We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't return.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Caribbean Cove Indoor Water Park

Caribbean Cove Indoor Water Park
3850 Depauw Boulevard, Indianapolis, IN 46268
317-872-9790
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 59 Attractions in Indianapolis
Type: Water Parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gather up your little squirts and jump into a 50,000 square foot tropical explosion of year round water fun where you'll find an island full of squirts, sprays, slides and surprises. No matter the season, it's alway summery inside Caribbean Cove Hotel & Water Park. Drift lazily around the park on our leisure river. Relax in our spas or explore Castaway Bay Interactive Island. Then hold on tight for the ride of your life on two 40-feet tall by more than 267-feet long aqua whiz tube slides. These slides shoot guests outside the water park, around the building and back inside the park... before final splashdown into the plunge pool. The not-so-faint-of-heart can climb aboard the 40-feet tall x 388-feet long super flume slide sending them spiraling throughout the park. It is pulse-pounding excitement for those who dare! In between all of the splishing and splashing, discover lots of fun at Crazy CoCo's Arcade, Calypso Cafe and Caribbean Cove Hotel's separate indoor recreation center featuring billiards and a putting green. Make a BIG splash or make a little splash, Caribbean Cove Hotel & Water Park offers plenty of splashtacular fun for guests of all ages!
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Indy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Won't return.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were checked into a dirty room, and when we called down to have it cleaned, they didn't even offer to move us or apologize about the mistake. They just sent housekeeping up. We had no intention of moving to another room, but after staying at many hotels and working in hotels before, I know it is pretty much standard to at least apologize and offer a move to another room. It was loud and the waterpark was mediocre. I think new management has done this property in...

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCH M, Manager at Caribbean Cove Indoor Water Park, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
During the month of February until the 2nd week in April we have more guests during Spring Break then any other time around the year. We had over 3,000 guests stay with us in those four weeks. We prepared and worked hard to accommodate are large amount of arrivals, but on short notice our Check In System crashed and we could not get to the route of the problem until the end of February. We did purchase a brand new computer system and have since then corrected the issue. In that time period we had long lines and issues with room conditions, due to our system and large amounts of guests coming and going. During this time we had tons of negative reviews and unhappy guests and to this day the negative reviews are still being posted. We did take care of all the guests that came to us with issues and 90% of the guests that did stay with us had a fantastic time. If you have any questions or concerns please give us a call and a manager will be more then happy to talk to you. Thank you so much for your consideration!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    23
    33
    34
    147
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“horrible place don't waste your money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

First i have to say that I expected more than what I found. We pulled into a deserted run down hotel that wasn't in good repair, with multiple signs that pointed to it not being a quality or happy stay. The hotel was:
-run down
-in disrepair
-sub par in cleaning
-apparent mold problem
-elevators are very rickety
-rooms were ok, but air conditioning didn't work. the inside temp is above 70degrees and reaches the same temp as the water in the waterpark (80 degrees). the need for air conditioning is needed for a comfortable sleep, unless you are above the age of 70 and like your living conditions to be border line sauna.
-customer service was horrible, unorganized, multiple misscommunications and finally additional hidden charges due to poor managerial practices.

This only covers the rooms and hotel, the water park is up next.
-The waterpark is sub par
-But our kids under the age of 6 liked it; if you are an adult you will find your skin crawling with questions about it being clean
-The water is heavily chlorinated but all of the surfaces feel like you are getting some type of flesh eating virus that could wipe out a small african country.
-The play sets inside look ok, until you start really looking at them, broken valves, play items with sharp edges, rusty and broken pipes. The broken valve handles and rusty and broken play items are basically cuts just waiting to happen. With any cut at this place I would run as fast as possible to the ER so as to not catch a bad staph infection or tetnus.

overall, i wouldn't waste my money on this place or even stay there in a pinch. very bad experience filled with other items that couldn't be stated here since i only had time to write these things. bad stuff and makes you wonder if you need to get a round of antibiotics when you got home.
just remember, bad hotel, bad waterpark and hidden charges within the hotel packages. if you want to end up paying more and end up staying in a meth lab desguised as a hotel, than this is the hotel for you. if not, then save your money and find a great wolf lodge or go to the ymca to have a good swimming pool.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCH M, Manager at Caribbean Cove Indoor Water Park, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We have made many recent updates to our indoor water park. We have deep cleaned all pools and slides, brought in new arcade games and prizes, hired and retrained all lifeguards, and purchased more tubes, towels and life jackets.

Our rooms have recently been updated as well with brand new flat screen TVs, new linens, fresh new towels and other amentias. We know your children will have a blast, with over 2,000 satisfied guests each weekend we know our hotel is a great place for a family getaway. If you have any questions or concerns please give us at 317-872-9790 and a manager will be more than happy to help you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“closed with no information”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I had a planned a day trip for my family to Caribbean Cove on 2/10, as we live a little more than an hour away and the website advertises a Sunday Winter special of a discounted admission. That Sunday morning, I quickly called to ensure the park was open and got a very quick yes. However, when I arrived, I found a very crowded lobby full of seemingly disgruntled customers. After standing in line for several minutes I learned from another patron that the water park was closed due to a maintenance issue. This message spread to the back of line and then everyone who had spent the weekend at the hotel/park began to share stories of their terrible experience. Meanwhile, the line continues to grow with patrons sharing the "news" that the water park is closed. At no time did any employee, ever make an announcement that the water park was closed, or give any information.

Finally, I walked to the front of the line and interrupted two employees who were standing behind the counter talking, not to customers, and asked if the pools were indeed closed. The only answer i received was a flat yes, no apology, no explanation or anything! I went back to the line and shared with other what I had learned and then promptly left.

I understand that maintenance problems occur and this was probably my bad luck but to provide no information, make no statement that the pools were closed, provide no apology or information and continue to allow the lobby to fill up and the line grow was absolutely appalling to me and I will never make a return trip

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCH M, Manager at Caribbean Cove Indoor Water Park, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your post. We did have a maintenance issue and our Manager on Duty was working hard to get the water park up and running. It was a last minute issue and we had no time to prepare or put up proper signage. I am very sorry for the inconvenience we always do our best to accommodate our guests and we hope that you will come back and give us a try. We value our guests and strive to make every visit memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mis-managed to the point of being Unsafe!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The management here clearly has no idea how to run a hotel or water park.
Waited 3.5 hours to check in. At no point did any hotel staff address the crowd or make any attempt to communicate to the people in line or try to improve the process. This alone is an outrage and represents the total lack of appropriate management.

No towels in room. Called for towels and they said they would bring them when finished washing. No towels were ever delivered. They said they were booked to capacity today and the day before and were doing the best they can.

Other people came in our room with a working key card because they were checked into it after us. Now they had to go back and our key card didn't work anymore so we had to go back.

Pool area felt dirty, gross and unsafe. No towels available, No life jackets available. No control of the teenagers overcrowding the small child area. Not near enough tubes available. Water leaking significantly from the overhead tube slides.

I truly am concerned that someone is going to get seriously hurt here, and only hope that this place goes broke before that happens. It is a neat setup and could be very nice but the total lack of upper management is driving this place into the ground.

After we returned from our trip, I read some of the reviews on this site only to find out that this kind of thing happens here all the time. This was not a one-off situation. Needless to say, we will never return.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCH M, Manager at Caribbean Cove Indoor Water Park, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for you response. We are not a perfect hotel and sometimes we do have computer or mechanical issues, but we always do the best we can and provide the best service as possible. During your stay we had a perfect storm of issues and very rarely does this happen at our hotel. We have been under new ownership and have basically started over since 2011. Now that we have retrained our staff, upgrade our facilities and equipment, and correct many past issues we encourage you to come back and give another try. If you have any questions or concerns please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Frustrating and a Waste of Time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

February is usually the time our kids really have a need to "get away" We reserved a room at Caribbean Cove for 2/16/13:

We walked in at 4:20 to find a line that had to be at least 50 people deep (Check in Starts at 4:00) We decided to go to eat an early sit-down dinner thinking the line would be gone when we returned. At 5:30 we returned to find a line of about 40 people now. We waited in line until after 7:00PM. The water park closes at 10:00.

As we stood in line numerous people who kept coming back down saying they had gotten their keys and found other people were already in their room. A few folks were understandably upset. We saw this as the writing on the wall. After approximately 3 hours of on again, off again trying to get checked in.. once we got to the counter we informed the woman that we would not be staying and we are canceling our reservation, we felt that since we had paid for the package deal, the least they could do was give us the Indianapolis Zoo Tickets we were to have in our room package after waiting so long- too which she agreed.

The scene turned nasty, people were upset, tempers flared, the kids were in tears waiting, if we did get a room somehow that wasn't already occupied, we would have had less than 3 hours to play in the waterpark- which was PACKED as well as the front pool I noticed on a bathroom hunt for my son while standing in line.

We went to CC about 2 years ago and had none of these issues, I am unaware if management has changed, but the whole experience left me feeling as if I could not get in the car and leave any faster than we did!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCH M, Manager at Caribbean Cove Indoor Water Park, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your post. Many of our negative posts on this site are mainly in a 5 - 6 week period of time where we had to run a very difficult system manually. Our hotel has over 330 rooms and times that by 4 and that is the amount of guests we get here on a weekend. Imagine trying to check out around 800 guests on Friday morning by 11 am and then cleaning 200 + rooms by 4pm without any computers to communicate which rooms are clean, dirty or occupied to the front desk. With a smaller hotel with less guests and less rooms this may be somewhat easy to do, but with our property it was very difficult and because of it we had long checkin lines and very upset guest. Since this occurred we have purchased a state-of-the-art computer system, purchased more water park accessories, amenities for our rooms, along with many more exciting projects. We are very sorry for the inconvenience you had during your stay and hope that you will come back and give us another try. Please call or email if you have any questions or concerns anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caribbean Cove Indoor Water Park also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to Caribbean Cove Indoor Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribbean Cove Indoor Water Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.