We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It did what I needed it to.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Airport to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5250 W Bradbury St, Indianapolis, IN 46241   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #96 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“It did what I needed it to.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was in town for a convention and needed a place not far from downtown to stay. I wasn't looking for a all inclusive hotel, no breakfast.
I planned on eating downtown which has a lot of great places to eat.
The hotel worked, nothing special but a place to crash. Not sure if the shower was cleaned cause I found a used bar of soap in it but the rest of the room was okay. Knew a number of other people staying there at the same time and no one had any issues.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Airport, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear liquidpromises,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Thank you for staying and we all hope to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    13
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
6
10
5
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We arrived at this small hotel fairly late at night. The security guard who was patrolling the parking lot came to greet us at our car, made some small talk, and made us feel very comfortable and welcome as we entered the hotel.
Then, the two ladies at the front desk were extremely friendly as we checked in. Between them and the security guard, we had a great feeling about the hotel before ever seeing our rooms. We felt a little unfortunate to only be staying for ten hours. Excellent staff. Unfortunately, we don't remember their names, but this was the night of May 2nd.
The rooms were nice and new feeling, with a useful little kitchen. They seem like they would be great rooms for long-term stays. They were very comfortable for our overnight visit also.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanette L, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Airport, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Jon_Marvie,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Airport. We appreciate you taking the time to submit this review. Our staff is dedicated to making each guest feel welcome and to have a wonderful stay. We will make sure that the staff you encountered are notified of your nice comments. We appreciate your business and hope that your next stay with us will be longer. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

First I must say Summer is wonderful! She checked me in and gave me all the information I need. She was super nice and cheery which is always great when you are ready to check in. The rooms was great and spacious. The pool area was clean. The only thing I experienced was a slight musty smell in the room if you did not leave the fan on. Not a huge problem, but nothing the staff could do anything about. I read a few reviews of people being looked down upon and I really have NO idea where that would come from. I left there knowing I made new friends. Would definitely stay again!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanette L, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Airport, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Jennifer,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Airport location. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your stay. We will make sure that Summer is aware of your comments and we appreciate you making that known to us. It is our goal to make sure that all of our guests have a wonderful experience. We would like to thank you for taking time to post this review and hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I flew in to Indy and did not have a car and had to rely on taxis to get back and forth from downtown to the hotel--which wasn't terrible; it's probably only 15 min to downtown and there's never any traffic. My major problem was that you can't really walk anywhere around the hotel though. There are no sidewalks and you're sandwiched between the highway, a business park and a lower-middle class neighborhood. I think there are some restaurants on the other side of the highway but you can't easily get to them without a car.

The hotel itself is nice enough. My room was large and clean with a fully stocked kitchen and you can buy junk food in the hotel's "convenience store"--healthier food options would be nice. The front desk staff was incredibly nice and helpful.

The hotel was full but surprisingly quiet. You can't hear the highway either.

This probably a great hotel if you're just passing through the city since it's cheap, clean, comfortable, and conveniently located to the highway.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Airport, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear KJASS,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding cleanliness and staff.

However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding our location. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

First I should say that I arrived at this hotel after a long business day and 4 hour drive from St. Louis. The hotel is located in a business park without any establishments within walking distance for meals and we were simply not up for any more drive time to search one out. We resorted to microwave hamburgers, but that clearly was our choice. I was assigned a handicapped accessible room while it was obvious by the parking lot that the hotel was far from booked to capacity. A room of this type is generally very spacious and this one was. My primary desire upon arrival was for a long hot shower and a bed. The shower was a walk-in type with a large seat and a low, hand-held shower head. The shower, one of my primary desires, left lots to be desired. It was a constant struggle to keep the vinyl shower curtain in position so as to keep water off the bathroom floor. Continuously holding the showerhead spoiled the enjoyment of my long awaited shower. Using these facilities gave me new found empathy for those needing them on a regular basis, however I didn't need the experience when unnecessary at the end of a long day.

Room Tip: Watch for room type given at check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Airport, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Mahlon R,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered with the room you had. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

racist people.....loaded with bed bugs from the lobby to the rooms..the staff is more of a gossip club and have attitudes when you are them a question. if you are white than you will be looked down on

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Airport, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear dirtydaniel,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are so sorry to hear about your experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back in the area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed just one night as we were passing through on a journey and this was just about midway and conveniently close to the freeway. I’d also checked Google maps and confirmed there was a restaurant (Denny’s) opposite. We didn’t want to drive to dinner after driving all day and because we have wine with dinner.

I was also keen to try the Candlewood after coming direct from Holiday Inn Suites and before that Staybridge Suites, both in O’Fallon, Missouri. All three brands are part of the IHG Group.
First, the welcome at reception was wonderful. So friendly, so helpful. And from the lady I discovered Denny’s had closed and she recommended other restaurants in the area, including The Library which sounded good but said they were too far too walk to.

As we went to our room we saw the large indoor pool and the gym. We later used the gym and also the laundry which was free as was the washing powder. Nice touch.

The room was spotless. We had a two bed suite. Disappointingly the beds weren’t in a separate room, unlike the Staybridge and HI but the beds were comfortable and we slept well. Although neighbouring a freeway, we heard no road noise. The kitchen was equipped and it had a good sized breakfast bar. Internet access - free - was excellent, fast and troublefree.

We drove to the nearest restaurant (Indy’s) and got a takeaway to have in the room with a bottle of wine. As it turned out we could have walked to it and to the Library next door to that, they’re close, but you’d have to cross the exit ramp of a free way and under the freeway and of course there are no sidewalks and the underpass doesn’t look too savoury at night.

So, how did Candlewood compare with Staybridge and HI Suites? I think Candlewood is meant for very long stays, for people to treat more as a rented apartment than a hotel. Unlike the other two, no breakfast is included nor is there a breakfast room. Unlike Staybridge there are no complimentary dinners with wine & beer three nights a week. There is a small shop stocked with foodstuffs, breakfast cereals, coffee & tea bags and heat-up ready meals. Refreshingly this works on an honour system – you fill in a card ticking the prices of the goods you have taken and pop it in a box and they’ll add it to your bill - that’s civilised.

At reception they have a library DVD’s you can borrow to play in your room.

Overall I thought the room was expensive compared with the other brands, but of course the locations are different: this is in proximity to an airport but I reckon that one-night prices steeply drop for the longer stays this place caters to and also for those whose companies have a corporate discount.

Other things being equal (a big ‘if’), of the three brands I’d choose Staybridge first then HI Suites then Candlewood.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Airport

Address: 5250 W Bradbury St, Indianapolis, IN 46241
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award winning Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Airport, your Home Away From Home. Our spacious suites feature fully equipped kitchens with everything you need to prepare that home-cooked meal. Work efficiently with free high-speed Internet and local calls, plus your very own personalized voicemail. Also available is our complimentary business center with computer and Internet access.Need to relax after a long day of work or traveling? Lounge in your recliner while watching your 32-inch flat screen TV with DVD player. Borrow a movie from our lending library. Gather with friends and have a cookout at our Candlewood Gazebo. Work off stress in our state-of-the-art fitness center. Take a relaxing dip in our indoor pool and hot tub.When staying at Candlewood Suites, our complimentary washers and dryers allow you to pack light. Hungry? Grab a bite at Candlewood Cupboard, our 24/7 onsite convenience store featuring hundreds of breakfast, lunch, dinner, and snack items from which to choose.We are conveniently located at the Indianapolis Airport, just minutes to downtown Indianapolis or Plainfield, Indiana. Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Airport is an excellent choice for employees of Rolls-Royce, Eli Lilly, Carrier Corporation, Praxair, Vertellus and the Indiana National Guard. We welcome government travelers and are FEMA approved. Call the hotel for a free shuttle to or from the airport at any time, day or night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Airport Hotel Indianapolis
Candlewood Indianapolis
Indianapolis Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Indianapolis Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.