We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Original Pancake House

Original Pancake House
1518 W 86th St, Indianapolis, IN 46260-2156 (Washington)
317-872-1400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #442 of 2,023 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Family Fare
Neighborhood: Washington
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Washington
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Always Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Was in Indy for the weekend. This is one of our mainstays for breakfast. the food and service are always good. Love their pancakes.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We went in the morning but it was too busy, but after 15 minutes of wait time got our turn and we enjoyed the food alot.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“The Food is Fantastic the service not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We continue to try The Original Pancake House on 86th and Ditch hoping the service will someday match the fantastic food. Once again we were disappointed. This time enough to not leave a tip. First time we haven't left a tip in over 10 years. All I can say is if you venture to this restaurant be prepared to wait for service - this time it took 15 minutes for our waitress to come to the table for the first time. Be prepared to eat with your fingers or go get your own silverware - our food came but no silverware. We went and got our own after waiting almost 5 minutes for her to return. She did not. Be prepared to go find someone to refill your own glasses or beg others to do it - we asked for refills after having the waitress walk by several times. We finally got her attention and stated we needed refills on our juice her reply was she would bring us water. We stated no we want more coffee and juice she brought just the water. I guess part of our visit this time was to be at the whim of whatever our server decided we needed to eat.

It was just the luck of the draw I guess. On our way out the man checking us out asked how everything was and for the first time in I don't know how long I spoke my piece about our meal and service. He just looked at me and asked where I was sitting. I told him and he laughed. He muttered "I'm not surprised".

We love the food here but to be honest have simply given up on consistent service. This visit is worse than we normally experience here but it will be the last.

If you go, be prepared for great food and if you are lucky a good server.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgman, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“This Restaurant is a Must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Every had a Dutch Baby? Well this restaurant is known for their Dutch Baby's. We tried this restaurant on a Saturday, while in Indy, and ordered an apple pancake and an omelet. After we ordered, the waitress told us it would take 15-20 minutes to get our food. No big deal...especially after we got our food. The omelet is baked and absolutely delicious. The apple pancake (also baked) was like no other pancake we'd ever had and both were well worth the wait. They were so good, we just had to go back on Sunday to try the Dutch Baby....an glad we did. We will definitely be going back on our next visit. Everything we ordered was well worth the $$ ***Be sure to ask to sit in Debbie's section. Great waitress..very personable!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Best breakfast around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Yum, yum, yum. Absolutely wonderful bacon!! Place is always busy, so wish they took reservations. Sometimes just don't want to wait that long!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Pancake House also viewed

 

Been to Original Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Pancake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.