We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unexpected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bakersfield

Bakersfield
334 Massachusetts Ave, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 1,921 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
INDIANAPOLIS, IN
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“unexpected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The name "Bakersfield" and the logo design would lead you to expect an English pub but the menu is strictly tacos with a couple of salads and sandwich types thrown in. Mexican is never my first food of choice but the tacos reminded me more of the West Coast Asian type tacos even though the ingredients are Mexican. They are small, round, flour tortillas and I would say 3 would make an average meal, maybe 2 if you also have chips or soup. The tacos are about $4 each so you can try several different types and not spend a whole lot.
I had the mole (chicken, cilantro, queso fresco) and the pastor (pork, pineapple, cilantro) tacos and was very pleased with the flavors. My friends also had the fish and short ribs tacos and pronounced them good as well. We also liked the corn chowder soup (thick with crumbled queso). The 2 salsas offered were interesting: a mild green tomatillo and a red salsa which was almost more of a thin chili sauce, both very tasty. The queso dip was different in that it seemed to have corn meal mixed in and the top was thickly covered with melted cheese like a pizza. Made sharing a little awkward.
The venue is kind of bland industrial and the seating is comprised of backless benches. We visited on a Sunday afternoon and it was quiet with only maybe three other tables in use, but my friends who had been here before said it is usually much more crowded and noisy. The service was hit and miss. Our server was cordial but only brought 3 plates for 5 people. One of our party asked for forks and we got two. Not sure if they just don't like to wash dishes here or what. My water glass was filled once but was fully emptied well before we left. The tacos for our whole party came out on one large plate so the server had to point out the ones that were special ordered (I had the onions left off of mine for instance). The plate was garnished with several lime wedges which could be used to give some added zing to the flavors.
If I was reviewing this venue solely on the food I would have rated it higher but the lackluster atmosphere and service knocked it down a notch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Something different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Bakersfield is just what Mass Ave needed. Love the guacamole. I always get the fish taco and the short rib taco. My boyfriend loves the two vegetarian tacos. Food never disappoints and the margs are wonderful. Prices are reasonable for Mass Ave.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Late Night Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Bakersfield is a newer spot to the Indy Mass Ave. area. I visited late night and there were quite a few people there. Great tacos and good service. Would like to return soon to explore more of the menu. Go early and shop at Silver in the City or late and hit up one of the other area bars to extend your night. Lots to see and do in the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Too spicy!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere, love the industrial look. Not a fan of the picnic bench seating, though.

The menu is small, the tacos shrinky and spicy. I had heartburn all night over two mole tacos. Wishing there were a simple, non spicy alternative for the picky eater.

Servers were attentive but focused more on pushing booze and ignored those with soft drinks.

Will return with friends but will eat beforehand.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best mexican tacos in downtown Indy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Bakersfield is an upscale bar-restaurant in the popular Mass Ave area of Indianapolis that has grown exponentially in recent years. This unique bar, frequented mostly by 25-30 year olds has some fabulous Mexican food. Start out with the chips and guacamole, which has huge hunks of guacamole with a very tasty spice to the guacamole and add to that chips and queso. The queso is great and is even better adding black beans and chorizo. But the tacos are incredibly good. They are served open face on a soft tortilla with fantastic beef, chicken and pork. The pollo rojo, a tomatillo braised chicken with chili salsa, queso fresco was great, as was the "pastor" taco, which is a chili marinated pork with pineapple and cilantro taco. Perhaps the best is the short rib taco with fantastic braised short rib, queso fesco, crema, pickled onion cilantro and garnished with a thin slice of radish. A good meal for an average person is 3 tacos, which cost $3 or $4 a piece, If you are really hungry, one might order 4 or 5, but that is really a lot of food. Oh, and don't forget to order a couple margaritas which are served in ball jars. Great atmosphere and great food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bakersfield also viewed

 

Been to Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bakersfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.