We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fanciest Homewood Suites Ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Indianapolis-Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Indianapolis-Downtown to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Indianapolis-Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 S Meridian St, Indianapolis, IN 46225   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points
Ranked #5 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Fanciest Homewood Suites Ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

When your GPS tells you your destination of Homewood Suites Indianapolis Downtown is on your right, you probably won't believe it. Instead of a generic, normal hotel, you see a historic downtown building which just happens to have a Homewood Suites sign. You go inside, and you are even more surprised by the super high ceilings, the well designed lobby, and nice furnishings. Even the business center looks like a room in a fancy downtown loft or law office.

When you get to your room, and you are greeted with those same amazing high ceilings and all the comforts that Homewood Suites always offers - full kitchen, separate living and sleeping space - you think you have it made. You finally have that downtown cool loft you have been meaning to move into... at least for a night!

We were in town to go see the New York Knicks vs the Indiana Pacers. The hotel was less than a block away. It is about 2 blocks from the Colts stadium, a block or two from the mall, and surrounded by all kinds of eating options all within walking distance.

Room Tip: The high ceilings stop on the 3rd floor, so try and get a room on 1, 2, or 3!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    97
    29
    17
    12
See reviews for
125
93
22
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great location downtown. We only live an hour away, but were going out in downtown and couldn't have choosen a better location, walkable to everything. Rooms were nice, loved the exposed brick and beams and super high ceilings. Love the fact they kept the style of the old building. Service was great, breakfast was nice, had good variety, etc. Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Just finished a 7 day stay at this property. The initial check in was a little rough (I booked a 1 bedroom but got a studio suite instead). Once I got to the room my disapointment went away. Great property, fantastic staff(knew my name and called me by name for entire stay ) and the meals provided were great too. So from one of your honors members, I will suggest to all my colleagues and others traveling to Indy to stay here. Kudos to the entire Homewood staff for making me feel at home !!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Went to Indy for a Cheerleading competition a few weeks ago. Stayed here. Nice comfy beds, hugs spacious room,full size kitchen!!!! Love this place!
Then breakfast is to die for. There were several choices and if they were out of something the staff was quick to get something else.
The location is easy to get to all kinds of restaurants around the area.
I can't wait to stay here again next year!!!

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The hotel is very nice & great location close to everything. Rooms were not ready when we arrived. We reserved a king but received a room w 2 beds. Free complimentary breakfast was great. Rooms were nice & big. Beds were comfy. Staff was rude when we wanted to use the pool table room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hwsplainfield, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Indianapolis-Downtown, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Homewood Suites Indianapolis Downtown Hotel; “your home away from home”.

Please accept my deepest apologies for our staff being perceived as rude. This is not the service or culture of our hotel, that we’ve become known for. We appreciate your feedback and will work diligently to eliminate this type of perception in the future. It is my hope that you will allow us the opportunity to regain your confidence, should your travels bring you back to the City of Indianapolis.

Best regards,

Eugene Hilliard CHA, CRDE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

They did a very nice job of anticipating our needs, new my name at valet as I pulled up he asked my room number..."Take your time Mr ......." Its the little details like having your vehicle ready on day of checkout at 11am. Needed some extra coffee in the room and it was immediately sent up. Rooms were much larger and nicer than I expected. Bathtub could stand to be replaced in 210 but certainly not a deal killer. Great place!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just returned from a weekend stay at the Homewood Suites in Indy with my daughter's swim team. The urban decorated hotel has great size rooms for families. Our room had two queens and a pull out sofa in the living area. The size of the rooms are great! Full size refrig, dishwasher, microwave oven and two stove top burners were awesome..especially when you have to get up and feed a family at 5 am for a swim meet.

The hotel did a great job handling our big crowd. Parking is limited. Valeting is almost required. The valet group did an excellent job managing the fact that all of us (many families) had to come and go at the same time. They actually had sign up sheets prepared for us to fill out the night before for valet requests. They fully manned the valet services and had our cars ready when needed. (This wasn't the case the past several years at the Embassey Suites in downtown INDY). Service is key when a big group needs to be managed!

The food for breakfast is very average...nothing to get excited about. I actually thought this could be improved a little. Everything appeared to be food service bulk purchased or dumped out of a can.

Location is excellent. We walked to dinner and the mall every day. Plenty of options to choose from in walking distance. I would recommend Shapiro's for casual lunch and Lorenzo's for excellent pasta dinner....if you don't like chains.

The only negative about this hotel is the hall sounds do travel. It's a renovated building and the soundproofing coud be better. Our room was on the back of the hotel so we didn't hear anything but our noisy neighbors coming in late at night. Several people in our group complained of the bar noise from across the street..but you are in the city.

I would definitely book this hotel again...it has a quaint feel to it.

Room Tip: FIrst floor was great for us. Hidden behind all the major flow and easy to access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Indianapolis-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Indianapolis-Downtown

Address: 211 S Meridian St, Indianapolis, IN 46225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#2 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#9 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Indianapolis-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Indianapolis-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Indianapolis - Downtown Hotel Indianapolis
Homewood Indianapolis
Indianapolis Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Indianapolis-Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.