We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atomosphere, fab food, and so-so service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant at the Villa

Restaurant at the Villa
1456 N Delaware St, Indianapolis, IN 46202
317 916 8500
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #956 of 1,993 restaurants in Indianapolis
Cuisines: American, Italian
Restaurant details
Indianapolis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great atomosphere, fab food, and so-so service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Lovely building, nice manager, and the food is genuinly yummy.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

54% Recommend
    0
    6
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful building but food not so good and rude manager”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Recently visited this restaurant for dinner (hadn't been there in probably 5 years). When we entered the restaurant it had a musty, mildewing smell. There was a great fire in the fireplace. My partner and I ordered chicken picatta and chicken marsala. The chicken was spongy and seemed to be a processed meat. Served over angel hair pasta. No vegetable condiments on the plate. Our sauces were the same (except for the capers on the picatta dish). The sauce tasted and looked like a balsamic, olive oil sauce. Our house salad was average. We each gave the meal a C-.

We thought it would be helpful to share our food experience with the general manager in order to help them improve. We love local restaurants and support them with our $$. He was not receptive to our feedback and was very rude. He did take some redemptive action with our bill (which we did not ask for)........but his manner was not consistent with an establishment that listens to their customers nor plans to have any repeat business.

Perhaps it was just a bad evening. We hope for their sake that was the case.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Inedible Food and an Incredibly RUDE General Manager”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Stay away from this place!!!! The salami on the antipasto plate was spoiled. Not one of our dishes was edible. The general manager is a jerk. All in all one of the worst dining experiences I've ever had. I wrote a blog about it on kateiscooking.blogspot.com. It's titled The Villa

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Intimate pleasant atmosphere with very good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012 via mobile

Had lunch. Soup was great. Service was good. Want to go again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Larger portions please”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We had a gift certificate and decided to head there to try it out. Our server was attentive and yet, not disruptive with her service. My husband had the Shrimp Scampi w/pasta and I had the Spaghetti and Meatballs and we both had a house salad and water. Everything was ala carte. Our total bill was 54.00! Thank goodness we had a gift certificate because we left the restaurant a bit hungry. The portions we were served were lunch size not dinner size. For that amount of money, considering it was pasta no less, I would expect to take something home but not this place. Don't misunderstand, the food tasted good, had a good presentation but for that kind of money, I want to be FULL when I leave or have some in a take out box. Shrimp Scampi was $22.00 and the S&Meatballs was $20. Salad was $6.00. They offered a wine menu but we didn't want any that evening. I suppose if you want to eat somewhere with white table cloths in a small room, then this is your kind of place.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at the Villa also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant at the Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant at the Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.