition was great quality, I love the simple clean design of the bed covers, all white except for the foot liner that was black linen strip with modern floral design. The overall decor was excellent even the design of the carpet in the hall and in side the room. For me what's also notable was having 4 very comfy pillows as usual for each bed which is pretty typical for Choice hotels. I love having more pillows. I took a picture of the window treatment in the room because it was also simple colorwise and fabric use and it gave the ambience of simple elegance, a light brown three layer simple fabric paneling draped the top of bay window and a see through white curtain with white slightly opaque wide stripes, from ceiling to floor made the room felt airy and light. They also installed a white solid curtain for complete light blocking very convenient if one wants to keep the room dark. The flat screen TV is huge about 40+ in size. Standard cable network choices. Excellent wifi experience for me so far. And it sits on a very simple streamlined one unit table and cabinet structure made of dark brown wood . Has small microwave and good size small fridge with freezer. The coffee and tea amenities are standard, OK. I used the coffee maker for making teas in the room. There is always coffee provided in the first floor kitchen.
The bathroom is sparking clean and the sink is modern seated on a partially open dresser type with faux drawers on the top and open ledge for stuff at the bottom. Granite is the make for the sink. Lighting is good. Lots of towels for two people. The usual in bath amenities were offere
.
In the morning we went down for free breakfast. Excellent offerings both hot and cold meals. I took the hot choice of scrambled eggs and sausage coffee and orange juice. Bagels and muffins and waffles were also available. Plenty of fresh fruits.

Checking out was a breeze. We used the luggage cart to help us. The staff were civil and prompt. Anyway I asked before leaving how old the motel is as it feels and smells new. The staff said its 55 days old. Oh WOW! Im glad we found this place and experienced what it feels to stay in a new facility. There is always an added motivation by the proprietors to do everything to make a great first impression. And they succeeded as far as we are concerned.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This hotel is not close to downtown but they do offer a free shuttle that runs on the top of the hr with last pick up at 9 pm. The driver does not speak very good English so we had him drop us off at the circle

We were on the top floor by the elevator and you could hear people going down the hall. One night we had a group of young men. College age bouncing basket ball off the walls

Room was clean and bed comfortable. Light switches for bathroom was behind bathroom door..breakfast was like most hotels. They were full so hard to get tables at times

Staff were friendly and helpful. No place to eat close by put we spent our two evenings downtown anyway..

Got room for a good price and new when we booked was not close. We did use taxi to get back both nights. Cost us $15. For 4 people.

Swimming pool is very very small. We went and looked then never even tried. Several kids at hotel so figured would not be very quiet

Not sure if would stay here again. Not due to service but do to location, would like to be closer to main part of town. But for the price. Would use again. If needed

Room Tip: Wi if did not work well in our room on 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites And Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites And Conference Center

Address: 1244 West 16th Street, Indianapolis, IN 46202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites And Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand-new 91 room Sleep Inn & Suites opened in May,2014 and features a complimentary hot breakfast served daily, free wireless high speed Internet access in all public areas and wireless and wired Internet access in all guestrooms. We are located less than 1 mile from downtown Indianapolis and 2 miles from Indianapolis Motor Speedway and within close proximity to downtown hospitals and university's. Lucas Oil Stadium and the Indianapolis Convention Center are also nearby. The hotel offers a free shuttle bus to the downtown area, serves a free hot breakfast daily, and has an indoor pool and exercise room. The hotel also has a meeting room and banquet room available to host large receptions or smaller meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites And Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites And Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.