We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel and staff !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conrad Indianapolis

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 8 more sites!
Conrad Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204 (Downtown Indianapolis)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Upgrade/Breakfast on Us!
Ranked #5 of 182 hotels in Indianapolis
northwest indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel and staff !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights Jan. 9-11,2009 with our two children. Where do I start? Everything was wonderful. The front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating. No wait to check in. As a Gold Hilton Honors member, I asked for a room upgrade and was upgraded to a King Corner Suite. We were also given vouchers for complimentary continental breakfast each morning. The lobby is warm and inviting and you can access both restaurants off the lobby upon entering. We were given a room on the 6th floor which is the same level as the pool/fitness center/and spa which was very convenient. The room itself was fabulous. You enter through a door that takes you to a small area with a guest room to the right and the suite door directly ahead. Upon entering, there is a small hallway with a half bath. The living room area is set up nicely with a sofa, 2 arm chairs and a desk area. Both the bedroom and the living room have huge plasma screen tvs. We had a great view of the city and the artgarden. The bedroom has a comfy king bed and another small loveseat. A nice touch are the small reading lamps that come out of the wall on either side of the bed. They also make a great nightlight. The best was that each bathroom had a small plasma screen tv. Great for catching the news in the morning while we were getting ready. The full bathroom also has a dual head shower and a deep soaking tub bath. And unlike the Embassy Suites next door, you control the temperature of the room. Both the bedroom and living room have thermostats. Our last stay in Indy was at the Embassy in November and I remember being miserable both nights because the room was so hot. There are robes and slippers provided in the closet and a complimentary umbrella next to the door for use during your stay. The pool was very clean and quiet. Larger and warmer than most hotels we have stayed with. The hot tub was very large and very clean as well. There are padded lounge chairs around the pool and bottles of water are provided. We did not use the spa or fitness center, but both looked nice as well. The hotel was quiet and we never saw more than 4-5 other people at the pool area while we were there. We ordered room service the first night, the service was quick and the food was great. Continental breakfast was in Vitesse restaurant. The selection was quite good and consisted of oatmeal, several types of pastries and croissants, yogurt, cereals, bagels, toast and fresh fruit consisting of watermelon (suprisingly good considering it is off season), raspberries, and strawberries. There were also apples and oranges available. Coffee, tea and orange juice are brought by the server. The service was excellent. We forgot to get an additional voucher for our children,but each morning the server took care of it for us. The hotel offers valet parking for $32.00, but we chose to park ourselves. The Embassy Suites garage charges $20.00 a day and you can take the walkway from the Embassy over to the Artsgarden and enter the Conrad from there. There is also street parking, but we did not feel safe parking our vehicle on the street. All in all a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. I can't believe this hotel is not rated #1. Except when we travel to Orlando, we only stay with the Hilton brand. Out of all the hotels we have stayed at, this hotel takes care of their VIP's better than any of them. We used to stay at the Embassy Suites next door, but after a bad experience there and the wonderful experience we had at the Corad, there is no question where we will stay upon our next trip to Indy. If you are looking for a first class hotel close to everything, this is the perfect hotel. We are already looking forward to our return trip in March.

  • Liked — Everything!! Flatscreen tvs in the bathroom and huge plasmas in the other rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing, everything was fabulous!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    421
    110
    33
    19
    3
See reviews for
73
195
49
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2009

A very comfortable hotel, service is world class. You will feel a difference when you stay here. The artwork in rooms and common areas make the hotel feel less like a hotel, a little less industrial than most. Highly recommended. Capital Grille is in the hotel, so if you like steak this is an outstanding place for dinner. Breakfast is terrific too, no need to leave hotel for that. HIghly recommended.

  • Liked — Gracious service
  • Disliked — Shower leaked out on floor, making it wet
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

We were recommended this hotel because they are Pet Friendly
well if you have money to burn I guess. There is a $250 deposit and of that they return $100 they keep $150 for cleaning the room.What? First of all the pet is limited to under 25 lbs so there won't be a Great Dane in there. So I assume they want want to be pet friendly in name only, not to the average traveler.The hotel is beautiful the rooms are very nice and the staff is very helpfull.Parking is also a little high compared to the other hotel downtown it is $32 a day compared to the average of $20-$25.So just a few things to know going in.

  • Liked — Beautiful Rooms
  • Disliked — Not really pet friendly
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

The Conrad Indianapolis provided very comfortable accommodations for a very reasonable price. We booked a king deluxe room for $159/night for a Saturday and Sunday night in early January. Advance purchase rates were also available for $135/night.

We requested an early check-in and were allowed to check in at 11:30am. We had also requested an upgrade to a corner suite, but, upon arrival, were told that no corner suites were available. However, the hotel did provide us with a deluxe king room (1815) on the top floor of the hotel. The room had a partial view of the Indiana State House.

The room itself was spacious enough and well furnished, with a sofa, two lounge chairs, and a desk. The 42" flat screen TV was there, though the picture and sound quality were not stellar. HD was not available. We appreciated several of the room's design features. The lighting was particularly well done. Dimmer-controlled back-lighting behind the television/dresser combo provided a pleasant ambiance. Several lamps and overhead reading spotlights were available when more light was needed. The minibar/coffee service alcove was also a nice design touch. The bed was comfortable, but it seemed to slope down towards both sides.

The bathroom was well-appointed, with a dual-head shower, separate soaking tub, and 15-inch TV. Bath amenities, towels, robes, and slippers were of high quality.

The hotel's swimming pool and hot tub are located on the 6th floor under a large skylight. The pool is an infinity-type, and the hot tub is large. The hotel also stocks the lounge chairs around the pool with bottled water. We found the pool room to be a surprisingly pleasant sanctuary in the middle of Indianapolis. (Note that we were there on a Sunday night when the hotel was fairly empty). We considered booking appointments at the spa (also on the 6th Floor), but as others have noted, the treatment prices seem to be above market.

The hotel has a great location in the Wholesale District. It is directly connected (via skybridge) to the Circle Center Mall, the Artsgarden, and the Weber Grill (a pretty decent chain restaurant). It is also within walking distance of the Eiteljorg Museum of American Indians and Western Art, the Indiana State Museum, and the NCAA Headquarters and Hall of Champions (currently closed). The Eiteljorg Museum made for a very interesting 2-hour visit on a weekend afternoon.

If you bring a car, note that the hotel charges $32 for valet parking, but on weekends, the parking meters further along West Washington Street are free. We used them. There are also numerous parking garages and lots in the area, most of which appeared to charge less than $32 for overnight parking.

We would definitely return to the Conrad Indianapolis for another low-key, relaxing weekend.

  • Liked — pool
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

The Conrad is a beautiful new property conviently connected to the downtown mall. Hilton Honors diamond benefits were generous - an upgraded room and complimentary breakfasts. Hotel personnel were friendly and helpful, but service at breakfast in Vitesse was very laid back. It was hard to get the attention of waiters. The spa and heath club were first class, but prices for spa services seemed unusually high. Housekeeping was the weakest link. For two days when our room hadn't been cleaned late in the day, we had to call for service. Basic items like coffee, bath amenities, towels and bath mat weren't always replaced. One day trash was not emptied and the bathroom wasn't cleaned.

  • Liked — Good location and very attractive public spaces and rooms.
  • Disliked — Housekeeping service.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2008

I stayed at the Conrad with a friend for one night just for a quick weekend getaway. I was mostly impressed. The check-in was a little annoying because at the 3pm check-in time our room was still not ready. But the room was excellent, very large and clean with a nice bathroom. Service was mostly good, requests were responded to promptly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

Stayed at this wonderful Conrad in October of 2007 for the state marching band finals, and a nice weekend away from college life. Checkin was fast and friendly, our room was on the highest guest floor so we had a great view of the city. Room itself was spacious for a standard king, amazing bedding, and very luxuriously appointed with flat screen tvs in bedroom and bathroom. Glass double head shower was great, and the deep soaking tub was even better.
Breakfast from room service was timely and delicious, and maid service was great. Loved the two nights we spent here and did not want to leave. Another great hotel, and hope to come back again!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Conrad Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Indianapolis

Also Known As:
Conrad Indianapolis Hotel
Conrad Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Conrad
Address: 50 West Washington Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#2 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#3 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#7 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Conrad Indianapolis 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Conrad Indianapolis Luxury Hotel.The Conrad Indianapolis hotel in downtown Indianapolis is a destination that connects you with an innovative guest experience unmatched by other Indianapolis hotels. Located at the most prominent intersection in Indianapolis, a skybridge provides an uninterrupted path from our Indianapolis luxury hotel's ballroom and meeting rooms to the Artsgarden, Circle Centre Mall and the Indiana Convention Center. Our 23-story tower boasts 241 guest rooms, 15,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting space, a rejuvenating wellness center with a state-of-the-art fitness centre and pool, and two entrancing restaurants. Fine dining options at our luxury hotel in Indianapolis include The Capital Grille, with outstanding culinary delights served in an intimate dining experience, and Tastings, a wine bar experience that uses progressive wine technology for guests to enjoy wines by the taste, glass or bottle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Amex, Tingo, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Conrad Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conrad Indianapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Conrad Indianapolis to your Saves list